Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,805,892 Members 42,985 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[FIX] Unbrick captivate w/o cutting up USB!

Tip us?
 
ademarne
Old
(Last edited by ademarne; 31st January 2011 at 10:55 AM.)
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 78
Posts: 110
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: WA
Default [FIX] Unbrick captivate w/o cutting up USB!

I have discovered a cheaper and less destructive way to unbrick the totally bricked captivate using only 3 resistors, THAT IS IT! No need to cut up your USB cord, JUST 3 resistors.

Below are the steps and pics:

YOUTUBE INSTRUCTIONAL VIDEO

1. Go to your local Radio Shack and purchase a pack of 100k ohm resistors, the colors should read Brown/Black/yellow/gold (see pic 1)

2. Take 2 of the resistors and twist them together

3. Take the third resistor and twist it onto the other 2 to make a straight line of 3 resistors

4. Bend the 3 resistors into a teardrop shape (see pic 2)

5. Set down a piece of tape and place the tips as close together as possible without touching while leaving about a quarter inch of each tip exposed, this will take some patience and adjusting (see pic 3) *tip: try putting a piece of tape or two in between the tips so that they do not touch each other*

6. Once the tips are set correctly tape both sides of the tear drop so no metal is left exposed. If your skin touches the metal it reduces the resistance of the jig and will not work.

7. Remove external sd, sim card and battery. Then replace battery and DO NOT touch the power button.

8. Carefully touch the two tips of the jig to the two copper plates of the micro usb slot closest to the headphone jack for about 3 seconds (this will also take some time and patience) *tip: use the other side of the micro usb port to brace against to hold the jig in place*

9. The phone should now go directly into download mode

9a. If your phone build number is BELOW 1010 continue following this guide.

9b. If your phone build number is 1010 or ABOVE follow this guide to flash back to stock.

10. Open odin3 on your computer

11. Plug usb into your phone, after odin says "added" click start to flash the stock rom.

12. Profit!


This fix as opposed to the others only costs $.99 and uses ONLY 3 resistors, NO CUTTING OR SOLDERING. Other fixes suggest hacking up your micro USB cable to use as a connection but i found that to be unnecessary.

As snapplefish has pointed out the desired resistance for this to work is 301K ohms, not 300K. HOWEVER, I and almost everyone else here has been able to only use the 3-100K ohm resistors. IF you are having trouble getting this to work, AND you have made sure you are using 100K ohm resistors, try measuring the resistance of your jig by using a multimeter. IF your resistance is below 298 or so try adding a 1K ohm resistor to your jig and remeasure the resistance of your jig.

Thanks to everyone who came up with the 301k ohm resistor method, saved me from a $500 paperwieght!


If this has helped you please give me a thanks


Cheers and happy flashing,
Alex
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	2010-12-27 00.32.26.jpg
Views:	12448
Size:	96.2 KB
ID:	474052   Click image for larger version

Name:	2010-12-27 00.32.42.jpg
Views:	11912
Size:	99.8 KB
ID:	474053   Click image for larger version

Name:	2010-12-27 00.32.55.jpg
Views:	11298
Size:	101.7 KB
ID:	474054   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC00625 edit.jpg
Views:	19131
Size:	94.8 KB
ID:	486274  
The Following 59 Users Say Thank You to ademarne For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
z28james
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 28
Posts: 272
Join Date: Jun 2009
Dude, this is awesome. Thanks for pointing this out.
 
diablo009
Old
#3  
diablo009's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,343
Posts: 5,535
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Atlanta GA
When is the next "flashaholics anonymous meeting"? I'd like to attend too :)


T Mobile Galaxy S5: [ROM] AllianceRom - Build 2

AT&T Galaxy S5: [ROM] Stock Rooted


All Infuse modems individually packed into CWM flashable packages


Android Memory Management
Customizing Icons

Clicking "THANKS" is the simplest and easiest way of showing appreciation.
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to diablo009 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
ademarne
Old
#4  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 78
Posts: 110
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: WA
Quote:
Originally Posted by z28james View Post
Dude, this is awesome. Thanks for pointing this out.
No prob, glad it was useful
 
Dungeon47
Old
#5  
Dungeon47's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 438
Posts: 1,593
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: The Internet

 
DONATE TO ME
Brilliant! Hopefully I never need to use it. This should go as/with/in a sticky.
Nexus 5 | OMNI | FrancoKernel | Xposed | How to Battery
Support your devs. Search, read OP before asking. Android Wishlist
 
flashman2002
Old
#6  
flashman2002's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 84
Posts: 1,254
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Derby/Wichita Kansas
I hope I don't ever need to use a jig but this is a great alternative to other methods. You do need to have the USB plugged in prior to touching the resistors correct since that is not stated? Common sense says yes but I figured I would be the idiot to ask haha
 
norcal einstein
Old
#7  
norcal einstein's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 36
Posts: 302
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Bay Area
Well he's actually fishing around inside the phone's MicroUSB port to touch pins 4&5. So no, in this case...you don't need to have a USB cable plugged in.

But with other JIGs including mine, you plug the JIG into the phone.
 
cmsengineer
Old
#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Dec 2010
Trying this tonight. Will update.
 
flashman2002
Old
#9  
flashman2002's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 84
Posts: 1,254
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Derby/Wichita Kansas
Quote:
Originally Posted by norcal einstein View Post
Well he's actually fishing around inside the phone's MicroUSB port to touch pins 4&5. So no, in this case...you don't need to have a USB cable plugged in.

But with other JIGs including mine, you plug the JIG into the phone.
I have never been able to have Odin work without it being open and having the USB plugged in when getting to download mode. How will this work if you get download mode prior to the USB being plugged in for Odin to recognize?


This is my captivate. There are many like it but this one is mine.
HTC One
 
norcal einstein
Old
#10  
norcal einstein's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 36
Posts: 302
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Bay Area
I frequently use my JIG to get into Download mode to flash with Odin. For me, plug a JIG in to force Download Mode. Remove JIG, connect phone to a computer running Odin. The phone should be "added" in Odin and you should be able to flash away. I actually just did this last night as well.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes