Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,786,479 Members 37,374 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Dec 27] Ubuntu for HTC HD2 - v0.3 released

Tip us?
 
bloodychaos
Old
(Last edited by bloodychaos; 28th December 2010 at 05:32 PM.)
#111  
bloodychaos's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 92
Posts: 58
Join Date: May 2010
Location: /home/kay/android-sdk-linux/
Quote:
Originally Posted by Big Dawg 23 View Post
What Energy rom? I can not get it to boot up. It will start then reboot the phone. I have Energy Rom(latest) with 8GB Class 2 with Radio 2.10.50.26.

Any suggestions?
Got myself the 28244 touch of glass build, with 2.15.50.14 radio. Try formatting your card and copy over only the linux folder and its contents. It worked for me. Even managed to get the interface up and running.

I was able to surf the net, though oddly enough, can't make any phonecalls *shrugs*
 
dusan22
Old
#112  
dusan22's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 30
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Snina

 
DONATE TO ME
Great job for the devs making this possible

Quote:
Originally Posted by jameschurchman View Post
but i would love bluetooth, to allow a bluetooth keyboard. this would make the HD2 + ope office a real option!!
I too would love bluetooth enabled. I understand that this would be a major obstacle, since linux drivers for the HD2 (hardware input/output peripherals) are not available :( It would be great to roam the "desktop" with a bluetooth mouse
HTC HD2 - Android NAND, EXTERNAL MEMORY - 16Gb, ROM - CWM/ZIP MIUI

 
Big Dawg 23
Old
#113  
Big Dawg 23's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 220
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Northfield
Quote:
Originally Posted by bloodychaos View Post
Got myself the 28244 touch of glass build, with 2.15.50.14 radio. Try formatting your card and copy over only the linux folder and its contents. It worked for me. Even managed to get the interface up and running.

I was able to surf the net, though oddly enough, can't make any phonecalls *shrugs*
Thank you. The third reformat did the trick. Got it up and running.
HTC XV6800>BB Storm>BB Tour>Droid 1> Droid X>HTC HD2 & T-Mo G2>iPhone 4>Atrix>SGSII>HTC Vivid>SGSII Skyrocket>iPhone 4s>POS HTC Vivid>Galaxy Note>Galaxy Note 2> Note 3 and Note Pro 12.2
 
dusan22
Old
#114  
dusan22's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 30
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Snina

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by ng-gdata View Post
during startup it says: reboot in 5 seconds...well and then it reboots
Any idea what might be the cause? Radio? sd-card?
Radio version: 2.15.50.14 (works with android)
SD card: 8GB Class 2
Launch it manually (execute haret.exe from within a file manager) - don't use any launcher. And make sure that your Ubuntu is in the "linux" folder on root of your SD card (don't rename it)

had the same problem, but this fixes everything ;)
HTC HD2 - Android NAND, EXTERNAL MEMORY - 16Gb, ROM - CWM/ZIP MIUI

 
stoolzo
Old
#115  
stoolzo's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 25
Posts: 791
Join Date: Dec 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by cortk View Post
For those people not getting the unity interface, I did this:
I clicked on my storage card on the desktop, then clicked the purple computer icon in the toolbar, then clicked file system, usr, share, applications, login items. Clicked unlock, entered "ubuntu" as password, changed the login environment to the netbook one (instead of blank), then clicked close.

Then rebooted:
Pressed the lock icon on topmost taskbar, switch user, clicked power button and shut down, rebooted.
That worked but when I rebooted keyboard was sat in front, when I hid the keyboard it hid the gui and it wouldnt come back up.

Too buggy to be useful at this stage, impossible to get into menus and use generally as mouse pointer is all over the place.
PHONE :Galaxy S2 / MicroSDHC 8GB[B]OS : ANDROID 2.3.4 ROM: COGNITION
 
Luke3113
Old
(Last edited by Luke3113; 28th December 2010 at 07:38 PM.)
#116  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 14
Join Date: Jul 2010
Just installed it and after restarting I got the menu...
Now I tried connecting a mouse with a (self-built) Y-cable.
The Y-cable worked perfectly ond the v0.2, but now it seems to have problems...

I connected everything (1 to the computer, 1 to the mouse, 1 to the hd2) like I did with v0.2, started the phone, started haret, but it just doesn't recognize my mouse... why? It recognize the power and runs on external power, but my mouse just doesn't work...
Am I doing it properly?

Thanks for your help...
 
t76sTaNg
Old
#117  
Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 46
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Providence
how the hell does this download work? im confused with this torrent stuff never done it before can someone lead me?
 
Luke3113
Old
#118  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 14
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by t76sTaNg View Post
how the hell does this download work? im confused with this torrent stuff never done it before can someone lead me?
Just download uTorrent (http://www.utorrent.com) - install it and double click on the torrent-file.
Choose a destination and confirm the download.
You will now download the build from other users (seeders), but you will also share some parts and upload them to other peers.

OR:
Use the mirrors you'll find in this thread (like the darkstone's one)
 
Troji
Old
#119  
Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 38
Join Date: Feb 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Luke3113 View Post
Just installed it and after restarting I got the menu...
Now I tried connecting a mouse with a (self-built) Y-cable.
The Y-cable worked perfectly ond the v0.2, but now it seems to have problems...

I connected everything (1 to the computer, 1 to the mouse, 1 to the hd2) like I did with v0.2, started the phone, started haret, but it just doesn't recognize my mouse... why? It recognize the power and runs on external power, but my mouse just doesn't work...
Am I doing it properly?

Thanks for your help...
exactly the same here I even used a usb hub with no luck ... i see that this 0.3 is not official and only a modification to its user interface lets call it 0.2.1
 
dragos193
Old
#120  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 26
Join Date: Jul 2009
sorry for my noobish question .. but , if i have an android build on my phone can i run this ubuntu ? they don't have any conflict ?

Tags
支持!!!!!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes