FORUMS

XDA Picks: Best Apps of the Week (Apr 25 – May 1)

Apps are at the front and center of any smartphone experience, and with over a … more

Lollipop Xposed Framework Alpha 4 Released

Good news to all Xposed Framework fans. XDA Senior Recognized … more

Do You Rock Two Phones?

A few people in the comments were surprised to find out that a number of the XDA staff actually use two phones … more

Brand Loyalty: OEMs Giveth and Then Taketh Away

The majority of users here at XDA will feel fierce brand loyalty for a company, whether … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

Some apps don't show up in my Market

27th December 2010, 02:53 PM |#1  
Ravynmagi's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 200
 
More
Maybe this has nothing to do with the NC, not sure yet.

But I've noticed that some apps don't seem to show up in the Market on my Nook Color, but do on my Android phone and AppBrain.

For example EA Mobile has some 99 cent games on sale right now. I got Need for Speed for my phone. And it shows up in AppBrain on my NC, but in the Market it's not there.

I noticed some others missing too like Super Manager.

Are these apps not showing up because this Market apk came from the Galaxy Tab and they aren't supported on tablets (noticed one of the EA games did mention it wasn't supported on the Galaxy Tab)? Or is something else going on?
 
 
27th December 2010, 03:36 PM |#2  
clockcycle's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Miami, FL
Thanks Meter: 409
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ravynmagi

Maybe this has nothing to do with the NC, not sure yet.

But I've noticed that some apps don't seem to show up in the Market on my Nook Color, but do on my Android phone and AppBrain.

For example EA Mobile has some 99 cent games on sale right now. I got Need for Speed for my phone. And it shows up in AppBrain on my NC, but in the Market it's not there.

I noticed some others missing too like Super Manager.

Are these apps not showing up because this Market apk came from the Galaxy Tab and they aren't supported on tablets (noticed one of the EA games did mention it wasn't supported on the Galaxy Tab)? Or is something else going on?


Market will not show apps that are deemed incompatible with your device. Since NC doesn't come with market, it will mainly show you generic apps. Other alternate market apps may show you apps that work or that don't and apps that require OS 2.2, since the NC is an unsupported device.

-CC
27th December 2010, 07:44 PM |#3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
I've had this same problem, specifically with Pocket Legends. I sideloaded an old .apk of it and booted it up. It works, but then tells me to upgrade and when I let it go to the market, the screen just flashes and goes back to the pocket legends app.
28th December 2010, 02:34 AM |#4  
Ravynmagi's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 200
 
More
Ugh. Is this something that could be fixed in the future? I'm starting to get surprised at how many apps I can't download from the Market now. Can't even install Firefox.

I guess I can try side loading some of these thing from my Android phone.
28th December 2010, 02:55 AM |#5  
Senior Member
Flag Central Kentucky
Thanks Meter: 1,155
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ravynmagi

Ugh. Is this something that could be fixed in the future? I'm starting to get surprised at how many apps I can't download from the Market now. Can't even install Firefox.

I guess I can try side loading some of these thing from my Android phone.

Can't install Firefox? Shows in the market here for me.
28th December 2010, 03:03 AM |#6  
Senior Member
Flag Chicago
Thanks Meter: 107
 
More
Firefox Beta 3 showed up for me and installed fine.
28th December 2010, 08:46 PM |#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Inconsistance
I've had to re-root my new nook color several times. The first time I did it the Market had a limited number of apps. Viewing the "Top Free" or "Top Paid" only had about 10 apps visible as opposed to a long ongoing list of apps.

After a factor reset and re-root the market was showed any and every app.

After a third factory reset and reroot the market was back to the original way with far fewer apps. (currently Firefox, Dolphin, Skyfire are NOT visible but Opera is)

So I can confirm "something" is problematic. I came to this forum hoping for an answer myself.

Running 1.0.1 and used auto-nooter each time.
28th December 2010, 11:44 PM |#8  
Senior Member
Flag NY
Thanks Meter: 44
 
More
This may not fix your problem, earlyhike - but it may help someone:

When viewing the market holding it as a portrait, only 10 apps show but if you rotate to landscape then you can scroll through the long list.

Hope this helps someone
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to barbo For This Useful Post: [ View ]
29th December 2010, 12:38 AM |#9  
chhaggerty's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Minnesota
Thanks Meter: 232
 
More
I would very much appreciate if someone could upload the Firefox Beta 3 since I can't get it from Market. Thanks in advance.
30th December 2010, 06:30 PM |#10  
Ravynmagi's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 200
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by chhaggerty

I would very much appreciate if someone could upload the Firefox Beta 3 since I can't get it from Market. Thanks in advance.

I had to install it on my Android phone, then just copied the APK file over to my Nook and installed it that way. I put a copy here of Firefox 4 beta 3.


http://dl.dropbox.com/u/15926256/org....firefox-1.apk
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes