Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,738,440 Members 50,736 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

3G Radio Stability Problem

Tip us?
 
happycollin26
Old
(Last edited by happycollin26; 3rd January 2011 at 05:11 PM.)
#21  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 101
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Dewey Beach, Delaware
I live in Southern Delaware and haven't been able to receive a 3G signal yet on T-mobile OR this phone.
 
gshocker
Old
#22  
Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 64
Join Date: May 2006
Location: San Diego
I am just about to give up on this phone as I finally have a unit that doesn't lockup all the time but now it will not hold a 3G signal. The only way around this so far has been to lock it to EDGE. Once I did this it seems to not have problems holding a signal but when I turn 3G on it fluctuates between 3G, EDGE, GPRS and no signal all day long.

If I knew that Dell was working on a fix it would be one thing but they seem to be mostly quiet about any issues with the phone so far. Has anyone found a fix other than the various work arounds?
 
MrAdelphi02
Old
#23  
Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 91
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: London
Dslreports.com/stest Speed test result [Mobile browser Speed and Latency test: 800kbps

Mobilespeedtest.com Speed test result: 14545kbps d'loading 5MB (hahaha)

Funny thing is my phone seldom ever says "3G"...it pops up very very rarely, mostly shows the H or nothing at all
 
Zephnath
Old
#24  
Member
Thanks Meter 39
Posts: 69
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Stansbury Park

 
DONATE TO ME
Both of those testing sites report that I am connecting at HSPA+ speeds, and are both reporting very closely to each other. So I'm pretty sure that the speeds reported are accurate. With the "BandWidth" App it too had similar results. So there is three different sources saying similar things.

Another thing is, don't consider the "H" a bad thing, it generally means you have an excellent connection and fast internet. See and look for the question that asks what the G, E, 3G, and H icons mean. Most of us don't see that at all, which is an issue with the phone, one I can live with as long as I still get the faster speeds.
Microsoft Surface RT
Nokia Lumia 900


 
frazell
Old
#25  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 169
Join Date: Sep 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrAdelphi02 View Post
Dslreports.com/stest Speed test result [Mobile browser Speed and Latency test: 800kbps

Mobilespeedtest.com Speed test result: 14545kbps d'loading 5MB (hahaha)

Funny thing is my phone seldom ever says "3G"...it pops up very very rarely, mostly shows the H or nothing at all
You get the H (stands for HSDPA)?

I didn't know that was rolled out by T-Mobile seeing as how I've never seen it in Philadelphia.

Interesting.

Either way that isn't a bad thing. H is the best you can see.
 
MrAdelphi02
Old
#26  
Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 91
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: London
I live in England and i'm not on T-Mobile, i'm on Vodafone (sister network to Verizon, I believe)..

And i only get the H now, not been "3G" for a few weeks now....but internet is fast, no not complaining...

Didn't know H meant 3G or HSDPA....learn something new every day : )
 
frazell
Old
#27  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 169
Join Date: Sep 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrAdelphi02 View Post
I live in England and i'm not on T-Mobile, i'm on Vodafone (sister network to Verizon, I believe)..

And i only get the H now, not been "3G" for a few weeks now....but internet is fast, no not complaining...

Didn't know H meant 3G or HSDPA....learn something new every day : )
That explains it. You have the faster HSDPA network that we lack here .

In general you want H over 3G

The icon map is here as well ( http://www.microsoft.com/windowsphon...hone-mean.aspx )

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...