Quo Vadis, Open {Source, Standards, World}? w/ Jan Wildeboer – XDA:DevCon 2014

Open Source was a big topic at this years XDA:DevCon … more

Android 5.0 Leaked for the Samsung Galaxy Note 3

Android Lollipop is still making its way to many new devices. Firmware updates have been … more

Learn to Sync Files Between Android And PC with Unison

Dropbox and similar cloud services are great if youre planning to keep your files … more

OnePlus Indian Ban Lifted, Android One Expanding – XDA TV

Android 5.0.1 Lollipop is available for the Nvidia SHIELD Tablet! That and … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Quick Office Cm6.1.1

OP kingvaj23

30th December 2010, 06:56 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Phoenix, Az
Thanks Meter: 2
 
163 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Does anyone know where I can find QuickOffice for my g2? Im running cm6.1.1 and I downloaded a pdf and when I pressed it it went to quicloffice but when I exit I can't find it on the app.drawer or anywhere ..

Sent from my HTC Vision using XDA App
30th December 2010, 02:14 PM   |  #2  
noodles2224's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 213
 
1,748 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
Donate to Me
More
You can get it from the stock deodex rom and push it to /system/app, I'm about to do that once I get home from work, so I can confirm.. I got the ezpdf from market but I think quick office seems better

Edit: I can confirm that it works by just extracting the Quickoffice.apk in stock deodex rom and push it back to cm, its usable and will also appear in the app drawer now

Sent from my HTC Vision using Tapatalk
30th December 2010, 04:01 PM   |  #3  
-FuRBz-'s Avatar
Senior Member
Boston
Thanks Meter: 64
 
585 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
def. let us know noodles, this is something im looking to get as well..
30th December 2010, 11:19 PM   |  #4  
OP Senior Member
Phoenix, Az
Thanks Meter: 2
 
163 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Can you give me the exact steps im a noob :/

Sent from my HTC Vision using XDA App
30th December 2010, 11:24 PM   |  #5  
Gravityrat's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Austin
Thanks Meter: 3
 
171 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
Same here. I have CM6.1.1 and I can see Quickoffice in Titanium but it won't let me restore it.
31st December 2010, 01:53 AM   |  #6  
noodles2224's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 213
 
1,748 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
Donate to Me
More
Download Stock Deodex Rom v1.1 in the Development forums.. look through it, it might be towards the end or so..

You can use 7zip to extract files or windows extract .. so if you haven't gotten it, download it at download.com and install it.
Open the v1.1.zip rom, just double click on it, go to SYSTEM folder then APPS folder and search for Quickoffice.apk at the bottom and just drag it out to the desktop.

Now, either copy it through Terminal Emulator by just putting it to the root of sdcard and type

su
cp /sdcard/Quickoffice.apk /system/app

Or you can use adb, and I bet root explorer aswell as its pretty much all the same concept..

Sent from my HTC Vision
31st December 2010, 05:34 AM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Flag Long Island
Thanks Meter: 17
 
405 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by noodles2224

Download Stock Deodex Rom v1.1 in the Development forums.. look through it, it might be towards the end or so..

You can use 7zip to extract files or windows extract .. so if you haven't gotten it, download it at download.com and install it.
Open the v1.1.zip rom, just double click on it, go to SYSTEM folder then APPS folder and search for Quickoffice.apk at the bottom and just drag it out to the desktop.

Now, either copy it through Terminal Emulator by just putting it to the root of sdcard and type

su
cp /sdcard/Quickoffice.apk /system/app

Or you can use adb, and I bet root explorer aswell as its pretty much all the same concept..

Sent from my HTC Vision

Before you do the "cp /sdc...." command, you have to mount system using this command: mount -o remount,rw -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblk3 /system

Please correct me if it's wrong, I just copied it from another thread.
The Following User Says Thank You to quierotacobell For This Useful Post: [ View ]
31st December 2010, 06:09 AM   |  #8  
noodles2224's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 213
 
1,748 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
Donate to Me
More
Yea you do, but sometimes you don't need to.. well, some that I notice or maybe its because I'm always switching roms and forget which ones which

A shorter one would be
mount -o remount rw /system

Sent from my HTC Vision
31st December 2010, 04:09 PM   |  #9  
Member
Flag Chicago, IL
Thanks Meter: 3
 
96 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
This also works and is pretty easy

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=837599

If you have a nandroid backup of your stock rom you could also restore it and extract from there. Otherwise just flash the stock rom like noodles said and extract from there

Sent from my HTC Vision using XDA App
31st December 2010, 07:36 PM   |  #10  
noodles2224's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 213
 
1,748 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
Donate to Me
More
You don't have to flash the stock rom, just download it to the computer and extract it there

Sent from my HTC Vision

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes