5,594,564 Members 33,035 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[GUIDE] How To Root HBOOT 1.01

Tip us?
 
FeaRThiS
Old
#1  
FeaRThiS's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 32
Posts: 267
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Salford
Default [GUIDE] How To Root HBOOT 1.01

Ok guys I noticed a lot of people are getting stuck with this myself included and for me it was because the information I needed was fragmented all over the place, So here is all the information that I used some parts have been edited to fit the purpose of rooting 1.01 as there is no definative guide at the minute.

1st thing to do is make a goldcard even if you already have a working goldcard make it again mine was working for other phones but wouldnt work for this.

All credit for the goldcard guide goes to BlaY0

Quote:
Originally Posted by BlaY0 View Post
Here are few easy steps on how to make Goldcard without taking it out of your phone but you have to be root (VISIONary temproot is fine).

You will be doing this from command prompt:
Code:
adb shell
su
First you need to find out sdcard's CID:
Code:
cat /sys/class/mmc_host/mmc0/mmc0:*/cid
...copy it into text box on http://hexrev.soaa.me/. Now go to http://psas.revskills.de/?q=goldcard and put in the reversed CID you have got on previous web page. Push goldcard.img to your phone via 2nd command prompt:
Code:
adb push goldcard.img /data/local/
...unmount sdcard via Settings, go back to 1st command prompt and make a backup then make goldcard:
Code:
dd if=/dev/block/mmcblk0 count=1 of=/data/local/sdcard_backup.img
cat /data/local/goldcard.img > /dev/block/mmcblk0
sync
exit
You may also pull that backup to your PC:
Code:
adb pull /data/local/sdcard_backup.img .
The 2nd guide you will need to use is also by BlaY0

Quote:
Originally Posted by BlaY0 View Post
Preface
Because there are too many ppl without any knowledge spreading false findings and statements I decided to write this HOWTO.

Audience
This HOWTO is primarily ment for those who already have rooted Legends but they recently experienced problems flashing CM's or new Vodafone FroYo boot.img.

Background
HBOOT is like a BIOS in our PCs and to cut a long story short it also contains partition table for phone's internal storage. That means it has info on where exactly certain partition starts and how big it is.

At HTC they decided to partition Legend's internal storage this way:
  1. misc 640 kB
  2. recovery 4,375 MB
  3. boot 2,5 MB
  4. system 240 MB
  5. cache 40 MB
  6. data 185 MB
...but as we found out (first with CM nightly) boot partition was a little short for the boot.img to fit in if we had one or more bad cells (sectors) on it. Eventually we found out that quite some Legend's had bad cell on boot partition and those unfortunate souls that owned such phone were unable to upgrade to Vodafone FroYo rooted ROM too.

I think that HTC also recognized that Legend's boot partition was kinda small so they rearanged partition table in HBOOT 1.00 a bit making boot partition bigger (now it is 3 MB) by shrinking recovery partition a little.

So now we know that some of us actually need HBOOT 1.00 in order to flash FroYo's boot.img without a problem. But how do we keep root then?


Prerequirements
  • Android SDK (primarily adb)
  • working USB drivers (for adb to work)
  • goldcard (in case you are trying to flash ROMs with different CID than your phone has)
  • ClockWorkMod recovery (if your Legend is already rooted)


Rerequirements

Instructions
I will split instructions into two parts... for already rooted phones and phones that were already updated with Vodafone OTA thus they lost root.

Already OTA updated with HBOOT 1.00
That one is relatively easy. You could also follow Paul's guide but I like my approach better
Connect your phone to your PC. Second you have to install VISIONary r13 into your phone and do the "temproot" procedure. After a successful "temproot" you should be able to adb shell and then su. Fire up command prompt and issue:
Code:
adb shell
su
...you should have root privileges now (showing #). Next thing is backing up misc partition and replacing it with one from hack4legend-v5.zip. Extract this zip somewhere and fire another command promt there. Now you should upload flash_image binary and misc1-2.img:
Code:
adb push flash_image /data/local/
adb push misc1-2.img /data/local/
...switch back to 1st command prompt and change permission of flash_image_binary:
Code:
chmod 755 /data/local/flash_image
...and backup your current misc partition:
Code:
cat /dev/mtd/mtd0 > /sdcard/misc_backup.img
Now flash misc1-2.img:
Code:
/data/local/flash_image misc /data/local/misc1-2.img
exit
...and you are set to downgrade retaining HBOOT 1.00.
Unzip r4-legend-root.zip and find testimage.zip in it. Put it on your phone's sdcard renaming it to LEGEIMG.zip. You can then reboot into bootloader issuing:
Code:
adb reboot bootloader
...from command prompt. Phone will reboot and find LEGEIMG.zip on your sdcard, copy it into RAM and check it. If you get CID error at this point, then you don't have goldcard. Make your sdcard gold and try again. After successful flash and reboot you may remove LEGEIMG.zip from sdcard. Next step is upgrading of rooted FroYo ROM. Put FroYo update ROM zip to your sdcard and install it via ClockworkMod recovery. You may also flash backed up misc partition after that. Still in recovery mode and hooked with your PC switch to command prompt and restore it back:
Code:
adb shell
flash_image misc /sdcard/misc_backup.img
exit
...and reboot.
So by now you will be on an unrooted Eclair rom. The third guide I used was by David Cogen

Quote:
Originally Posted by David Cogen

I. Before You Begin

1. YOU MUST BE ON VERSION 1.31 IN ORDER TO ROOT THE LEGEND, IF YOU ARE NOT YOU CAN DOWNGRADE USING THIS PROCEDURE.

2. This will erase all the data on your phone so please at least sync your contacts with Google before continuing.

3. You must have HTC Sync version 2.0.33, not a newer version. Uninstall HTC Sync and install this version instead.


1. Download the Rooting Tools

Legend Rooting Tools

2. Unzip them to the C: drive on your computer (so the file path is C:\r4-legend-root\)

3. Turn off your phone and turn it back on by holding down Back and Power until you see Fastboot come up on the screen. Push the Power button while highlighting Fastboot on the phone and Fastboot should show up in red now on the phone (if it doesn’t push Power again until it does).

4. Plug the phone in via USB cable to the computer.

5. Open the folder you extracted to the C drive and double click “step1-windows.bat” and wait for it to finish.

6. Once you see the menu on the phone come back up, navigate to BOOTLOADER and push power, then navigate to RECOVERY using the volume buttons to navigate and the power button to select and the phone should boot to the ! screen.

7. Now on the computer double click the “step2-windows.bat” file and wait for it to finish. (UPDATE 12.13.10 – You MUST have HTC Sync version 2.0.33 not a newer version for step2 to work. Please uninstall HTC Sync and download and install this version instead, unplug then plug your phone back in, then rerun step2-windows.bat).

8. Now you should see a custom recovery screen, using the optical trackpad navigate to Wipe and push on the trackpad to select it. Then navigate to Wipe data/factory reset and select that.

9. Once that is done, push volume down to go back to the main menu and select Flash zip from sdcard and select the rootedupdate.zip file and wait for it to flash. All done, you have root access and can use any root required app! Enjoy!
IV. Load a Custom ROM etc (Optional)

1. Head over to our How To Load a Custom ROM on the HTC Legend procedure and continue with that to load custom ROMs and other fun stuff!

Thanks to Paul at Modaco for his awesome scripts!
By now you should have HBOOT 1.01 with a rooted Ecclair ROM and Clockwork Recovery Mod So you can flash any custom rom that you like although I would recommend you try B 0.2

If you use this guide, you do so at your own risk.
The Following 19 Users Say Thank You to FeaRThiS For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
smartsreenath
Old
#2  
smartsreenath's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 14
Posts: 298
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: trivandrum
wow...nice tutorial


CUREENT:SAMSUNG GALAXY S 4
SAMSUNG GALAXY S 3
SAMSUNG GALAXY TAB PLUS
HTC LEGEND
 
TheGrammarFreak
Old
#3  
TheGrammarFreak's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 684
Posts: 2,805
Join Date: Jul 2010
I've requested that this goes in the stickies. Well done mate
Nexus 4: CM10.2
Nexus 7: CM10.2

Twitter | Blog
 
nxdu
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 125
Join Date: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by FeaRThiS View Post
The 2nd guide you will need to use is also by http://forum.xda-developers.com/member.php?u=609649

So by now you will be on an unrooted Eclair rom.
Question: So the second guide is to downgrade Froyo 3.5 to Eclair 1.3?
 
FeaRThiS
Old
#5  
FeaRThiS's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 32
Posts: 267
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Salford
Quote:
Originally Posted by smartsreenath View Post
wow...nice tutorial
Thanks glad it helped.

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheGrammarFreak View Post
I've requested that this goes in the stickies. Well done mate
Cheers m8 Might not be the best way but it was the only way I managed to root mine on 1.01.

Quote:
Originally Posted by nxdu View Post
Question: So the second guide is to downgrade Froyo 3.5 to Eclair 1.3?
Fist FroYo is 2.2 not 3.5 and Eclair is 2.1 not 1.3 but yes it is to downgrade to Eclair so that you can root and then upgrade back to FroYo so you end up with rooted FroYo.
 
TheGrammarFreak
Old
#6  
TheGrammarFreak's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 684
Posts: 2,805
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by FeaRThiS View Post
Fist FroYo is 2.2 not 3.5 and Eclair is 2.1 not 1.3 but yes it is to downgrade to Eclair so that you can root and then upgrade back to FroYo so you end up with rooted FroYo.
FroYo is HTC WWE 3.x, and éclair is 1.x and 2.x
Nexus 4: CM10.2
Nexus 7: CM10.2

Twitter | Blog
 
justcookiesncream
Old
(Last edited by justcookiesncream; 1st January 2011 at 01:26 AM.)
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 29
Posts: 282
Join Date: Oct 2010
Thank you!, so it doesn't matter which version of Froyo you're on but what the Hboot version of your phone is on that varies what guide you'll be using ? mine is asia's 3.15.707.3

Yes , one last thing;o how do I check whether all my contacts are properly syncd with Google ? As gmail does not display any of my contacts, if so how would I go about doing it ?._.

Sent from my HTC Legend using XDA App
 
FeaRThiS
Old
#8  
FeaRThiS's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 32
Posts: 267
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Salford
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheGrammarFreak View Post
FroYo is HTC WWE 3.x, and éclair is 1.x and 2.x
Ahh I was talkin Android version not HTC version more confusion.

Sent from my HTC Legend using XDA App
 
justcookiesncream
Old
#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 29
Posts: 282
Join Date: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by FeaRThiS View Post
You will be doing this from command prompt:
Code:
adb shell
su
Creating a goldcard procedure
What I did, installed visionary r13, clicked on "temproot now"
Access the adb shell via "cd c:\windows-anroid-sdk\platform-tools\adb shell"
however I got the $ sign and when I typed su it says "permission denied" what might be the problem? sorry._. new to this
 
yzac
Old
#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 29
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Pasig City
Hi Folks,

If you don't mind me asking, do you reckon this will work for HTC Wildfire running 2.2 RUU from shipped ROMs with Hboot of 1.01? TIA.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes