FORUMS

Analysis & Opinion

Top Forum Discussions

[n00b] SETCPU bootloop cure -No need to Nandroid Restore-

279 posts
Thanks Meter: 45
 
By akiradavis, Senior Member on 31st December 2010, 06:41 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Just sharing some info for noobs.


So you set your CPU to 1.22 Ghz and checked 'set at boot'. You enjoy your 10% speed increase until suddently you get a random reboot. You know it is because you set the CPU too high (for your phone, every phone is differnet) so you wait for it to reboot so you set it back but then BAM! another reboot. Now Sh!t hits the fan because of the 'set at boot' flag has been checked. You didn't do a nandroid backup recently or you don't have any set up. What to do??

I found this on android developers forum and thought I should share this in an OP because it's very valuable for us overclockers.

Basically, to remedy this, you need to delete the SetCPU config file from the internal memory. To do, follow this:

1) Boot into recovery
2) Connect USB
3) open ADB shell - 'adb shell'
4) mount the Data folder - 'mount /data'
5) navigate to the Data folder - 'cd /data/data'
6) Remove the config file - 'rm -r com.mhuang.overclocking'
7) exit and reboot phone

Now you should be all set. SetCPU is now in its default form.
Last edited by akiradavis; 31st December 2010 at 06:43 PM. Reason: Grammar
The Following 8 Users Say Thank You to akiradavis For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
31st December 2010, 06:47 PM |#2  
mrpuffin's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Monroe, Wa, USA
Thanks Meter: 11
 
More
havn't needed this yet but very useful for everyone who does need it
good job
1st January 2011, 02:14 AM |#3  
kr1m3boss's Avatar
Member
Flag Louisiana
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
Nice find bro, wish I would have none this a few weeks ago
3rd January 2011, 05:43 PM |#4  
fishears's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag Ask Google where I am
Thanks Meter: 2,769
 
More
Awesome. Thank you
3rd January 2011, 06:41 PM |#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
Or, if easier, you can just pull the SD card, and put a text file named 'setcpu_safemode' in the root of the card, then reinsert and boot. The dev added that feature a while back.
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Shushunmire For This Useful Post: [ View ]
5th January 2011, 09:59 PM |#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Thanks man, first day owning my droid inc, and I'm a little too used to cranking my old moto droid up all the way without consequence. I don't even need the little scosh of a speed boost I'm just always effing with things. Oh well lesson learned, no harm no foul.
29th April 2011, 12:26 PM |#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Thumbs up
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shushunmire

Or, if easier, you can just pull the SD card, and put a text file named 'setcpu_safemode' in the root of the card, then reinsert and boot. The dev added that feature a while back.

Thanks this worked perfectly!
The Following User Says Thank You to pyrodine88 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
19th June 2011, 04:55 AM |#8  
wyllem's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
More
i Found an app i hate setcpu piece of garbage spent an hour fixing my phone found this and it worked
19th June 2011, 05:46 AM |#9  
plainjane's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Charlotte, NC
Thanks Meter: 462
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by wyllem

i Found an app i hate setcpu piece of garbage spent an hour fixing my phone found this and it worked

Don't blame SetCPU for the fact that you didn't know what you were doing. That's not the app's fault, it's yours.

(from... Evo/MIUI/Tapatalk)
19th August 2011, 03:35 PM |#10  
Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
More
Ok, played with setcpu today, for the first time, and after awhile set the orevclock to max and now the phone reboots everytime I try to open anything. I found this thread and put the .txt file on my sd's root, but it didnt help. I am using amon_ra and cant figure out how to try the other method with it. Can someone please help me out.


Update, I made another .txt file and this one seemed to work, but I now see there is a flashable .zip you can extract in setcpu itself.
Last edited by Boltons75; 19th August 2011 at 05:32 PM.
19th August 2011, 05:46 PM |#11  
Senior Member
Flag Dayton, OH
Thanks Meter: 364
 
More
Err...there's a failsafe built into setcpu. It places a file on your sd to flash in the event of a bootloop.

Simply look in the setcpu settings for it.

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes