Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,732,073 Members 41,196 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum
View Poll Results: Did this help you calibrate your battery?
Yes 16 84.21%
No 3 15.79%
Voters: 19. You may not vote on this poll

[How To] Calibrate a Battery

Tip us?
 
theimpaler747
Old
#1  
theimpaler747's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator / Retired Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 2657
Posts: 21,289
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: The Ninth Circle of Dante's Inferno

 
DONATE TO ME
Default [How To] Calibrate a Battery

I get asked all the time the proper way to calibrate a battery; so, here's a proper guide for you guys to use to do so and save some post space

How to: Calibrate a Battery correctly on the CDMA Hero.
  1. Charge the phone to 100%
  2. Boot the phone into recovery.
  3. Wipe battery stats
  4. Power phone on, and unplug your fully charged phone
  5. Use your phone until the battery dies. Completly. You want to use it until the phone automaticaly powers off due to low battery
  6. Recharge phone
  7. Repeat the Charging/Killing proccess about 2-3 times
  8. Your battery is callibrated!

Hope this helps cut some questions down!!!
The Following 7 Users Say Thank You to theimpaler747 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
abadasstanker69
Old
#2  
abadasstanker69's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 710
Posts: 1,750
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Phoenix, Az
Your picture is better than mine lol good write up bro. Helps limit questions that have been answered! Now if only we could have one for theming aosp ...I had hell learning lol

Sent from my HERO200 using XDA App
 
theimpaler747
Old
#3  
theimpaler747's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator / Retired Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 2657
Posts: 21,289
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: The Ninth Circle of Dante's Inferno

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by abadasstanker69 View Post
Your picture is better than mine lol good write up bro. Helps limit questions that have been answered! Now if only we could have one for theming aosp ...I had hell learning lol

Sent from my HERO200 using XDA App
Lol, thanks man I get asked this so much, I figured, why not?
The Following User Says Thank You to theimpaler747 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
aiwetir
Old
#4  
aiwetir's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 109
Posts: 1,095
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Oregon
Afraid to let my phone die completely like that. 3x I've had my sdcard need a reformat after the battery died. Only have let the battery die about 5x.
 
ahager88
Old
#5  
ahager88's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 74
Posts: 1,274
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Cape Girardeau
Quote:
Originally Posted by aiwetir View Post
Afraid to let my phone die completely like that. 3x I've had my sdcard need a reformat after the battery died. Only have let the battery die about 5x.
Really?

I recalibrate after every new rom or update to base rom.

Not needed, but I'm weird.

Never hurt my sdcard. Had this phone over a year and a half now.

Sent from my aospGBmod.
HTC Inspire 4G running MIUI v4 courtesy of blind. View miui.us for details.

Got 5 minutes? Check out my band Namek!
 
theimpaler747
Old
#6  
theimpaler747's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator / Retired Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 2657
Posts: 21,289
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: The Ninth Circle of Dante's Inferno

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by aiwetir View Post
Afraid to let my phone die completely like that. 3x I've had my sdcard need a reformat after the battery died. Only have let the battery die about 5x.
I've never had that happen.... what sd card do you have?

Sent from a truly Epic phone!
The Following User Says Thank You to theimpaler747 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
theimpaler747
Old
#7  
theimpaler747's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator / Retired Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 2657
Posts: 21,289
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: The Ninth Circle of Dante's Inferno

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by smoothtaste View Post
Really?

I recalibrate after every new rom or update to base rom.

Not needed, but I'm weird.

Never hurt my sdcard. Had this phone over a year and a half now.

Sent from my aospGBmod.
Yeah, same here, but nothing hurt my card

Sent from a truly Epic phone!
The Following User Says Thank You to theimpaler747 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
laie1472
Old
#8  
laie1472's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 828
Posts: 4,540
Join Date: Feb 2010
A Impaler sup man quick???? Due for an upgrade thinking of the epic my self how is it vs the evo????

Root-Hack-Mod-Always™
 
theimpaler747
Old
#9  
theimpaler747's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator / Retired Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 2657
Posts: 21,289
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: The Ninth Circle of Dante's Inferno

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by laie1472 View Post
A Impaler sup man quick???? Due for an upgrade thinking of the epic my self how is it vs the evo????

Root-Hack-Mod-Always™
I love it and think it's better Faster, better screen, keyboard
The Following User Says Thank You to theimpaler747 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
aiwetir
Old
#10  
aiwetir's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 109
Posts: 1,095
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Oregon
I've got a transcend 8g class 6 right now and it got messed up just this weekend letting the battery die. It did it the other 2 times on an old card then eventually went tits up not long after that. Needles to say 3 of 5 isn't a good ratio so I'll not be letting the batt die on my phone any time soon.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes