Android 5.0.2 Fixes 2012 Nexus 7! Sony’s Making a Google Glass Competitor? – XDA TV

Android 5.0.2 Lollipop is available for the … more

Early Lollipop Ports for Micromax A116 and A117

It feels like it was only yesterday when Google announced the mysterious Android L.After … more

Now Gesture Tweaks Replaces Google Now with Custom Action

On most modern Android devices with software navigation keys, swiping up from the … more

ToqAN Fixes Android 5.0 Notification Bug on Qualcomm Toq

The Qualcomm Toq is probably one of the lesser known smartwatches on the market … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Guide] Getting ride of the Phantom Voice Mail Icon (NOT THE TEXT MESSAGE ISSUE)

OP Jetdr

1st January 2011, 10:24 PM   |  #1  
Jetdr's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Chandler AZ
Thanks Meter: 53
 
307 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
Thanks to a suggestion made by a follow XDA Member (Can't remember his name sorry!!)

Actually you can fix the Voice Mail Icon issue!!! The one that shows up in the top left corner, NOT the text mail issue.

Takes an OLD sprint phone and some time.

First, put your EVO back to a STOCK ROOTED ROM.

Get your old phone out of the junk drawer (HAS TO BE A NON ANDROID PHONE) and call Sprint. Have the OLD phone switched back onto your account (thus removing your EVO from your account).

Once the OLD phone is activated follow all the steps to activate your voice mail account.

Call your phone from a land line phone and leave yourself a message, then call your voice mail on your old phone and delete it. MAKE SURE THERE ARE NO OTHER MESSAGES IN YOUR YOUR VOICE MAIL ACCOUNT.

Now you can call Sprint back and reset up your EVO. Once your EVO is all set up your EVO will reprovision your VM account. Follow all the instructions to get your VM account setup again. This would be a good time to update all the radios, PRI and PRL and make sure you update your profile.

No go back into recovery and wipe all and either NAN Droid back to your old ROM or start fresh. If you Nandroid back to a ROM with the VM Icon on it, don't worry it will clear off.

Use Google Voice if you can from this point forward. I have flashed many AOSP ROMs since going through all these steps and I no longer have to STARE at the stupid VM Icon.
The Following 16 Users Say Thank You to Jetdr For This Useful Post: [ View ]
4th January 2011, 07:07 AM   |  #2  
Jetdr's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Chandler AZ
Thanks Meter: 53
 
307 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
Bump this back up for those that might not have seen this fix. Takes some time to get it all done but I keep seeing post on how to get rid of the Voicemail Icon.

This process works perfectly.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Jetdr For This Useful Post: [ View ]
4th January 2011, 07:30 AM   |  #3  
indagroove's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 89
 
1,218 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2007
More
Thanks, I'm tempted to try, but such a pain in the ass.
4th January 2011, 08:45 AM   |  #4  
anaglich's Avatar
Senior Member
Detroit
Thanks Meter: 41
 
650 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
More
What I do for the perfect rom...
4th January 2011, 09:42 AM   |  #5  
Jetdr's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Chandler AZ
Thanks Meter: 53
 
307 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by indagroove

Thanks, I'm tempted to try, but such a pain in the ass.


Yes it is but I am soooo glad that damn ICON is gone it was worth the time and effort. I have flashed back and forth between Sense and AOSP ROMs several times in the last few weeks and I have NOT had the voice Mail ICON sense.
4th January 2011, 03:21 PM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 34
 
324 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Fixed!!!!!!!!! Posted my update on page 2 of this thread.
Last edited by dills2214; 19th January 2011 at 09:31 PM. Reason: OMG IT WORKED!
4th January 2011, 04:10 PM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 15
 
377 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Thank you for posting this and explaining the issue in the unofficial CM7 thread. I was getting sick of people saying "use Google Voice" when they have no idea what they are talking about.

I have an old Samsung phone...may try this.

Sent from my PC36100 using XDA App
4th January 2011, 10:51 PM   |  #8  
Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
31 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
Worked like a charm. THANK YOU!!!!
8th January 2011, 06:51 PM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 15
 
377 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Just did this...about to flash CM6. *fingers crossed*

BTW, you don't have to call....you can just use the Sprint chat.

EDIT: OH MY GOD IT WORKED.
Last edited by Vivix729; 8th January 2011 at 07:08 PM.
8th January 2011, 07:42 PM   |  #10  
Jetdr's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Chandler AZ
Thanks Meter: 53
 
307 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vivix729

Just did this...about to flash CM6. *fingers crossed*

BTW, you don't have to call....you can just use the Sprint chat.

EDIT: OH MY GOD IT WORKED.


Yea!!! Glad it worked for you.


Sent from my PC36100 using XDA App

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
phantom voicemail
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes