5,593,587 Members 38,586 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[HOW-TO] Wifi Fix for CM6 [1/2/2011]

Tip us?
 
MusicMan374
Old
#11  
MusicMan374's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 113
Posts: 1,138
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Kirkland, WA

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by poormanq45 View Post
I keep getting a "out of space" error when I go to copy the files.

Please help.
If you have not applied s-off patch by alpharev, then you have to push the files while in clockwork recovery, after going to the partitions menu and selecting mount /system. If you are in fact s-off, you have to use a terminal emulator and type [code}mount -o rw,remount /system[/code] and then push the files

Sent from my T-Mobile myTouch 3G Slide
Devices: HTC G1 (Dream) ===> HTC MyTouch 3G Slide (Espresso) ===> HTC Sensation 4G (Pyramid Z710E) ===> LG Nexus 4
 
xaodxkevin
Old
#12  
Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 53
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Las Vegas
CM6 wifi works fine for me, but would these drivers work better with my phone anyways since they're specifically made for this phone?
 
pettigrew95
Old
#13  
pettigrew95's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 60
Posts: 1,051
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: New Jersey
Applied this on Arayaray revamped which seemed to have spotty wifi for me especially when accessing the market. After applying this the wifi is perfect not a single problem at all now, thanks so much!!
Verizon HTC One M8 32 GB
64 GB Class 10 Sandisk MicroSD
Rooted with WeakSauce (waiting for S-Off now!)

Old Phones: Galaxy S3 | Galaxy S2 | HTC Droid Incredible 4G LTE | Samsung Fascinate | HTC Sensation | LG G2x | HTC MyTouch 3G Slide | HTC MyTouch 3G | HTC G1
 
Hayzie
Old
#14  
Hayzie's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 63
Posts: 491
Join Date: Dec 2009
I refuse to connect my phone to my pc. Is there any way to get these files pushed onto my phone? Terminal Emulator work? If not, it's cool. Wifi seems to be working for the most part under CM6.
T-Moble G1 (black)
MyTouch 3G Slide (black) / 8gb/no ext.

Samsung Galaxy S III (titanium); rom = Dandroid 7,094.23.1.1.00101
Portal boot animation created by me (yay, i contribute!)

*you're
 
HebrewToYou
Old
#15  
HebrewToYou's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 66
Posts: 701
Join Date: Feb 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by xaodxkevin View Post
CM6 wifi works fine for me, but would these drivers work better with my phone anyways since they're specifically made for this phone?
It depends. These files are taken *directly* from the stock espresso rom and are known-good. If you're not having any issues with wifi running CM6 I don't feel comfortable telling you this will "improve" anything -- but I don't think it would hurt. In any case, if you follow my instructions you will have backed up the original files and can restore them at any time.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hayzie View Post
I refuse to connect my phone to my pc. Is there any way to get these files pushed onto my phone? Terminal Emulator work? If not, it's cool. Wifi seems to be working for the most part under CM6.
Uhhhh -- why? That seems incredibly myopic and weird. You know what -- never mind -- I don't want to know. You can use a terminal emulator on the device to move the two files from your sdcard to their rightful place on /system. I'll leave it as an exercise to the user to figure out the correct commands to do so.
 
Hayzie
Old
#16  
Hayzie's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 63
Posts: 491
Join Date: Dec 2009
Well I'll tell you anyways... MyTouch Slide always acts funny when plugged via USB to my pc, more-or-less so Windows 7. I could say this is an uncommon issue, but it's not. So it's not weird.
T-Moble G1 (black)
MyTouch 3G Slide (black) / 8gb/no ext.

Samsung Galaxy S III (titanium); rom = Dandroid 7,094.23.1.1.00101
Portal boot animation created by me (yay, i contribute!)

*you're
 
etu_aty
Old
#17  
etu_aty's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 50
Posts: 482
Join Date: Jun 2010
Mine works just fine, whats funny about it when u plug it in? Sorry to bring this up here herbrewtoyou but im curious lol

Sent from my T-Mobile myTouch 3G Slide using XDA App
Current phone: AT&T S4. Stock 4.2.2 Safestrap recovery
Retired phones:
Samsung Captivate Glide
Rom: Stock ICS UCLJ3 - Lite Kernel 3.1.10

Mytouch 3G slide white *ROOTED*S-OFF*
ROM: Latest CM7 build
Nandroid:Cyanoginger 1.1 final by me
 
ApeMan911
Old
#18  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Jan 2011
Hey guys I just pushed the 2 files to my phone, I'm running CM 6.1.1-Slide - since I flashed to 6.1 and then reflashed to 6.1.1 I have had 0 Wifi capability. So I push these files and followed the instructions, and well I still have no wifi. I will enable it and it will scan, try to authenticate and then disconnect and repeat.......any ideas???
 
HebrewToYou
Old
#19  
HebrewToYou's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 66
Posts: 701
Join Date: Feb 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by ApeMan911 View Post
Hey guys I just pushed the 2 files to my phone, I'm running CM 6.1.1-Slide - since I flashed to 6.1 and then reflashed to 6.1.1 I have had 0 Wifi capability. So I push these files and followed the instructions, and well I still have no wifi. I will enable it and it will scan, try to authenticate and then disconnect and repeat.......any ideas???
Sounds like an issue with your router...
 
ApeMan911
Old
#20  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Jan 2011
No its def not the router, phone would connect all day long before switching to CM.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Windows Phone 8.1 Developer Preview Now Available!

About two weeks ago at the BUILD conference in San Francisco, Microsoft unveiled Windows … more

Prevent Unwanted Butt Dialing with Smart Pocket Guard

You may recall that back in August of last year, we took a look atAir SwiperbyXDA … more

Google ATAP Details Project Ara in Developers’ Conference

Earlier today, the Google ATAP teamkicked offits first ever Project Ara … more