Updated Android Lollipop Preview Images – XDA TV

The Android Lollipop Preview Images are now available! That and much more news is … more

Get a Complete Set of Logs with Andy Log

The importance of proper logging is undeniable. No, we’re not talking about lumberjack work. … more

Try Some Android Lollipop Applications on Your Device

Android 5.0 Lollipop has been officially announced and lucky users of Google Nexus 5 … more

AutoCon Manages Your Connections to Perserve Battery Life

As we’ve talked about in the past, battery life is still somewhat of a sore … more
Post Reply

Help getting slideit going?

OP theroberts

4th January 2011, 04:10 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Flag Gainesville, GA
Thanks Meter: 2
 
12 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
I've got slideit on my nook, but can't seem to activate it. It tells me I need to activate it manually, but when I go to settings/keyboard, the screen flickers and takes me to the home screen. I've tried disabling almost all the running apps and rebooting, but the same thing still happens.

I've been able to find help on rooting, adding apps, etc, on this forum, so maybe someone could give me some advice.
4th January 2011, 04:56 PM   |  #2  
j.a's Avatar
Senior Member
SD by way of Bklyn
Thanks Meter: 56
 
454 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2007
More
Try moving the apk from data/app to system/app folder then you should be able to install and setup the keyboard.
4th January 2011, 05:19 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Flag Gainesville, GA
Thanks Meter: 2
 
12 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by j.a

Try moving the apk from data/app to system/app folder then you should be able to install and setup the keyboard.

That's where it is now. I followed the directions on another thread, but the problem seems to be not being able to get into settings/keyboard.
4th January 2011, 05:27 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Flag Pittsburgh
Thanks Meter: 39
 
143 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
More
Are you using the NookColor Tools app for settings, or the stock settings?

I recommend NCT.

Sent from my ADR6300 using XDA App
4th January 2011, 05:43 PM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Flag Gainesville, GA
Thanks Meter: 2
 
12 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by duloz

Are you using the NookColor Tools app for settings, or the stock settings?

I recommend NCT.

Sent from my ADR6300 using XDA App

I had been trying with the stock. In NCT there's the option to choose keyboard but slideit isn't listed. I'll try downloading the apk and putting it in system/app again.
4th January 2011, 08:21 PM   |  #6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
24 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
I'm also having a problem with SlideIT. I've pushed it to the device, and when I bring up NCT it's in fact the only option to select. However, it never actually comes up. In other words, if I enter a text entry box the keyboard never pops up.
4th January 2011, 08:40 PM   |  #7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Try messing with the permissions once it is in the systems/app folder. I've neutral been giving them full user permission but that might not be needed. Also sometimes a reboot is needed.

Sent from my rooted nookcolor using XDA App
4th January 2011, 10:30 PM   |  #8  
OP Junior Member
Flag Gainesville, GA
Thanks Meter: 2
 
12 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Got mine working! Thanks!
7th January 2011, 05:37 AM   |  #9  
Junior Member
Flag Orlando
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2007
More
Whats the magic process
Quote:
Originally Posted by theroberts

Got mine working! Thanks!

so what did you do to get it to work?
8th January 2011, 01:27 PM   |  #10  
Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
50 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
Lol throw us a bone here.. how do you get slideit working?

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes