Shattered Screen? Turn Your Broken Device into a Complete Media Center!

A cracked screen usually means you’ll have to spend a hefty … more

Gmail 5.0: Material Design and Multiple Account Support

Google started to materialize many of its applications right after announcing the … more

Some of Our Favorite Features in Android 5.0 Lollipop

Android 5.0 Lollipop is the latest major revision to Google’s mobile operating … more

Sony SmartEyeglass SDK Developer Preview Released

A little over a month ago in Tokyo, Japan, Sony unveiled its new SmartEyeglasstechnology. … more
Post Reply

[Q] Improved Refresh-Rate on 2.1?

OP jleecong

5th January 2011, 05:14 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 33
 
60 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2007
Per the Nookie Froyo thread they have a suggestion to increase the refresh rate to 68000 to stop/reduce flicker.

I noticed a similar flicker on "stock" 2.1 and checked /sys/devices/omapdss/display0/timings only to find out it is also set at 48000. I increased it to 68000, but it is reset after each reboot.

What is the proper refresh rate? Anyone else notice a flicker on the stock ROM?
5th January 2011, 09:25 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 633
 
1,747 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by jleecong

Per the Nookie Froyo thread they have a suggestion to increase the refresh rate to 68000 to stop/reduce flicker.

I noticed a similar flicker on "stock" 2.1 and checked /sys/devices/omapdss/display0/timings only to find out it is also set at 48000. I increased it to 68000, but it is reset after each reboot.

What is the proper refresh rate? Anyone else notice a flicker on the stock ROM?

what process did you use to modify the file?
5th January 2011, 09:56 PM   |  #3  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 33
 
60 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by paleh0rse

what process did you use to modify the file?

I used the following from the thread I linked.
Code:
adb shell echo 68000,1024/70/200/40,600/10/11/10 > /sys/devices/omapdss/display0/timings
5th January 2011, 09:59 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 633
 
1,747 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by jleecong

I used the following from the thread I linked.

Code:
adb shell echo 68000,1024/70/200/40,600/10/11/10 > /sys/devices/omapdss/display0/timings

Did you su and mount as r/w first?
The Following User Says Thank You to paleh0rse For This Useful Post: [ View ]
5th January 2011, 10:04 PM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Flag Central Kentucky
Thanks Meter: 1,095
 
6,960 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by paleh0rse

Did you su and mount as r/w first?

You don't remount /sys
5th January 2011, 10:23 PM   |  #6  
Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
50 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
so does anyone know how to make this stick after boot?
6th January 2011, 12:23 AM   |  #7  
Member
Thanks Meter: 83
 
52 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by dennisi01

so does anyone know how to make this stick after boot?

See the thread I just made: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=901791
The Following User Says Thank You to JoshMiers For This Useful Post: [ View ]
6th January 2011, 01:11 AM   |  #8  
gedster314's Avatar
Senior Member
Oxnard, Ca
Thanks Meter: 114
 
865 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by jleecong

I used the following from the thread I linked.

Code:
adb shell echo 68000,1024/70/200/40,600/10/11/10 > /sys/devices/omapdss/display0/timings

Quote:

Originally Posted by dennisi01
so does anyone know how to make this stick after boot?
See the thread I just made: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=901791


Thank you both. Seems to work. Now I know how to run my own scripts afterboot.
6th January 2011, 06:37 AM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
142 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Does that mean we add the
Quote:

adb shell echo 68000,1024/70/200/40,600/10/11/10 > /sys/devices/omapdss/display0/timings

at the end of the clrbootcount.sh text to have it run that command to fix the refresh and make it stick?
6th January 2011, 10:24 AM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Flag Midland, MI
Thanks Meter: 7
 
129 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
I did this (as I posted in the nook flicker thread):

I did a CAT on immediately after, and it had defaulted instead to 66461 instead of 68000 (maximum rate for the chip?)

Of course it also cleared upon reboot. Should I have seen a flicker improvement right away?

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
nook nookcolor
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes