Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,808,502 Members 42,356 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[app] Wireless Tether, now with AP/Infrastructure Support for Droid X/2/Global/Pro

Tip us?
 
tekahuna
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 51
Posts: 119
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Oakland

 
DONATE TO ME
Default [app] Wireless Tether, now with AP/Infrastructure Support for Droid X/2/Global/Pro

Wireless Tether For Root Users 2.0.6, available for FREE download in The Market, now supports AP/Infrastructure mode tethering on Droid X/2/Global/Pro ***** NO PATCH NEEDED *****

>>> Download the latest version from The Market. <<<

Note: If you have issues, Uninstall and Install again.

If you still have issues after that:
1. Navigate to: Settings>Applications>Manage Applications>Wireless Tether
2. Then: Force Close, Clear Data, Uninstall and Install again.

Still having issues? Open a New Issue:
http://code.google.com/p/android-wif...er/issues/list

Visit the project's Google Code page:
http://code.google.com/p/android-wifi-tether/

And if you geek out on that sort of thing, how this works:
http://code.google.com/p/android-wif...=455&start=100

How's does it work for you?

Aloha,
FreeWELL/tekahuna
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to tekahuna For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
ITGuy11
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 32
Posts: 180
Join Date: Aug 2010
I had to uninstall then re-install, now it works great! Nice job!!!
 
LexusBrian400
Old
(Last edited by LexusBrian400; 6th January 2011 at 05:51 AM.)
#3  
LexusBrian400's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 143
Posts: 1,129
Join Date: Mar 2010
I looked through the apps settings, is there any way to choose Infrastructure mode or does it just do it automatically? Thanks.

I went from PDAnet to this, and my speed just about doubled based on the tests done at speedtest.net
Beesley on IRC





Follow me on Twitter - TheRealBeesley
 
anthonykash
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 17
Posts: 159
Join Date: Apr 2010
Default NO DICE ApeX 1.3.1

Couldn't get AP mode to start no matter what I did after deleting the Apex one out of /system/app
 
EtherBoo
Old
(Last edited by EtherBoo; 6th January 2011 at 05:20 PM.)
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 36
Posts: 284
Join Date: Jun 2008
I reinstalled, cleared data, and I get a message:

Quote:
No Access Control!

Sorry, but your kernel does not have all necessary features for the Access Control feature of this application. Access Control will be disabled.

Please see our FAQ: http://...........
I'm not sure what Access Control is.

I can test to see if it uses Infrastructure Mode later tonight.

Regarding the error:
Using GummyJar 2.5
Android Version:
2.2.1
Kernel Version:
2.6.32.9-g55626e1
w30471@il93lnxdroid08 #1

SBF'd and OTA updated last night before installing the ROM.

I should mention, it appears to work otherwise, but again, I will check later. My laptop (corporate assigned) cannot connect to AdHoc networks, so this would be amazing to get working.
 
surfer7
Old
#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 2
Join Date: Oct 2010
+1 EtherBoo. Same exact error, ROM and Kernel version.
The Following User Says Thank You to surfer7 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
anthonykash
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 17
Posts: 159
Join Date: Apr 2010
Default kernel not supported

I get the same Sorry, but your kernel does not have all necessary features for the Access Control feature of this application. Access Control will be disabled.. Android 2.2.1 Apex 1.3.1
 
harry_m
Old
#8  
harry_m's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 19
Posts: 185
Join Date: Feb 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by anthonykash View Post
I get the same Sorry, but your kernel does not have all necessary features for the Access Control feature of this application. Access Control will be disabled.. Android 2.2.1 Apex 1.3.1
Well, yes ... you guys get a message that "access control" is disabled because of a missing kernel-feature. "CONFIG_NETFILTER_XT_MATCH_MAC" is missing!

See: http://code.google.com/p/android-wifi-tether/wiki/FAQ

So yes, "access control" is unavailable for your devices.

But what do you get instead:

1) Infrastructure mode - your phone acts like "a real" accesspoint!
2) Strong WPA-encryption instead hacked-in-seconds WEP-encryption.

Your choice!

BTW ... if you want the access-control back install a custom kernel (if possible) which has above option/feature enabeld. Also include CONFIG_PROC_FS, CONFIG_IKCONFIG, and CONFIG_IKCONFIG_PRO so that the phone dumps the kernel-config to /proc/config.gz and the app will be able to detect it correctly!
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to harry_m For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
EtherBoo
Old
#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 36
Posts: 284
Join Date: Jun 2008
Custom Kernels are not possible on the X, and most likely won't be, since it doesn't look like anyone with the know-how is still working on hacking the locked boot loader.

This is my last Moto product because of it (even though the Atrix is making me wet my pants).

I was mistaken, it is using Infrastructure mode. As I mentioned, I wasn't able to test at the time, and thought Access Control was Infrastructure Mode.
 
sjsharks84
Old
#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 4
Join Date: Aug 2010
Thank you, thank you, thank you!

And who cares about Access Control? It's not necessary now that we have strong WPA/WPA2 encryption, and of course a true AP with the Droid X and Droid 2.

Besides, I believe Access control relies on the MAC Address which can be easily spoofed since it's sent as plain text. You guys rock!!!

Tags
droid x ap mode tether
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Jair Player with a Major Update–Here’s What’s New!

Back in May, we talked a bit aboutJair Player, a nice looking music … more

Paid Android App Developers Will Soon Have to Provide Physical Address

Google has now changed its policies regarding paid app developers. … more

Windows Developers Rejoice! Dev Program’s $99 Yearly Fee is No More!

Microsoft rule in the mobile market, much like the giant dinosaurs … more

Add the Xperia Z2 Lock Screen to Your Favorite KitKat ROM

Almost every OEM adds its own unique flair to their stock firmwares. While some of … more