FORUMS

XDA Recap: This Week In Android (May 17 – 23)

Another week, another recap. The Sunday tradition marches on this week with a fresh … more

Huawei To Sell Honor Smartphones Via Indian Retail Outlets

World’s fourth largest smartphone maker Huawei plans to now sell its … more

Sunday Debate: Are Smaller Bezels Better or Worth It?

Bezels have been getting smaller and smaller as the years go by, and while devices … more

LG G4 First Impressions and Unboxing – XDA TV

The latest in LG’s signature line of “G phones” has been released. … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

[Q] MT3G Stuck/Force Close/Frozen

8th January 2011, 06:39 AM |#1  
OP Senior Member
California
Thanks Meter: 76
 
More
So I'm trying to get my MT3G back up in running after a failed froyo update a while back.

I followed some instructions to put the phone back to stock and then to get the OTA update, after a few days of not getting the update I went ahead and gave some files a shot which left me with a phone that boots all the way up until the home screen should display and instead I get a force close/frozen phone.

This

sapphire 32b
hboot 1.33.0013 sapp30000
cpld-10
radio-2.22.23.02

is what I get from going into recovery. I'm not sure what I should try from here and don't want to make things worse.
 
 
8th January 2011, 09:13 AM |#2  
Binary100100's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator
Flag Detroit, Mi
Thanks Meter: 1,131
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by threeclaws

So I'm trying to get my MT3G back up in running after a failed froyo update a while back.

I followed some instructions to put the phone back to stock and then to get the OTA update, after a few days of not getting the update I went ahead and gave some files a shot which left me with a phone that boots all the way up until the home screen should display and instead I get a force close/frozen phone.

This

sapphire 32b
hboot 1.33.0013 sapp30000
cpld-10
radio-2.22.23.02

is what I get from going into recovery. I'm not sure what I should try from here and don't want to make things worse.

Well... if you have a custom recovery then I would suggest doing a data wipe and flash a new 32B rom.
8th January 2011, 09:21 AM |#3  
Senior Member
Flag Copenhagen
Thanks Meter: 630
 
Donate to Me
More
Take out the simcard...
Let it load... sign in google account... make sure all is good... shutdown.. put simcard back in.. start and enjoy.
8th January 2011, 08:18 PM |#4  
OP Senior Member
California
Thanks Meter: 76
 
More
I'm able to access the stock recovery not a custom one, maybe recovery is the wrong term I can access a page when I hold back/power or vol down/power that gives me fastboot/hboot access.

There is no SIM card in it currently, I did try putting one in to see if it would make a difference and it didn't.
8th January 2011, 08:36 PM |#5  
Senior Member
Flag Suffolk, VA
Thanks Meter: 163
 
Donate to Me
More
Hold down home+power to boot the phone and see if that gives you your custom recovery.
8th January 2011, 10:18 PM |#6  
OP Senior Member
California
Thanks Meter: 76
 
More
Not sure why you guys keep mentioning custom recovery, I went back to stock, but holding down home + power on start just give me the triangle/exclamation point/dead phone page.
9th January 2011, 02:57 AM |#7  
Binary100100's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator
Flag Detroit, Mi
Thanks Meter: 1,131
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by threeclaws

Not sure why you guys keep mentioning custom recovery, I went back to stock, but holding down home + power on start just give me the triangle/exclamation point/dead phone page.

Then you have two options.

Re-root your device by goldcard method.

-OR-

Call your provider and have a warranty replacement.
9th January 2011, 04:25 AM |#8  
OP Senior Member
California
Thanks Meter: 76
 
More
Thanks, I'll do the goldcard root.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes