FORUMS

Huawei To Sell Honor Smartphones Via Indian Retail Outlets

World’s fourth largest smartphone maker Huawei plans to now sell its … more

Sunday Debate: Are Smaller Bezels Better or Worth It?

Bezels have been getting smaller and smaller as the years go by, and while devices … more

LG G4 First Impressions and Unboxing – XDA TV

The latest in LG’s signature line of “G phones” has been released. … more

Galaxy S6 Weekly Shooting Challenge

Over in our forums this weekend, XDA Forum member DevonSloan has started a thread for talented … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

ADB.exe

10th January 2011, 04:59 PM |#1  
hav0c's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Amsterdam
Thanks Meter: 106
 
More
Sorry for the noob question but when I download the latests SDK there is no ADB.exe file in the tools directory anymore.

How do I start ADB with the latest SDK release?
 
 
10th January 2011, 05:27 PM |#2  
CitizenLee's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 495
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by hav0c

Sorry for the noob question but when I download the latests SDK there is no ADB.exe file in the tools directory anymore.

How do I start ADB with the latest SDK release?

What are your folders once extracted? It will be in one of them!
10th January 2011, 05:29 PM |#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 219
 
More
do you mean it was there an now its gone??

also have you hooked up phone(charge only) to usb, opened command prompt and type adb devices to see if adb starts? cause it may just be placed in different folder in sdk. think it does in new sdk but can't remember which folder doh .
Last edited by cattleprod; 10th January 2011 at 05:31 PM.
10th January 2011, 06:57 PM |#4  
hav0c's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Amsterdam
Thanks Meter: 106
 
More
This is the content of my tools folder:

Code:
cat ls.txt 
android
ant
apkbuilder
ddms
dmtracedump
draw9patch
emulator
etc1tool
hierarchyviewer
hprof-conv
layoutopt
lib
ls.txt
mksdcard
monkeyrunner
NOTICE.txt
proguard
source.properties
sqlite3
traceview
zipalign
(Same content in my SDK folder in Windows. No ADB.exe..)
10th January 2011, 07:01 PM |#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 219
 
More
have you try to run adb in cmd.exe ?



have a look in platform-tools folder it were im finding adb but im on linux mint right now but should be same
Last edited by cattleprod; 10th January 2011 at 07:04 PM.
10th January 2011, 07:14 PM |#6  
hav0c's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Amsterdam
Thanks Meter: 106
 
More
I don't have that folder.

If I download the SDK (zip) from http://developer.android.com/sdk/index.html adb.exe is not in it..

Is that the same for you guys?
The Following User Says Thank You to hav0c For This Useful Post: [ View ]
10th January 2011, 07:30 PM |#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 219
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by hav0c

I don't have that folder.

If I download the SDK (zip) from http://developer.android.com/sdk/index.html adb.exe is not in it..

Is that the same for you guys?

no thats were i downloaded from, both windows and linux hold on il go into windows an have a look but have you try running adb you can only start it in command prompt (cmd.exe) if your using windows xp. just right click in any windows from menu choose command prompt,plug phone to usb,make sure you have usb debugging on in phone(setting>application >development) and then type adb devices and see itf adb starts for you.
try doing this.
10th January 2011, 07:36 PM |#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 219
 
More
yeah its in platform-tools folder and you can find this in the main folder of the android-sdk-windows folder

check it out it there
10th January 2011, 09:49 PM |#9  
dr.m0x's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Auckland
Thanks Meter: 762
 
More
Platform-tools doesn't come with the sdk by default if I recall correctly. You need to run the sdk manager and select it as an optional component to download. I'm a long way from my computer right now so I can't double check for you sorry.

Sent from my performance enhanced Desire HD.
10th January 2011, 10:06 PM |#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dr.m0x

Platform-tools doesn't come with the sdk by default if I recall correctly. You need to run the sdk manager and select it as an optional component to download. I'm a long way from my computer right now so I can't double check for you sorry.

Sent from my performance enhanced Desire HD.


I do believe your correct.

Sent from my Desire HD using XDA App
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes