5,597,871 Members 38,788 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

ADB.exe

Tip us?
 
hav0c
Old
#1  
hav0c's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 93
Posts: 743
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Amsterdam
Default ADB.exe

Sorry for the noob question but when I download the latests SDK there is no ADB.exe file in the tools directory anymore.

How do I start ADB with the latest SDK release?
--

SONY XPERIA TABLET Z WIFI + LTE 16 GB BLACK @ CM 11
NEXUS 5 @ CM 11
Samsung Galaxy Note III SM-N9005 @ X-NOTE
Samsung Galaxy SIV GT-I9505 @ CM 11
Nexus 7 3G @ CM 11
 
CitizenLee
Old
#2  
CitizenLee's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 355
Posts: 2,056
Join Date: Aug 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by hav0c View Post
Sorry for the noob question but when I download the latests SDK there is no ADB.exe file in the tools directory anymore.

How do I start ADB with the latest SDK release?
What are your folders once extracted? It will be in one of them!
Google Nexus 5|Samsung Galaxy Note 2|Samsung Galaxy Tab 2 10.1
 
cattleprod
Old
(Last edited by cattleprod; 10th January 2011 at 05:31 PM.)
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 219
Posts: 642
Join Date: Sep 2010
do you mean it was there an now its gone??

also have you hooked up phone(charge only) to usb, opened command prompt and type adb devices to see if adb starts? cause it may just be placed in different folder in sdk. think it does in new sdk but can't remember which folder doh .
 
hav0c
Old
#4  
hav0c's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 93
Posts: 743
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Amsterdam
This is the content of my tools folder:

Code:
cat ls.txt 
android
ant
apkbuilder
ddms
dmtracedump
draw9patch
emulator
etc1tool
hierarchyviewer
hprof-conv
layoutopt
lib
ls.txt
mksdcard
monkeyrunner
NOTICE.txt
proguard
source.properties
sqlite3
traceview
zipalign
(Same content in my SDK folder in Windows. No ADB.exe..)
--

SONY XPERIA TABLET Z WIFI + LTE 16 GB BLACK @ CM 11
NEXUS 5 @ CM 11
Samsung Galaxy Note III SM-N9005 @ X-NOTE
Samsung Galaxy SIV GT-I9505 @ CM 11
Nexus 7 3G @ CM 11
 
cattleprod
Old
(Last edited by cattleprod; 10th January 2011 at 07:04 PM.)
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 219
Posts: 642
Join Date: Sep 2010
have you try to run adb in cmd.exe ?



have a look in platform-tools folder it were im finding adb but im on linux mint right now but should be same
 
hav0c
Old
#6  
hav0c's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 93
Posts: 743
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Amsterdam
I don't have that folder.

If I download the SDK (zip) from http://developer.android.com/sdk/index.html adb.exe is not in it..

Is that the same for you guys?
--

SONY XPERIA TABLET Z WIFI + LTE 16 GB BLACK @ CM 11
NEXUS 5 @ CM 11
Samsung Galaxy Note III SM-N9005 @ X-NOTE
Samsung Galaxy SIV GT-I9505 @ CM 11
Nexus 7 3G @ CM 11
The Following User Says Thank You to hav0c For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
cattleprod
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 219
Posts: 642
Join Date: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by hav0c View Post
I don't have that folder.

If I download the SDK (zip) from http://developer.android.com/sdk/index.html adb.exe is not in it..

Is that the same for you guys?
no thats were i downloaded from, both windows and linux hold on il go into windows an have a look but have you try running adb you can only start it in command prompt (cmd.exe) if your using windows xp. just right click in any windows from menu choose command prompt,plug phone to usb,make sure you have usb debugging on in phone(setting>application >development) and then type adb devices and see itf adb starts for you.
try doing this.
 
cattleprod
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 219
Posts: 642
Join Date: Sep 2010
yeah its in platform-tools folder and you can find this in the main folder of the android-sdk-windows folder

check it out it there
 
dr.m0x
Old
#9  
dr.m0x's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 693
Posts: 3,082
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Auckland
Platform-tools doesn't come with the sdk by default if I recall correctly. You need to run the sdk manager and select it as an optional component to download. I'm a long way from my computer right now so I can't double check for you sorry.

Sent from my performance enhanced Desire HD.
The Note 3 is a beast
 
gillepy
Old
#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 187
Join Date: May 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by dr.m0x View Post
Platform-tools doesn't come with the sdk by default if I recall correctly. You need to run the sdk manager and select it as an optional component to download. I'm a long way from my computer right now so I can't double check for you sorry.

Sent from my performance enhanced Desire HD.

I do believe your correct.

Sent from my Desire HD using XDA App

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Android Control Center Becomes Quick Control Panel, Brings Host of New Features

You may recall that back in August of last year, we talked … more

Polish Your Custom Themes with Theme Debugger

Creating a custom Android theme from scratch can be quite the laborious task. In addition to … more

Clean Up Your Logcat Code with Lib Cleaner

Some of you may think that writing code is the hardest part of development. It’s not, as the … more

Tweak Your Xperia Device’s Camera App Yourself

We’ve come to expect nearly perfect cameraperformancein our modern day … more