Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,737,173 Members 42,016 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Weird charging problems

Tip us?
 
Schooleydoo
Old
#1  
Schooleydoo's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 250
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: St Albans
Default Weird charging problems

On a few occasions now I have plugged it in to charge overnight, to find that it has not charged, or only part charged. The LED starts blinking as it should, but the next morning it is still blinking and only gone up, say 10%.

Also on occasion, I plug it in to charge and although the LED blinks, the battery icon does not change to reflect that it is now charging.

Has anyone else had similar problems or, as I suspect, do I have a defective unit?
Wizard > Hermes > Kaiser > Blackstone > Leo > Advent Vega > DHD
 
Lennyuk
Old
#2  
Lennyuk's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 1374
Posts: 5,646
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Essex, England

 
DONATE TO ME
I have only charged and walked away from my device once (that I can remember) and for whatever reason it either failed to charge or was just charging stupidly slow. I ended up unplugging booting the device and plugging it back in again where it proceeded to charge normally.

Not sure if this is similar to what you describe but it is a strange behaviour while charging even if I have only come across it once so far.
I am some sort of dev and a writer for LandofDroid. I am also a member of HTC Elevate. Was a member of the now defunct "Team Villain" aka VillainRom.

Guide to Unroot LG G3 for OTA
Chromecast System UI Crash Fix

http://forum.xda-developers.com/signaturepics/sigpic2315688_1.gif

Device info:
 
Current: LG G3, Google LG Nexus 5, Chromecast, Acer C720 Chromebook
Retired: HTC One, Google LG Nexus 4, Google Asus Nexus 7 Samsung Galaxy Note II Samsung Galaxy S III, Advent Vega (Tablet), Samsung Galaxy S II, Samsung Galaxy S, HTC Desire Z, HTC Desire HD, HTC Desire, HTC Hero

www.lennyuk.co.uk
Twitter | Google+
Like what I do? help me have a coffee<----- This is a link
 
Schooleydoo
Old
#3  
Schooleydoo's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 250
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: St Albans
Well, there's not much chance of getting a replacement any time soon, so I will just cross my fingers that it needs "running in". Will try rebooting also.

Thanks.
Wizard > Hermes > Kaiser > Blackstone > Leo > Advent Vega > DHD
 
orlok
Old
#4  
Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 57
Join Date: Jul 2006
There are reports of this issue happening, indeed its just happened to me!

Youre not alone and afaik its not a defective device. If i find more info ill let you know

Rgds

Lok
 
TubbyHamster
Old
#5  
Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 76
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Derby, UK
I can only charge mine effectively if I turn the Vega off, if not if charges for a while but then the light just goes out. If the Vega is off it charges fine.

There has been a lot of talk about the sub-standard chargers over at MoDaCo, I keep meaning to try and get a new regulated charger from somewhere and try that.

Maybe this weekend.
CURRENT DEVICES -
Google Nexus 4 (Stock)
B&N Nook HD+ (Carbon Rom)

HISTORY -

SmartPhones:
Sony Ericsson P900, O2 XDA Mini S, T-Mobile MDA Vario 2, O2 XDA Orbit 2, LG Renoir, HTC Diamond, Blackberry 8800, HTC HD2, Sony Xperia Play, ZTE Blade, Nexus S, Nokia Lumia N800, Nokia Lumia 520,

PDA's/Netbooks/Tablets:
Casio Cassiopeia E-125, Psion Series 5, HP IPaq 2400 & HP IPaq 3715, Nokia N770, ASUS EEE PC 701, Samsung NC10, Advent Vega, Nook Color, Nexus 7,
 
Schooleydoo
Old
#6  
Schooleydoo's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 250
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: St Albans
Quote:
Originally Posted by TubbyHamster View Post
I can only charge mine effectively if I turn the Vega off, if not if charges for a while but then the light just goes out. If the Vega is off it charges fine.
Well spotted, now I turn it off before plugging it in, it works fine.

Another annoyance is my screen brightness reverting to default after every boot. I have to go into settings and although the adjustment bar is at max, have to re-set it to max for it to apply. Anyone else?!
Wizard > Hermes > Kaiser > Blackstone > Leo > Advent Vega > DHD
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Port Sony Xperia Themes to CyanogenMod 11 with Ease

In addition the obvious proficiency with graphics, creating agood Android theme … more

Cell Phone SIM Unlock Bill Just Steps Away from President’s Desk

For all those who believe that Cinderella stories don’t actually … more

Get Your Cargo to its Destination in 4×4 Military Operations Reborn

Racing games have evolved quite a bit since the days of Pole … more