Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,770,713 Members 39,362 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Unroot Desire Z (Regarding Recovery Image)

Tip us?
 
djfoo000
Old
(Last edited by djfoo000; 12th January 2011 at 04:16 AM.)
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 25
Posts: 241
Join Date: Jan 2010
Default [Q] Unroot Desire Z (Regarding Recovery Image)

Hi I plan to unroot my phone for warranty purposes.

I'm using a Desire Z with

baseband: 12.28b.60.140eU_26.03.02.26_M
build: 1.34.707.5 CL273326 release-keys
I've rooted the phone using gfree method.

This is what I plan to do:

1) Restore back to stock ROM (done)

2) Restore stock recovery.
- i have extracted the recovery.img from this RUU:
RUU_Vision_HTC_WWE_1.34.405.5_Radio_12.28b.60.140e _26.03.02.26_M_release_155556_signed.exe

- Will be flashing using this guide:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...ht=flash_image

-Yet to flash that .img

3) S-on.
- Using this guide:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/wiki...n#Turning_S-On

4) Restore factory settings.

I have extracted the .img from the RUU i mentioned. My question is whether that .img is flashable on all Desire Zs because it is the same RUU that was featured in the rooting procedure for build 1.72.

I understand that there has been a lot of unrooting threads, but none seem to deal specifically with the compatibility of the recovery image.

Any help is much appreciated.

I'm not sure that if I just skip to S-on then the custom recovery (CWM in this case) will not show up. Does it?
The Following User Says Thank You to djfoo000 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
djfoo000
Old
#2  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 25
Posts: 241
Join Date: Jan 2010
Can anyone help?

I just need to know whether recovery images from different Vision RUUs (except TMOUS ones) are identical and flashable on any Desire Z.

As mentioned I already have a stock recovery.img from a 1.34 RUU, but the location ID might not be the same. Are stock recovery images dependent on location IDs?
 
keinengel
Old
#3  
keinengel's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 28
Posts: 438
Join Date: Dec 2009
The recovery should be completely independent from the CID. If the partitioning scheme is the same (and you can check that by verifying if the sizes of the images that make up your original ROM and those of the RUU are identical) you should be fine.
The Following User Says Thank You to keinengel For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
djfoo000
Old
(Last edited by djfoo000; 12th January 2011 at 10:52 AM.)
#4  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 25
Posts: 241
Join Date: Jan 2010
Cool. I went ahead with flashing the stock recovery and sure enough my phone isn't bricked and when I boot into recovery, it is of a red triangle.

Weirdly enough ROM Manager still tells me I have CWM 2.5.1.3 though...

Guess ppl can start using that recovery.img as a stock recovery.

Thanks a thousand times!

EDIT:
I tried to S-On using the guide on the Wiki but it did not work.

So i tried using terminal emulator to do the following:
Quote:
# cd /data/local
# chmod 777 gfree
# ./gfree -s on
sure enough when i booted into (trackpad + power button) i see it say s-on.

Am i officially 'unrooted' now?

There was supposed to be a 'sync' command after './gfree -s on', but I forgot to do it. Am I still good to go?
The Following User Says Thank You to djfoo000 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
keinengel
Old
#5  
keinengel's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 28
Posts: 438
Join Date: Dec 2009
You're okay. The sync command makes sure the caches are written to disk, but since you are S-ON it means they were written.
 
djfoo000
Old
(Last edited by djfoo000; 15th February 2011 at 01:35 AM.)
#6  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 25
Posts: 241
Join Date: Jan 2010
so if it so happened this phone gets returned to me after warranty claims, so I just

# cd /data/local
# chmod 777 gfree
# ./gfree -s off

to turn it s-off again? Or do I need to go through running rage again?

UPDATE: Got my phone back. Had to re-root the phone all the way from running rage.
 
djfoo000
Old
#7  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 25
Posts: 241
Join Date: Jan 2010
weirdly enough, although the bootloader screen shows S-on, I am still able to use shootme? This means I'm still rooted, am I right?
 
keinengel
Old
#8  
keinengel's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 28
Posts: 438
Join Date: Dec 2009
Yup. Remove the Superuser app and it at least shouldn't be as obvious that you're rooted
 
djfoo000
Old
(Last edited by djfoo000; 12th January 2011 at 01:43 PM.)
#9  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 25
Posts: 241
Join Date: Jan 2010
hrmm superuser doesn't seem to be removable by conventional means... I don't remember installing it either. When I push it to the phone, I pushed it to the sdcard. Now i booted the phone without the sdcard, but superuser is still there...

Do I restore factory settings instead?

EDIT: nvm, Factory reset-ed. Everything looked factory. Wish me luck.
 
joemm
Old
#10  
joemm's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 488
Posts: 1,437
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Surf City USA ....Huntington Beach CA.
Nice, glad everything worked out...
Tmobile SGSIII T999
ROM: Darthstalker Version X
Kernel:Ktoonsze KT747 3/6/13

Tmobile G2 HTC Vision
ROM: Virtuous
Radio:26.08.04.30 Gingerbread Leaked
Kernel: 2.6.32.21-virtuous v2.2.0 rmk

[RADIO]
HTC VISION RADIO's THREAD

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes