Post Reply

[DRIVER PACK] Easy USB ADB Installer for Windows (32/64 bit)

OP thecubed

13th January 2011, 08:51 PM   |  #11  
thecubed's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Austin, TX
Thanks Meter: 7,317
 
954 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rylynmila

It installed fine even though I got this message.

Are you by chance running Windows 7 32-bit?


And as for the links being dead, try disabling your download manager. I see people's download managers trying to do something like 20 concurrent downloads, and my server disallows that.
Last edited by thecubed; 13th January 2011 at 08:54 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to thecubed For This Useful Post: [ View ]
13th January 2011, 09:39 PM   |  #12  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rylynmila

It installed fine even though I got this message.

Hi, I did encounter this similar error as Rylynmila.
BTW, I am running WinXP SP2.
13th January 2011, 10:50 PM   |  #13  
thecubed's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Austin, TX
Thanks Meter: 7,317
 
954 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
Donate to Me
More
Hm, that's strange.. this worked on my XP SP2 machine, I wonder if it's possible that some machines report the architecture differently..

I'll make a quick script that should let me figure this out easier. It's probably just an error in my script's logic for deciding which version to use.
13th January 2011, 10:57 PM   |  #14  
thecubed's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Austin, TX
Thanks Meter: 7,317
 
954 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
Donate to Me
More
EDIT: Newly released version has been uploaded. This should fix the CPU architecture problems.

Ah, well, just found the culprit! My AutoIT script checks the architecture of the CPU itself, not the OS you're running.

On the Windows XP machine I tried it on, the CPU itself is only a 32-bit cpu (Athlon XP 3200+), therefore it reported it right.

I should have used @OSArch rather than @CPUArch in AutoIT. Oops.

I'll make an updated version and release it later today.
Last edited by thecubed; 13th January 2011 at 11:13 PM.
13th January 2011, 11:03 PM   |  #15  
Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
54 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
cant seem to get this working on my 64 bit vista machine.


installed fine, but adb devices shows nothing
13th January 2011, 11:19 PM   |  #16  
thecubed's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Austin, TX
Thanks Meter: 7,317
 
954 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrewLGT

cant seem to get this working on my 64 bit vista machine.


installed fine, but adb devices shows nothing

When the installer came up, did it give you any errors? Check the device manager- you should have an entry for Android Phone -> Android Composite ADB Device.

If you do have that entry, try running
Code:
adb kill-server
then
adb devices
and see what you get.
14th January 2011, 12:10 AM   |  #17  
Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
54 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by thecubed

When the installer came up, did it give you any errors? Check the device manager- you should have an entry for Android Phone -> Android Composite ADB Device.

If you do have that entry, try running

Code:
adb kill-server
then
adb devices
and see what you get.

my wife is using the NC right now, so i'll give that a try when shes done.


i have another question though. i already had adb installed for my phone, now i have it twice. can i combine the two?
14th January 2011, 02:59 AM   |  #18  
thecubed's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Austin, TX
Thanks Meter: 7,317
 
954 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
Donate to Me
More
If you just want the ADB driver, just download the driver only pack.

If you had adb installed already, this will overwrite it if it's installed to c:\android-sdk-windows.
14th January 2011, 05:17 PM   |  #19  
Senior Member
Flag NY
Thanks Meter: 44
 
333 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2008
More
no luck with easy adb
I have xp and followed the directions given in the first post in this thread for the combo pack. I now have a lot of files in c:\android-sdk-windows\ but when I follow these directions (from Nook Devs) I do not get the proper output...
"Start > Run > cmd > Enter
* cd\
* cd android-sdk-windows\platform-tools
* adb kill-server
* adb devices
If you get output that looks like the following you have succeeded:
* daemon not running. starting it now on port 5037 *
* daemon started successfully *
List of devices attached
[YOUR NOOKCOLOR SN] device"

For my output, I get the first three lines but not the
[YOUR NOOKCOLOR SN] device

I looked in Device manager and do not see anything about Android in there. I am obviously an android noob - can anyone help me? Thanks
14th January 2011, 07:27 PM   |  #20  
Disgustoid's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
28 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Can't wait to try this. Thanks!

I consider myself pretty proficient with electronics and computers but I could never get ADB working on my Win7 64 PC no matter which set of instructions I followed. The benefit of this is that I've learned how to use Root Explorer to accomplish a lot of things.

EDIT: This worked perfectly on my PC, although I wasn't prompted to install any drivers. Guessing I had already done so previously trying to get this to work. Thanks much!!
Last edited by Disgustoid; 15th January 2011 at 01:29 AM. Reason: THANKS!!!

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
adb, drivers, easy adb, nook, windows
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes