Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,808,174 Members 36,382 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[DRIVER PACK] Easy USB ADB Installer for Windows (32/64 bit)

Tip us?
 
thecubed
Old
(Last edited by thecubed; 13th January 2011 at 08:54 PM.)
#11  
thecubed's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 5,916
Posts: 916
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Austin, TX

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rylynmila View Post
It installed fine even though I got this message.
Are you by chance running Windows 7 32-bit?


And as for the links being dead, try disabling your download manager. I see people's download managers trying to do something like 20 concurrent downloads, and my server disallows that.
The Following User Says Thank You to thecubed For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Domosan
Old
#12  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rylynmila View Post
It installed fine even though I got this message.
Hi, I did encounter this similar error as Rylynmila.
BTW, I am running WinXP SP2.
 
thecubed
Old
#13  
thecubed's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 5,916
Posts: 916
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Austin, TX

 
DONATE TO ME
Hm, that's strange.. this worked on my XP SP2 machine, I wonder if it's possible that some machines report the architecture differently..

I'll make a quick script that should let me figure this out easier. It's probably just an error in my script's logic for deciding which version to use.
 
thecubed
Old
(Last edited by thecubed; 13th January 2011 at 11:13 PM.)
#14  
thecubed's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 5,916
Posts: 916
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Austin, TX

 
DONATE TO ME
EDIT: Newly released version has been uploaded. This should fix the CPU architecture problems.

Ah, well, just found the culprit! My AutoIT script checks the architecture of the CPU itself, not the OS you're running.

On the Windows XP machine I tried it on, the CPU itself is only a 32-bit cpu (Athlon XP 3200+), therefore it reported it right.

I should have used @OSArch rather than @CPUArch in AutoIT. Oops.

I'll make an updated version and release it later today.
 
DrewLGT
Old
#15  
Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 54
Join Date: Aug 2010
cant seem to get this working on my 64 bit vista machine.


installed fine, but adb devices shows nothing
 
thecubed
Old
#16  
thecubed's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 5,916
Posts: 916
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Austin, TX

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrewLGT View Post
cant seem to get this working on my 64 bit vista machine.


installed fine, but adb devices shows nothing
When the installer came up, did it give you any errors? Check the device manager- you should have an entry for Android Phone -> Android Composite ADB Device.

If you do have that entry, try running
Code:
adb kill-server
then
adb devices
and see what you get.
 
DrewLGT
Old
#17  
Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 54
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by thecubed View Post
When the installer came up, did it give you any errors? Check the device manager- you should have an entry for Android Phone -> Android Composite ADB Device.

If you do have that entry, try running
Code:
adb kill-server
then
adb devices
and see what you get.
my wife is using the NC right now, so i'll give that a try when shes done.


i have another question though. i already had adb installed for my phone, now i have it twice. can i combine the two?
 
thecubed
Old
#18  
thecubed's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 5,916
Posts: 916
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Austin, TX

 
DONATE TO ME
If you just want the ADB driver, just download the driver only pack.

If you had adb installed already, this will overwrite it if it's installed to c:\android-sdk-windows.
 
barbo
Old
#19  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 44
Posts: 333
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: NY
Default no luck with easy adb

I have xp and followed the directions given in the first post in this thread for the combo pack. I now have a lot of files in c:\android-sdk-windows\ but when I follow these directions (from Nook Devs) I do not get the proper output...
"Start > Run > cmd > Enter
* cd\
* cd android-sdk-windows\platform-tools
* adb kill-server
* adb devices
If you get output that looks like the following you have succeeded:
* daemon not running. starting it now on port 5037 *
* daemon started successfully *
List of devices attached
[YOUR NOOKCOLOR SN] device"

For my output, I get the first three lines but not the
[YOUR NOOKCOLOR SN] device

I looked in Device manager and do not see anything about Android in there. I am obviously an android noob - can anyone help me? Thanks
 
Disgustoid
Old
(Last edited by Disgustoid; 15th January 2011 at 01:29 AM.) Reason: THANKS!!!
#20  
Disgustoid's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 28
Join Date: Jun 2010
Can't wait to try this. Thanks!

I consider myself pretty proficient with electronics and computers but I could never get ADB working on my Win7 64 PC no matter which set of instructions I followed. The benefit of this is that I've learned how to use Root Explorer to accomplish a lot of things.

EDIT: This worked perfectly on my PC, although I wasn't prompted to install any drivers. Guessing I had already done so previously trying to get this to work. Thanks much!!

Tags
adb, drivers, easy adb, nook, windows
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes