Android App Review: Google Inbox to Improve Your Life – XDA TV

Recently, Google+ exploded with the announcement of Google Inbox, as … more

Damp the LG G3 Thermal Throttling

As our mobile devices grow thinner and more powerfulwith each passing generation, it’s inevitable … more

Google Play Developer Distribution Agreement Due Tomorrow

Every once in a while, Google updates theGoogle PlayDeveloper Distribution … more

LG to Release Octa-Core “Nuclun” SoC in the LG G3 Screen

LG is set to follow the likes of Samsung and other manufacture its own … more
Post Reply

[Q] Flash ROMs with Odin?

OP rawfa

13th January 2011, 09:43 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Flag Rio de Janeiro
Thanks Meter: 14
 
596 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
Ok, I've read the other threads that say Odin is only for flashin to stock ROM, but I have a problem and I cannot flash in recovery mode. Is there a way I can flash other roms with Odin? I'd very much like to flash my Vibrant to Nero V3's or froyos.
Last edited by rawfa; 13th January 2011 at 11:25 AM.
13th January 2011, 12:39 PM   |  #2  
Mr. Apocalypse's Avatar
Retired Recognized Developer
Flag Houston, Tx
Thanks Meter: 1,476
 
1,676 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2009
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rawfa

Ok, I've read the other threads that say Odin is only for flashin to stock ROM, but I have a problem and I cannot flash in recovery mode. Is there a way I can flash other roms with Odin? I'd very much like to flash my Vibrant to Nero V3's or froyos.

No...Odin is just for stock....but why cant you use ClockworkMod recovery ?

Sent from my XDA app cuz I'm stalking your mom....
13th January 2011, 02:20 PM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Flag Rio de Janeiro
Thanks Meter: 14
 
596 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
Here is says otherwise http://androidforums.com/vibrant-all...ding-fine.html

But I´m having trouble when I start in recovery mode because it won´t let me select the option to reinstall packages.
13th January 2011, 04:09 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Flag Atlanta
Thanks Meter: 92
 
554 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2006
Donate to Me
More
You can install or flash any rom with ODIN as long as you have the correct files.
13th January 2011, 04:13 PM   |  #5  
Mr. Apocalypse's Avatar
Retired Recognized Developer
Flag Houston, Tx
Thanks Meter: 1,476
 
1,676 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2009
Donate to Me
More
Most custom ROMS are only released in CWM flashable files....I've never seen any custom roms released in .tar for Odin...

Sent from my XDA app cuz I'm stalking your mom....
13th January 2011, 05:32 PM   |  #6  
OP Senior Member
Flag Rio de Janeiro
Thanks Meter: 14
 
596 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
I´ve just flashed my Vibrant to Eugene´s froyo with Odin.
4th February 2011, 03:57 PM   |  #7  
bartek25's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag lONGISLAND
Thanks Meter: 92
 
1,026 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
More
so whats the reason we cant flash custom roms through odin ? cwm is ehhh odin makes it clean and freas \hhhhhh
4th February 2011, 07:23 PM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Flag Chicago
Thanks Meter: 107
 
1,030 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bartek25

so whats the reason we cant flash custom roms through odin ? cwm is ehhh odin makes it clean and freas \hhhhhh

No real reason so long as you have the TAR files for the ROM you wish to flash as ZIP files don't work. CWM is superior in my view because it doesn't require a cable / computer to do the flashing. Either the cable / computer could fail during the flash, potentially soft/hard bricking your phone plus ODIN just seems more finicky at times.
Last edited by epakrat75; 4th February 2011 at 07:25 PM.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
flash nero v3 with odin
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes