MX Player Ready to Rock on Lollipop

A good video player should be reliable and free. One of the XDA Community Apps, MX Player, meets both of … more

How to Disable Data Encryption on Nexus 6

In late September, Google decided to step on NSA’s toes and turn on encryption by default in … more

DJI Phantom 2 Vision+ Review – XDA TV

The holidays will be here in no time, so why not start thinking about gifts now? Youll be ahead … more

Mozilla Ditches Google, Makes Yahoo Default Search Engine

Mozilla and Google have had a long-standing relationship of about 10 years. Google … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Flash ROMs with Odin?

OP rawfa

13th January 2011, 10:43 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Flag Rio de Janeiro
Thanks Meter: 14
 
600 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
Ok, I've read the other threads that say Odin is only for flashin to stock ROM, but I have a problem and I cannot flash in recovery mode. Is there a way I can flash other roms with Odin? I'd very much like to flash my Vibrant to Nero V3's or froyos.
Last edited by rawfa; 13th January 2011 at 12:25 PM.
13th January 2011, 01:39 PM   |  #2  
Mr. Apocalypse's Avatar
Retired Recognized Developer
Flag Houston, Tx
Thanks Meter: 1,503
 
1,681 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2009
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rawfa

Ok, I've read the other threads that say Odin is only for flashin to stock ROM, but I have a problem and I cannot flash in recovery mode. Is there a way I can flash other roms with Odin? I'd very much like to flash my Vibrant to Nero V3's or froyos.

No...Odin is just for stock....but why cant you use ClockworkMod recovery ?

Sent from my XDA app cuz I'm stalking your mom....
13th January 2011, 03:20 PM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Flag Rio de Janeiro
Thanks Meter: 14
 
600 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
Here is says otherwise http://androidforums.com/vibrant-all...ding-fine.html

But I´m having trouble when I start in recovery mode because it won´t let me select the option to reinstall packages.
13th January 2011, 05:09 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Flag Atlanta
Thanks Meter: 92
 
554 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2006
Donate to Me
More
You can install or flash any rom with ODIN as long as you have the correct files.
13th January 2011, 05:13 PM   |  #5  
Mr. Apocalypse's Avatar
Retired Recognized Developer
Flag Houston, Tx
Thanks Meter: 1,503
 
1,681 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2009
Donate to Me
More
Most custom ROMS are only released in CWM flashable files....I've never seen any custom roms released in .tar for Odin...

Sent from my XDA app cuz I'm stalking your mom....
13th January 2011, 06:32 PM   |  #6  
OP Senior Member
Flag Rio de Janeiro
Thanks Meter: 14
 
600 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
I´ve just flashed my Vibrant to Eugene´s froyo with Odin.
4th February 2011, 04:57 PM   |  #7  
bartek25's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag lONGISLAND
Thanks Meter: 92
 
1,026 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
More
so whats the reason we cant flash custom roms through odin ? cwm is ehhh odin makes it clean and freas \hhhhhh
4th February 2011, 08:23 PM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Flag Chicago
Thanks Meter: 107
 
1,030 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bartek25

so whats the reason we cant flash custom roms through odin ? cwm is ehhh odin makes it clean and freas \hhhhhh

No real reason so long as you have the TAR files for the ROM you wish to flash as ZIP files don't work. CWM is superior in my view because it doesn't require a cable / computer to do the flashing. Either the cable / computer could fail during the flash, potentially soft/hard bricking your phone plus ODIN just seems more finicky at times.
Last edited by epakrat75; 4th February 2011 at 08:25 PM.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
flash nero v3 with odin
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes