Post Reply

[GUIDE] Unlock Froyo 2.2 I9000 Galaxy S manually

OP Happy Hunter

14th December 2010, 04:21 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Flag Montreal
Thanks Meter: 16
 
27 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
Just updated post with more details, I hope someone will find it more useful. As always make sure you have a backup, make a backup of your nv_data.bin BEFORE editing.

I was not able to unlock my phone Froyo 2.2 I9000M phone running I9000UGJK4 firmware by using this official thread http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=761045
and after few hours of searching I found this method which worked for me from first attempt.

I give all the credits for this idea to cursor2010 from http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...&postcount=156

Here are the detailed steps

* Your phone must be rooted (I used SuperOneClick http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=803682) to do this unlocking and busybox from market is installed
* Get the archive file from first post of this topic. The archive contains ADB software which we will use to connect to the phone.
* Turn On USB debugging Application->Settings->Application->Development
* Follow the instructions of STEP 4 from http://www.communityhosting.net/sgsunlock/i9000.html to get your nv_data.bin to your PC

Get your current nv_data.bin file from the /efs directory on your phone. This can be done with ADB. Most often, the nv_data.bin file is not readable and you will get a permission denied message. You'll need to enter the commands manually.
To do this with ADB, from the DOS command prompt you can type:

adb pull /efs/nv_data.bin

If you receive a permission denied error, you can fix it by typing the following commands from an ADB shell (type "adb shell" at the DOS command prompt) or from within a terminal on the phone:

adb shell
su
chmod 777 /efs/nv_data.bin
exit
exit


Then from the DOS command prompt:

adb pull /efs/nv_data.bin

Using Hex editor edit the file ( you can use any hex editor, http://www.logitheque.com/logiciels/...thexa_9903.htm for example). I personally use UltraEdit.

Attachment 464171

At the offset of 180069H you will see your provider MCC and MNC codes see http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mobile_Network_Code

In my case the code was 30261020404... which is Bell Canada, so I changed 610 to 720 Rogers Canada now the code is 30272020404...

Again the offset in the file is 180069H.

Save the file on the pc.

* Follow the instructions from http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...&postcount=107

Copy your nv_data.bin to temporary folder on your phone:

adb shell "mkdir /sdcard/efs"
adb push nv_data.bin /sdcard/efs
adb shell
su
ls -l -a /efs


If there is an nv_data.bin.md5 file in the directory, all is well. You should continue with these commands:

mv /efs/.nv_data.bak /efs/.nv_data.bakk
mv /efs/.nv_data.bak.md5 /efs/.nv_data.bakk.md5
rm /efs/nv_data.bin
rm /efs/nv_data.bin.md5
rm /efs/.nv2.bak
rm /efs/.nv2.bak.md5
busybox cp /sdcard/efs/nv_data.bin /efs/nv_data.bin
chmod 755 /efs/nv_data.bin
chown radio.radio /efs/nv_data.bin
exit
exit

if you have errors on the chown command, use
chown 1001.1001 /efs/nv_data.bin


If there was no nv_data.bin.md5 file, then something is wrong and you'll need to see other options or reflash again with a known working ROM that generates a new MD5 file when it's missing.

* Reboot the phone, it should not ask any unlock codes or anything, in my case it simply just registered on Rogers network

* Obviously you also need to program your APN settings for Rogers from http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=809003 to make your 3G working. For your own provider please search forum.

I wish it would be much simpler or automated or tested on bigger variety of phones.If somebody could gather the statistics and check if this method is applicable throughout all the versions of I9000, that would be very nice.

Feel free to comment my post.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	UEdit.jpg
Views:	1515
Size:	62.1 KB
ID:	489662  
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Happy Hunter For This Useful Post: [ View ]
23rd December 2010, 05:32 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 47
 
374 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phams0

I had problems unlocking too. But the little trick that Happy Hunter posted worked. The phone is now locked to fido instead of bell.
I guess my phone is one of the newer builds. That's why the original unlocking method doesn't work.

I bought it a few days ago from Bell.
Model number: GT-I9000M
Firmware Version: 2.2
Baseband Version: I9000UGJK4
Kernel Version: 2.6.32.9 shout.lee@SEP-09 #1
Build number: Froyo.UGJK4

in hex editor on phone jump to address look for 00181460 looked in the colums on the right of 00181460 and saw
ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff 01 00 00 00 so i changed 01 to 00
that will make your phone sim free, u dont have to edit to lock just one network, i already try this tricked while leaving 610 as bell in the nv_data file, after i changed to 00 my rogers sim now work, so i assume it will work with other sims also
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to dawen For This Useful Post: [ View ]
9th January 2011, 07:57 PM   |  #3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
in my case this method did not work,
I try something different:
I changed too nv_data.bak and delete nv_data.bin.md5 and nv_data.bak.md5 and now my phone is unlocked
Last edited by AllGamer; 14th January 2011 at 08:09 PM.
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to bizkopt For This Useful Post: [ View ]
14th January 2011, 07:37 PM   |  #4  
AllGamer's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator
Flag buried under loads of work IRL
Thanks Meter: 1,579
 
11,521 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
Donate to Me
More
This is such a great written guide, i'd have been a shame to have it get lost inside that unlock topic

so I made it a topic of its own for all the new people trying to unlock Froyo


NOTE: in some HEX editor the offset reads as 181460
Last edited by AllGamer; 14th January 2011 at 07:42 PM.
14th January 2011, 08:08 PM   |  #5  
AllGamer's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator
Flag buried under loads of work IRL
Thanks Meter: 1,579
 
11,521 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bizkopt

in my case this method did not work,
I try something different:
I changed too nv_data.bak and delete nv_data.bin.md5 and nv_data.bak.md5 and now my phone is unlocked

LOL !!!!

i can't believe it, this is the most ridiculous "lock' ever

i tried it and it truely works

just delete the files and it automatically becomes SIM free, it wont even ask you for the PIN

tried with 3 different SIM cards, all of them can call out and access to 3G

The Following User Says Thank You to AllGamer For This Useful Post: [ View ]
15th January 2011, 04:16 AM   |  #6  
sjavvaji's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 19
 
336 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bizkopt

in my case this method did not work,
I try something different:
I changed too nv_data.bak and delete nv_data.bin.md5 and nv_data.bak.md5 and now my phone is unlocked

there is no friggin way it is that simple...isnt ur imei or some other pertinent info store in the files?
15th January 2011, 03:54 PM   |  #7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
I can confirm this works, been using it for a month to switch vibrants over to Fido and Rogers.
16th January 2011, 06:59 PM   |  #8  
Member
Flag Vancouver
Thanks Meter: 6
 
84 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dawen

in hex editor on phone jump to address look for 00181460 looked in the colums on the right of 00181460 and saw
ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff 01 00 00 00 so i changed 01 to 00
that will make your phone sim free, u dont have to edit to lock just one network, i already try this tricked while leaving 610 as bell in the nv_data file, after i changed to 00 my rogers sim now work, so i assume it will work with other sims also

This worked great for me. Thanks!
16th January 2011, 09:14 PM   |  #9  
AllGamer's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator
Flag buried under loads of work IRL
Thanks Meter: 1,579
 
11,521 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sjavvaji

there is no friggin way it is that simple...isnt ur imei or some other pertinent info store in the files?

it is really that easy

i couldn't believe it myself either
16th January 2011, 11:40 PM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Flag londonderry
Thanks Meter: 173
 
2,149 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
so does that mean hex editing is unecessary.. since that would seem to inidicate that it would then be locked to whatever provider you change the code too.. So dont bother editing the file,,, just delete the files, as a side does still know when you are roming or not when you do it with this method.. i kinda doubt it?

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Galaxy S I9000 Android Development by ThreadRank