Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,729,749 Members 50,174 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[HOW TO] Custom Ringtones and Notifications

Tip us?
 
the_scotsman
Old
(Last edited by the_scotsman; 16th January 2011 at 09:26 AM.)
#1  
the_scotsman's Avatar
Assistant Forum Admin / Moderator Committee / Haggis Muncher - OP
Thanks Meter 8931
Posts: 22,889
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: NSW, Australia Likes: Anything alcoholic or caffeinated

 
DONATE TO ME
Default [HOW TO] Custom Ringtones and Notifications

Just a heads up for anyone else new to WP7. You can add custom ringtones to your HD2 WP7 using Chevron Custom Ringtone Manager.

Your phone has to be Chevron unlocked for this to work. Also, your mp3s need to be converted to WMA 48KHz format. This can be done easily with Microsoft Expression Encoder 4.
I've shown here how to convert using this tool:



Once converted, you'll find the WMA file in C:\Users\xxx\Documents\Expression\Expression Encoder\Output. Now run the Chevron Ringtone manager, browse to your WMA file, and click Build Ringtone XAP.

Then install the XAP the same way as you do with any other. I recommend Tom XAP Installer.

For alarms and alerts, there's an two extra steps involved. You must rename your WMA file to Alert-01.WMA (or which ever one you want to replace). Note your original one will be overwritten.
Once you have copied it to your phone, you need to install TouchExplorer. use this to move your Alert-01.WMA file from My Documents/My Ringtones into /Windows.


------------------------------------------------

An alternative is to sync your music with Zune, and then use TouchExplorer to copy one of your MP3s from My Documents/Zune/Content/xxx folder and put it into your My Ringtones folder. This works too

I've tested both methods and they both work great.

If you have any problems with it, just ask and I'll try to help.
The Following 13 Users Say Thank You to the_scotsman For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
bla166
Old
#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 9
Join Date: Oct 2008
Its also possible to copy mp3 files to My ringtones folder, I checked it by copying a random mp3 file from zune folder =)

I wonder if you can add extra alert or alarm files by just using higher numbers instead replacing the files? Didnt try this yet because it takes ages to load the windows folder...
Why the hell did MS use the folder to store all the files without any sub folders =S
The Following User Says Thank You to bla166 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
the_scotsman
Old
#3  
the_scotsman's Avatar
Assistant Forum Admin / Moderator Committee / Haggis Muncher - OP
Thanks Meter 8931
Posts: 22,889
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: NSW, Australia Likes: Anything alcoholic or caffeinated

 
DONATE TO ME
Does the mp3 work as a ringtone? I didn't think this worked.
 
bla166
Old
#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 9
Join Date: Oct 2008
yep using it without a problem =)
 
Laynee1
Old
#5  
Laynee1's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 76
Posts: 1,218
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Belgrade
Quote:
Originally Posted by bla166 View Post
yep using it without a problem =)
i think you are using wma not mp3 rite ?
If you find my post useful or i helped you, hit thanks button.. Not necessarily, but would like to

Phone: Nexus 4. Not yet rooted
Rom: Stock
Kernel: Stock
 
the_scotsman
Old
#6  
the_scotsman's Avatar
Assistant Forum Admin / Moderator Committee / Haggis Muncher - OP
Thanks Meter 8931
Posts: 22,889
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: NSW, Australia Likes: Anything alcoholic or caffeinated

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Laynee1 View Post
i think you are using wma not mp3 rite ?
No, I just tested MP3 and it works
 
Laynee1
Old
#7  
Laynee1's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 76
Posts: 1,218
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Belgrade
How ? What you did ?
If you find my post useful or i helped you, hit thanks button.. Not necessarily, but would like to

Phone: Nexus 4. Not yet rooted
Rom: Stock
Kernel: Stock
 
the_scotsman
Old
#8  
the_scotsman's Avatar
Assistant Forum Admin / Moderator Committee / Haggis Muncher - OP
Thanks Meter 8931
Posts: 22,889
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: NSW, Australia Likes: Anything alcoholic or caffeinated

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Laynee1 View Post
How ? What you did ?
Read the first post again.
 
CrAzYiaN
Old
#9  
CrAzYiaN's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 24
Posts: 193
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Bridgeton, NJ

 
DONATE TO ME
any idea on how to delete the ringtone? it's making weird noise no idea why tho..
|HTC Leo HD2l
SPL:Hard-SPL3 2.08.HSPL
ROM: DFT LEO70
OS: Windows Phone 7
Radio: 2.15.50.14
Sim Lock: Unlocked

Network: T-mobile


If i helped Press the Thanks Buttons
 
arkatis
Old
#10  
arkatis's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 415
Posts: 1,059
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Cyprus-Nicosia
Quote:
Originally Posted by bla166 View Post
Its also possible to copy mp3 files to My ringtones folder, I checked it by copying a random mp3 file from zune folder =)

I wonder if you can add extra alert or alarm files by just using higher numbers instead replacing the files? Didnt try this yet because it takes ages to load the windows folder...
Why the hell did MS use the folder to store all the files without any sub folders =S
It works....Thanks mate!!!!!!!!!!!!
I love XDA. QUIETLY BRILLIANT!

MY HTC HD2 Rom here:
[12/07/2012] Arkat-DoubleSense v.4.0 [Marcs1706 0.2.2] {FASTEST SENSE 2.1 FOR HD2}

MY HTC SENSATION ROM:
Unavailable. (sold device)

I am a flash-a-holic!

HTC DEVICES THAT I OWNED:
3x HTC HD2 Leo and 1 HD2 TMobile US
HTC HD7
HTC SENSATION
HTC DESIRE HD
Wildfire s

Current Devices:
HTC ONE X





Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes