Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Do you need Root access to flash a kernal?

OP mull54

16th January 2011, 11:27 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
105 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Do you need Root access to flash a kernal?
16th January 2011, 11:32 AM   |  #2  
Account currently disabled
Flag XDA Sucks !
Thanks Meter: 2,023
 
5,043 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mull54

Do you need Root access to flash a kernal?

no not really although there are many benefits of rooting,

if you are flashing a kernal you seem to be in to the whole modding thing, why dont u root aswell ?
16th January 2011, 11:55 AM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
105 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
I had root before i Flashed the 2.2.1 JPY. And the Hardcore's kernal contains root i think.
16th January 2011, 12:09 PM   |  #4  
Account currently disabled
Flag XDA Sucks !
Thanks Meter: 2,023
 
5,043 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mull54

I had root before i Flashed the 2.2.1 JPY. And the Hardcore's kernal contains root i think.

yes i have that kernal too, it roots in about 1 second, option to unroot as well. i like that kernal battery consumption is great, and speed is exceptional ( my opinion) i say go for it !!!!
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes