Post Reply

[MOD]Dual Touch FOR EVERY app

OP iridaki

20th January 2011, 04:11 AM   |  #1  
iridaki's Avatar
OP Retired Forum Moderator / Recognized Themer
Flag Edinburgh, Scotland
Thanks Meter: 4,659
 
3,692 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2007
Donate to Me
More
So, I installed the latest DT kernel from SE in my X10 using this trick (Thanks Bin4ry!!!).

I am currently on stock SE ROM,
2.0.A.0.504, and I noticed that dual touch was not working on every app, but only on some third-party apps.

So, I did some research and found out how to enable it in every app that supports it!

It is very easy!

FIRST FLASH THE LATEST KERNEL, AS DESCRIBED HERE!

And then...

[ROOT REQUIRED]

Step 1 (Optional, according to
arkedk
, thanks for pointing out! However, I did it on my phone, it doesn't cause any trouble and I haven't personally tested this method without it)
  • Using Root Explorer, navigate to /system, press the Mount R/W button, find build.prop, long press on it and select "Open in Text Editor".
  • After the last entry, add the following lines:
Quote:

ro.product.multi_touch_enabled=true
ro.product.max_num_touch=2

  • Press Menu, then Save and Exit.
  • Delete the build.pro.bak that was created (or move it to your sd card, if you want to keep a backup)

Step 2

  • Download this file (rapidshare mirror) and, using Root Explorer, copy it to /etc/permissions. Then, long press on it, select Permissions and make sure that these options are checked: the whole first column and the first from the second.


  • Exit Root Explorer and reboot.

DONE!!!! Try it on Google Maps!

Oh! And consider pressing the "Thank You" button if I made your life a little better! LOL!


22/1/2011: Thanks to the kind member who donated to me generously! :)
And I would love if he/she contacted me via PM so I will know the nickname, because on the Paypal receipt I only see his/her full name!
Last edited by iridaki; 6th February 2011 at 01:24 PM.
The Following 461 Users Say Thank You to iridaki For This Useful Post: [ View ]
20th January 2011, 04:27 AM   |  #2  
batman_112's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Muscat
Thanks Meter: 333
 
1,550 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Donate to Me
More
Works in stock browser and Google maps. But, still does not work in Mediascape. Anyway to get that working too?

Good job!
Last edited by batman_112; 20th January 2011 at 05:01 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to batman_112 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
20th January 2011, 04:31 AM   |  #3  
iridaki's Avatar
OP Retired Forum Moderator / Recognized Themer
Flag Edinburgh, Scotland
Thanks Meter: 4,659
 
3,692 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2007
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by batman_112

Works in browser and Google maps. But, still does not work in Mediascape. Anyway to get that working too?

Good job!

The Mediascape app does not support it, unfortunately.
Maybe we can push the newest mediascape.apk from the Domoco ROM.
The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to iridaki For This Useful Post: [ View ]
20th January 2011, 04:32 AM   |  #4  
Member
Flag Bangalore
Thanks Meter: 9
 
86 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
It works
Thanks Mate.... Great to have you on XDA
20th January 2011, 04:32 AM   |  #5  
Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
85 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
working perfectly

thanks alot
The Following User Says Thank You to bsthost For This Useful Post: [ View ]
20th January 2011, 04:33 AM   |  #6  
batman_112's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Muscat
Thanks Meter: 333
 
1,550 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by My_Immortal

...What for?

Was reserved for my comments!

Can someone upload the mediscape.apk from the Docomo please?
20th January 2011, 04:33 AM   |  #7  
iridaki's Avatar
OP Retired Forum Moderator / Recognized Themer
Flag Edinburgh, Scotland
Thanks Meter: 4,659
 
3,692 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2007
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sharathx10

It works
Thanks Mate.... Great to have you on XDA

Actually, I am a girl,
but still... really glad I helped!
Last edited by iridaki; 20th January 2011 at 04:39 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to iridaki For This Useful Post: [ View ]
20th January 2011, 04:43 AM   |  #8  
batman_112's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Muscat
Thanks Meter: 333
 
1,550 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by My_Immortal

Actually, I am a girl,
but still... really glad I helped!

WOW! I was wondering if there were any girls on this site! Good job my lady!
Last edited by batman_112; 20th January 2011 at 04:47 AM.
20th January 2011, 04:44 AM   |  #9  
kishen80's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Cameron Highland
Thanks Meter: 220
 
848 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by batman_112

Was reserved for my comments!

Can someone upload the mediscape.apk from the Docomo please?

Iam using it,but not woking.its the same.


Sent from my SO-01B using XDA App
20th January 2011, 04:52 AM   |  #10  
iridaki's Avatar
OP Retired Forum Moderator / Recognized Themer
Flag Edinburgh, Scotland
Thanks Meter: 4,659
 
3,692 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2007
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kishen80

Iam using it,but not woking.its the same.


Sent from my SO-01B using XDA App

Then, maybe Mediascape will implement dual touch with the upcoming UXP update, later on...

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
dual touch
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes