Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[MOD]data2ext for CM7

OP daniel60104

20th January 2011, 06:05 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Los Angeles
Thanks Meter: 77
 
298 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Donate to Me
More
Hey guys!

Just thought this would be handy for anybody with higher-class SD cards.

Keep in mind that I did NOT create the data2ext script, and BlaY0 from Legend forum was the one who came up with it in his roms, so kudos to him for making it

NOTE: a2ext and data2ext, choose ONE. You cannot run them together.

What is data2ext?
Similar to a2ext, where data/app were stored inside your ext partition of the SD card, data2ext stores the whole /data inside your ext partition.


What does that mean?
That means your internal storage will barely be used, and because nowadays higher-class SD cards runs faster than your internal memory, your phone will be able to crank out some insane benchmarks.

Requirements?
1. A good sd card with ext2/ext3 partition. suggested with at least 512MB of it (but not over 2GB, otherwise trouble will arise)
2. For now I think this will only work on the CM7 nightlies. I'll make one for CM6 if it is ever needed.

Instructions?
1. Flash it
2. Make your ext2 block size 4kb (done so by doing adb shell mke2fs -m0 -b4096 /dev/block/mmcblk0p2)
3. Go to your terminal emulator/adb shell to type data2ext --enable
4. Reboot
5. Wait some time. Files will be copied over, so the reboot will be slow.
6. Go check your storage and see how much you got :P

Since I was unable to run quadrant from cm7, here's the bench results done w/ 3rdsense:


I bare no responsibility for your phone breaking if you do decide to do this and something went wrong!

Enjoy.
Attached Files
File Type: zip data2ext_for_CM.zip - [Click for QR Code] (152.4 KB, 2534 views)
Last edited by daniel60104; 23rd January 2011 at 09:44 PM.
The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to daniel60104 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
20th January 2011, 07:20 AM   |  #2  
dbzfanatic's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 282
 
1,063 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Donate to Me
More
Ha, nice. I was waiting for something like this. Now I have a new ROM, new kernel, and new extension to play with. Gonna be a fun night. Thanks ^_^
20th January 2011, 08:01 AM   |  #3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
24 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
O.o I must say, this was the thing I was waiting for the first time I rooted my phone so long ago.

I thank you good sir, assuming this works
20th January 2011, 04:06 PM   |  #4  
dbzfanatic's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 282
 
1,063 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Donate to Me
More
It works just fine, I scored a 1641 on CM7 with miguel's new kernel OCed at 864.
20th January 2011, 05:02 PM   |  #5  
SKAm69's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 62
 
573 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2009
More
Can't enable data2ext. Although I type just like it wants.
20th January 2011, 05:37 PM   |  #6  
dbzfanatic's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 282
 
1,063 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Donate to Me
More
What's the exact error it gives you?
21st January 2011, 12:07 AM   |  #7  
purple1's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Dallas, Tx
Thanks Meter: 40
 
551 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
Can I use an 8gig memory card?

Sent from my T-Mobile myTouch 3G Slide using XDA App
21st January 2011, 12:31 AM   |  #8  
OP Senior Member
Los Angeles
Thanks Meter: 77
 
298 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by purple1

Can I use an 8gig memory card?

Sent from my T-Mobile myTouch 3G Slide using XDA App

What matters is your sd card class, and the ext partition.
21st January 2011, 03:57 AM   |  #9  
JDV28's Avatar
Senior Member
Chicago
Thanks Meter: 85
 
645 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
if i have s-off (if its needed) how can I put that command into terminal emulator??
21st January 2011, 04:13 AM   |  #10  
dbzfanatic's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 282
 
1,063 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Donate to Me
More
You type it? you open terminal emulator and type it in?

The Following User Says Thank You to dbzfanatic For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes