Microsoft to Counter “OK Google” with Bing Torque

When Microsoft is making apps for Android, users should be aware that something … more

Google Confirms “Android Lollipop Day” for November 3rd

A little over a week ago, Google announced the latest iteration of … more

Get Your XDA 2015 Custom Avatar and Signature Images Here

As stated in our motto, XDA Developer is for developers, by developers. The … more

Pin Your Photos on Android Lollipop with Photo Pinner

In the last few weeks,we have been talking quite a bit about Android 5.0 Lollipop. This … more
Post Reply

Swype beta

OP vampir4997

20th January 2011, 03:14 PM   |  #1  
vampir4997's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 244
 
1,475 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Swype beta open and works great on shift!

Sent from my PG06100 using XDA App
25th January 2011, 01:57 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
218 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2006
http://beta.swype.com

I've been using it too, but I did notice that after a reboot or on occasion that it won't swype unless you switch to another keyboard first, type something, and then switch back.
25th January 2011, 04:30 PM   |  #3  
zeropants's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bloomington, IL
Thanks Meter: 27
 
594 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by silex

http://beta.swype.com

I've been using it too, but I did notice that after a reboot or on occasion that it won't swype unless you switch to another keyboard first, type something, and then switch back.

Same thing here. But, it's working 98% of the time. I have been using it as my main soft keyboard and it's been solid enough to keep going.
26th January 2011, 02:58 AM   |  #4  
EricSS619's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag San Diego
Thanks Meter: 21
 
557 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by silex

http://beta.swype.com

I've been using it too, but I did notice that after a reboot or on occasion that it won't swype unless you switch to another keyboard first, type something, and then switch back.

Had the same problem, not sure what causes it.

Sent from my PG06100 using XDA App
26th January 2011, 03:11 AM   |  #5  
cloverdale's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Washington DC
Thanks Meter: 147
 
1,597 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2009
All you need to do is uncheck swype, press home, go back to keyboard settings and enable swype. Then it works. No need to type with another keyboard.
26th January 2011, 10:52 PM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
218 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2006
Angry
Quote:
Originally Posted by cloverdale

All you need to do is uncheck swype, press home, go back to keyboard settings and enable swype. Then it works. No need to type with another keyboard.

Both methods appear to work. Pick your poison!
27th January 2011, 02:45 AM   |  #7  
jesusice's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,038
 
3,022 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by cloverdale

All you need to do is uncheck swype, press home, go back to keyboard settings and enable swype. Then it works. No need to type with another keyboard.

Slightly quicker: In text box just change input method to any other keyboard then change right back to Swype. Don't have to leave the text box.
27th January 2011, 11:43 AM   |  #8  
cloverdale's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Washington DC
Thanks Meter: 147
 
1,597 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by jesusice

Slightly quicker: In text box just change input method to any other keyboard then change right back to Swype. Don't have to leave the text box.

Very nice. Thanks.
27th January 2011, 08:03 PM   |  #9  
fifedogg's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 99
 
692 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
More
The full version of Swype works perfect and better than the beta. It can be found for free if you know where to look
27th January 2011, 08:08 PM   |  #10  
cloverdale's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Washington DC
Thanks Meter: 147
 
1,597 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by fifedogg

The full version of Swype works perfect and better than the beta. It can be found for free if you know where to look

There is no full version yet. Check the swype website.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes