[Q] getting the mesmerize in a few days!!! adb help

Search This thread

BakedTator

Jan 8, 2011
hello xda!!! been doing alot of reading here and desided that i wanted to be part of the action...with that said...

did some reading on how to get clockworkmod on the mesmerize and have no clue how in gods name to use adb...is there a how to that could help me better understand how to use it and get this on my phone after i have it rooted...soory for the noob question but as you can see. im a noob at this. only phone i have really modded is the samsung acclaim (which btw is a weak phone but good for the noobie droid user) so any help is greatly appreciated. thanks in advance guys and i look forword to helping devs by testing and such:D

dcow90

Retired Recognized Developer
Aug 21, 2009
San Francisco
dcow.me
adb, or android debug bridge, is a tool distributed with the android sdk. In current versions of the sdk, it is located in the platform-tools folder, which only appears after you download the sdk tools after downloading the sdk zip itself.

It should be noted that usb debugging needs to be enabled on your device in order for adb to work properly. This can be turned on under: Applications > Development

To use adb, you open up a command window if on windows or a terminal emulator if on linux or mac. Type:
adb <command> [options]
Where command is any one of the commands listed when typing "adb help" and options are things like file names, paths, or other flags.

Common commands include:
pull
push
shell

pull copies a file on your device to your current working directory (or the optional specified location)
push copies a file from your computer onto the device
shell invokes a simple shell on your device allowing you work in a linux like environment on your device
There is a reboot command that is sometimes helpful but that can always be done using the power button on the device.

You will probably only use push and shell.
Examples:
adb shell