Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,738,867 Members 41,411 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

bricked it

Tip us?
 
Mustard23
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: Jan 2011
Default bricked it

So I picked an A7 last night at compusa. I tried to install the rom so I can run the google market place after rebooting it would just flash elocity on the screen and then reboot. So I got booted in to recovery mode and went to re-flash it with the latest firmware. Now when I power it on on the screen powers on for a split second and then powers down and I can't get it in to recovery mode. Well It's going back to the store to get exchanged. Any ideas on when I did wrong so I won't do it to the next one?
 
hextor_dark
Old
#2  
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 33
Join Date: Jan 2011
Only press and hold bottom power for 10-15 seg
 
mingkee
Old
(Last edited by mingkee; 22nd January 2011 at 09:12 PM.)
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 237
Posts: 1,709
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Press and hold the power button for 15-25 seconds till you see the robot, then touch the home to enter recovery.
search: move up
return: move down
home: enter recovery
menu: select

MAKE SURE you clear the cache before and after ROM installation. You may have to do system wipe (factory reset) as well.
 
ninetoes49
Old
#4  
Member
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 53
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: mi
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mustard23 View Post
So I picked an A7 last night at compusa. I tried to install the rom so I can run the google market place after rebooting it would just flash elocity on the screen and then reboot. So I got booted in to recovery mode and went to re-flash it with the latest firmware. Now when I power it on on the screen powers on for a split second and then powers down and I can't get it in to recovery mode. Well It's going back to the store to get exchanged. Any ideas on when I did wrong so I won't do it to the next one?
I did the same thing to mine. I did not clear the old data out before i flashed the new. After I cleared data out and reflashed it was fine.
Press power like you were turning on the device until the green lights come on
Release, then press (and hold?) power until you see "Hold Power for Recovery Mode" on the screen
Release, then press and hold power again until you see the recovery menu start to boot
It will reboot to an android with an exclamation point, this is the recovery menu
Then to navigate this screen, use HOME to display the menu text, Search = Up, Back = Down, Menu = enter.

go down and wipe data/reset
it will confirm thats what you want to do
then get back to menu and apply sdcard: update zip
it will do a little bit then go up to reboot system now
and apply and it
hope that helps
 
Mustard23
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: Jan 2011
So I tried for several hours last night to get in to recovery mode. All I could do was get the screen to flash for a split second then stay blank. Took it back to the compUSA store today and they exchanged it no questions asked. So I tried flashing the mod again today something on the getting to the elocity screen and rebooting. But I got it back in to recovery reset it to factory defaults and flashed it to the newest firmware update and I was good. So the newest update comes with apps that can only be bought in the marketplace.. What is up with that?
 
Mustard23
Old
#6  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by ninetoes49 View Post
I did the same thing to mine. I did not clear the old data out before i flashed the new. After I cleared data out and reflashed it was fine.
Press power like you were turning on the device until the green lights come on
Release, then press (and hold?) power until you see "Hold Power for Recovery Mode" on the screen
Release, then press and hold power again until you see the recovery menu start to boot
It will reboot to an android with an exclamation point, this is the recovery menu
Then to navigate this screen, use HOME to display the menu text, Search = Up, Back = Down, Menu = enter.

go down and wipe data/reset
it will confirm thats what you want to do
then get back to menu and apply sdcard: update zip
it will do a little bit then go up to reboot system now
and apply and it
hope that helps
got it to work thanks.. still not sure why the first one wouldn't boot or go in to recovery.. but I'm good now.
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Browse the Internet with the Innovative Atlas Web Browser

For the most part, Chrome, Firefox, and Dolphin Browser have no real rivals among … more

Choose from Over a Thousand Battery Styles with 3Minit Battery Mod

The battery style in stock Android looks pretty dull. It doesn’t … more

Organize Your Cloud Storage Files with Unclouded

Cloud storage services like Dropbox or Google Drive have grown in popularity dramatically … more

XDA Xposed Tuesday: Blur Your System Notification Panel – XDA Developer TV

Listen, we love innovative applications and modules that … more