FORUMS

XPrivacy for Android Lollipop – XDA Xposed Tuesday

Have you ever been on the Google Play Store and saw an app that you wanted to … more

How a HTC Droid Eris Changed a Members Life

Rarely can a member say that Android development or XDA had a profound effect on … more

XDA Office Space: Frankenstein’s Perfect IM Client?

The portal’s decentralized XDA office lies in a Hangouts chatroom, where … more

Which IM Client on Android is best?

With so many different messengers to choose from, it can be tough to find the best one for you and … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

Want Better 4G Signal? Do This

23rd January 2011, 05:58 PM |#1  
OP Senior Member
Atlanta, GA
Thanks Meter: 84
 
Donate to Me
More
http://webupon.com/web-talk/epic-4g-...-boost/?ref=nf
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	device15.png
Views:	6786
Size:	24.4 KB
ID:	498197   Click image for larger version

Name:	getprop.png
Views:	4528
Size:	6.3 KB
ID:	498201  
Last edited by gokuman56; 22nd August 2011 at 12:02 AM. Reason: More info
The Following 56 Users Say Thank You to gokuman56 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
23rd January 2011, 06:28 PM |#2  
lynyrd65's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Tulsa
Thanks Meter: 173
 
More
Firstly, My understanding is that what this will do is modify the minimum signal strength the phone will connect to down to -110db. When the phone is connected at this signal (-110db) does data still work sufficiently well or does it drop packets?

Secondly, could this same sort of modification be done to the cdma radio?
Last edited by lynyrd65; 23rd January 2011 at 06:32 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to lynyrd65 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
23rd January 2011, 07:28 PM |#3  
OP Senior Member
Atlanta, GA
Thanks Meter: 84
 
Donate to Me
More
It works sufficiently well, you will not notice a speed drop at all, you will probably get a small speed increase, but your 4G signal strength will increase drastically if you follow the steps. For the CDMA Radio, you can increase 3G speeds, by following these steps:
1. Know the MSL
2. Dial ##3282#
3. Go to multimedia
4. HTTPPD Proxy Port must be 0
5. HTTPPD Proxy Address must be 0.0.0.0

It may be already done if you have a Custom ROM, but this will boost your 3G speed by about .5 mbps, which is pretty good
The Following User Says Thank You to gokuman56 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
23rd January 2011, 07:48 PM |#4  
Jayavarman's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 44
 
More
When I try to edit the values, my 4G gets disconnected, and the value is not saved.
23rd January 2011, 07:57 PM |#5  
OP Senior Member
Atlanta, GA
Thanks Meter: 84
 
Donate to Me
More
It does disconnect and reconnect but the values are supposed to stay changed, are you sure you are following the steps completely right?
23rd January 2011, 08:00 PM |#6  
Jayavarman's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 44
 
More
My phone is stock ROM. Does it need to be rooted or something beforehand?
23rd January 2011, 08:01 PM |#7  
OP Senior Member
Atlanta, GA
Thanks Meter: 84
 
Donate to Me
More
Yes, I think that might be the problem. My phone is rooted and the values save.
23rd January 2011, 09:29 PM |#8  
decalex's Avatar
Recognized Themer
Flag Orange County, CA
Thanks Meter: 1,452
 
Donate to Me
More
I'm rooted -- DK28 running Truly Epic (ext4)
When I ##3282#, I get a menu with View and Edit.

When I hit Edit, it asks for MSL (which I enter). Then at the bottom, there's a wimax option, but the options after that don't follow your instructions.

When you say 4G radio has to be on, does it have to be actually connected? I'm in an area where I don't get 4G... I'll try it when I get into range later on.
23rd January 2011, 09:55 PM |#9  
running_the_dream's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Dub C
Thanks Meter: 83
 
More
@decalex - yeah I think 4g has to be on before you start the process. I'm not sure you'll get any values if not.

@goku- thanks for this thread. I just did it and noticed a pretty substantial increase in my 4g speed. Before the test, I pulled just around 3.9-4.0mbps on speedtes.net. After I did this, I'm getting around 6.5mbps. Big thanks. I'm on my phone or I would send a thanks your way

Thx has been sent
Last edited by running_the_dream; 24th January 2011 at 05:02 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to running_the_dream For This Useful Post: [ View ]
23rd January 2011, 10:02 PM |#10  
OP Senior Member
Atlanta, GA
Thanks Meter: 84
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by decalex

I'm rooted -- DK28 running Truly Epic (ext4)
When I ##3282#, I get a menu with View and Edit.

When I hit Edit, it asks for MSL (which I enter). Then at the bottom, there's a wimax option, but the options after that don't follow your instructions.

When you say 4G radio has to be on, does it have to be actually connected? I'm in an area where I don't get 4G... I'll try it when I get into range later on.

Yeah, 4G has to be on, and this hack is for places with spotty coverage. Try it when you get in range and see the difference!
The Following User Says Thank You to gokuman56 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes