Unofficial Android 4.4 Lands on Three Mediatek Devices

For the last few years, devices with MTK systems-on-chip haven’t received much … more

MultiImagePicker Library for Multiple Image Selection

App developmentcan be done in more than a handful of ways. You can write every single … more

Shoot Troubles, Not Users w/ Alex Boag-Munroe – XDA:DevCon 2014

In presenting the various sessions from XDA:DevCon 2014, weve mainly … more

Oppo Releases ColorOS for the Find 5… Poorly

Almost every OEM has taken the liberty of creating its own incarnation of the Android OS. … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

HTC EVO 4G won't boot, can't go into recovery mode, still able to access fastboot

OP dizzle247

24th January 2011, 02:27 AM   |  #1  
dizzle247's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Flag Washington ST
Thanks Meter: 1
 
20 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2006
More
I was running calkulin's rom on my evo but I decided to give cyanogen a run for its money. I was successful in installing cyanogen 6.1, and when i went to go install the addons, they didn't install properly for whatever reason. I went back into recovery mode and did a wipe of the device and went to install a fresh install of culkulin .. but instead of selecting the item "install zip from sd card" i selected "install update.zip" even though I didn't have an update.zip on my device.

After it tried to do that, it asked me if i wanted to reboot, i selected yes, and now i can't get into recovery mode. I can get into fastboot, but when i try and select recovery, it goes to the white HTC EVO 4G screen, then it goes to the screen with the phone, a red triangle with the exclamation point. If i press vol up + power, it brings up the menu to install from update.zip, wipe cache, wipe data, and reboot. I've selected all the options, i'm LOST.

i'm on a 2010 macbook pro .. I have windows 7 installed via VMware but it doesn't want to recognize my phone.

I was able to install adb on my mac, but it still can't recognize the phone. Any help is much appreciated, i don't want a $300 paper weight. Thanks!
24th January 2011, 02:41 AM   |  #2  
Recognized Developer
Flag Walnutport, PA
Thanks Meter: 41
 
1,088 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
Donate to Me
More
Somehow your recovery might have been overwritten. Download a recovery image, go into fastboot and run the following command:

fastboot flash recovery recovery.img

Where recovery.img equals the filename of the recovery image.
24th January 2011, 02:49 AM   |  #3  
triscuit1983's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Laurel
Thanks Meter: 288
 
616 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
Donate to Me
More
Amon_RA has a PC36IMG.zip of his recovery so you don't have to use command prompt at all, just go to bootloader and flash.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=705026
The Following User Says Thank You to triscuit1983 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
24th January 2011, 02:54 AM   |  #4  
dizzle247's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Flag Washington ST
Thanks Meter: 1
 
20 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2006
More
i don't have a way to access the commands via terminal or dos to my phone. my computer can't recognize my device .. i'd prefer to do this via OSX because W7 via vmware isn't stable on my machine.

where can i download a custom image .. i may be able to run it via unrevoked, but when i run unrevoked, it gives me the error Device "- exec'/system/bin/sh' failed: No such file or directory (2) -" is not supported at this time.
24th January 2011, 02:58 AM   |  #5  
sshark's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 37
 
653 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2008
More
Sounds like recovery is corrupted, download pc36000.img fkr amon_ra 2.2.1, put it into your root folder of sd card and give it go from fastboot.

I am typing name of recovery from my memory, so it can be wrong.

I read other posts about typing fastboot recovery installation commands, but you have said your adb is not working, so give this a try.

Sent from my PC36100 using XDA App
24th January 2011, 03:02 AM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Flag Queens, NY
Thanks Meter: 58
 
219 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
I'm not sure how to get adb running on the mac but it should be fairly easy. I'd read up on getting your phone connected with adb/fastboot then get the custom recovery img file.

Then you'll do:

fastboot flash recovery recovery.img

(I'm not sure if amon has a readily available image file but you can get the img file for clockworkmod for the evo here: http://www.koushikdutta.com/2010/02/...ery-image.html

Just click the evo link, copy it to your fastboot folder and rename it to recovery.img just to make it easier.

Edit, if you have an sdcard apater (or maybe put the card in a digital camera or something so you can access it) you can put this PC36IMG.zip file on it: http://www.mediafire.com/file/s3vsgf...hs/PC36IMG.zip

then boot your phone with boot loader, it'll scan the file and hit volume up to apply the update.
24th January 2011, 05:06 AM   |  #7  
dallastx's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Dallas TX
Thanks Meter: 100
 
857 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2008
More
Had issue yesterday, my phone would boot directly to fastboot. My issue was a corrupted SD card. I bought a new one and it did the same thing but was able to reformat and it works! Never had this issue until i start pushing dalvich cache to SD. Anyhow check your SD card, try another on see if you can boot a zip from fast boot.
24th January 2011, 02:51 PM   |  #8  
dizzle247's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Flag Washington ST
Thanks Meter: 1
 
20 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2006
More
i tried that and it works perfectly! I was able to get a custom rom loaded onto my device and boot up, then i re-ran unrevoked so i could get that custom recovery so i could reload one of my past back ups.

Worked like a charm!
24th January 2011, 03:07 PM   |  #9  
triscuit1983's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Laurel
Thanks Meter: 288
 
616 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dizzle247

i tried that and it works perfectly! I was able to get a custom rom loaded onto my device and boot up, then i re-ran unrevoked so i could get that custom recovery so i could reload one of my past back ups.

Worked like a charm!

Glad to hear. Disaster averted
8th February 2011, 02:30 AM   |  #10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
12 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by dizzle247

i tried that and it works perfectly! I was able to get a custom rom loaded onto my device and boot up, then i re-ran unrevoked so i could get that custom recovery so i could reload one of my past back ups.

Worked like a charm!

He never said what worked. I am having the same issue and would like to know what worked.

Im actually stuck on the htc evo screen. I can access fastboot as well. Where do i go from there.
Last edited by 1smoothcat; 8th February 2011 at 03:00 PM.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes