Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
View Poll Results: Was this thread usefull for you?
Yes 1,434 94.22%
No 88 5.78%
Voters: 1522. You may not vote on this poll

Post Reply

[25NOV][FLASHTOOL GUIDE] HOW TO for n00bies - G-FACE GUIDE

OP Crowds

25th March 2011, 04:35 PM   |  #351  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
19 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by rendeiro2005

no.
you need to install your current rom and then restore from xrecovery.

if you try to restore your current one on another rom you`ll have MD5 mismatch

you can`t restore a windows7 on xp do you?

Ok,
thanks a lot!!

Now, if I understand correctly:
I have to flash the device with my own recently done ftf
(or by using SE Companion)
then I have to re-root it with flashtool,
reinstall freexperia
and then, booting in xrecovery,
I can restore my rom from the backup I made
and I get the system correctly configured again ?

So, if I'm not wrong, xrecovery backup is not a full rom backup image.

Will Nandroid do a full rom backup image
allowing for a one-step rom restore between CM6 and previously made SE backupped ones?

Many thanks in advance
25th March 2011, 04:53 PM   |  #352  
Crowds's Avatar
OP Recognized Contributor
Flag Azeitão
Thanks Meter: 2,132
 
3,662 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ginoscopesce

Ok,
thanks a lot!!

Now, if I understand correctly:
I have to flash the device with my own recently done ftf
(or by using SE Companion)
then I have to re-root it with flashtool,
reinstall freexperia
and then, booting in xrecovery,
I can restore my rom from the backup I made
and I get the system correctly configured again ?

So, if I'm not wrong, xrecovery backup is not a full rom backup image.

Will Nandroid do a full rom backup image
allowing for a one-step rom restore between CM6 and previously made SE backupped ones?

Many thanks in advance

you`re half right.

you can`t run a full recovery per-si ...

...but you can make your own rom from .img files (if you go to your xrecovery folder you`ll see 4 .img files and use system one to do that) so that way install directly your backup rom.
Go HERE to use that great tool from DooMLoRD that should work also on your mini

if you don`t use that way, the only option you have is through SEUS/PCC/flashtool
25th March 2011, 06:06 PM   |  #353  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
I'm terribly sorry if the following has been asked many times before but I'm unable to figure out what I'm doing wrong when trying to upgrade from 1.6 to 2.1:

I have the AT&T version of the X10, downloaded the flasher tool and firmware X10a_2.1update1_r2.1.A.0.435_Generic.ftf (which I moved into the firmwares folder).

I start the process by clicking the flash button, then follow instructions to unplug phone, power it off, hold back button, and plug it back in. Then nothing happens -- the message I see in the flasher tool log is "ERROR - Please install or reinstall device drivers from drivers folder." Then, after a minute or so (still holding down back button), the message reads "ERROR - Please plug you device in flash mode."

Can someone point out what I need to do?

thanks a lot in advance,
Rudy
25th March 2011, 06:08 PM   |  #354  
Crowds's Avatar
OP Recognized Contributor
Flag Azeitão
Thanks Meter: 2,132
 
3,662 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2008
Donate to Me
More
release back button right after green LED appear.
if still can`t do repeat the process.


Quote:
Originally Posted by donelly duck eclair

I'm terribly sorry if the following has been asked many times before but I'm unable to figure out what I'm doing wrong when trying to upgrade from 1.6 to 2.1:

I have the AT&T version of the X10, downloaded the flasher tool and firmware X10a_2.1update1_r2.1.A.0.435_Generic.ftf (which I moved into the firmwares folder).

I start the process by clicking the flash button, then follow instructions to unplug phone, power it off, hold back button, and plug it back in. Then nothing happens -- the message I see in the flasher tool log is "ERROR - Please install or reinstall device drivers from drivers folder." Then, after a minute or so (still holding down back button), the message reads "ERROR - Please plug you device in flash mode."

Can someone point out what I need to do?

thanks a lot in advance,
Rudy

25th March 2011, 06:25 PM   |  #355  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by rendeiro2005

release back button right after green LED appear.
if still can`t do repeat the process.

I needed to install the device drivers, then I was able to successfully upgrade.
25th March 2011, 07:05 PM   |  #356  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
19 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by rendeiro2005

you`re half right.

you can`t run a full recovery per-si ...

...but you can make your own rom from .img files (if you go to your xrecovery folder you`ll see 4 .img files and use system one to do that) so that way install directly your backup rom

In my xrecovery folder I have 3 .img files:
system.img, data.img and cache.img (and a nandroid.md5 file)
I can extract the .img using unyaffs and I get a bunch of files and folders.
Sorry, probably we are going too much beyond my skills here,
because I don't know how I can use all these files to make a single rom image file and to flash then the phone...
(any futher link will be appreciated in order to learn more...)

Quote:
Originally Posted by rendeiro2005

if you don`t use that way, the only option you have is through SEUS/PCC/flashtool

So, this means that I can in any case do the following:
- PC-companion -> flash SE 2.1.1.A.0.6
- flashtool -> root and then xrecovery install
- xrecovery -> restore from my backup files on sd
And this workflow will work?

Thanks a lot
26th March 2011, 04:09 AM   |  #357  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Thanx to the folks that made this flashtool and showed us how to do it. It worked perfect for me and I am so glad to be off 1.6 now. I only had 1 problem when done. I couldn;t connect to AT&T data network. I could make calls & text & get on wifi, but no 3g network. I tried several things in my network settings but no luck. Then I found a thread about APN settings. Someone posted the APN settings for AT&T. So i out them in manually & now I am good to go. Not sure if that was discussed in this thread or not or I just missed it when I read how to flash. But she working good now. Thanx
26th March 2011, 07:14 AM   |  #358  
CM-PRo's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Mumbai
Thanks Meter: 341
 
496 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
Thanks a lot for your help.....worked great!
27th March 2011, 01:10 PM   |  #359  
Senior Member
Flag naaldwijk
Thanks Meter: 167
 
408 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
thanks man i use it all the time now! fantastic work
27th March 2011, 05:09 PM   |  #360  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Many many many many thank's from italy... with this guide i have debranded X10 Mini Pro! THANKS

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes