Post Reply

Archos 101 one-click-root for firmware 2.0.71 using Archangel

28th January 2011, 01:10 PM   |  #161  
cajl's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag near PARIS (94)
Thanks Meter: 167
 
838 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
Donate to Me
More
the new APK is ok
on all Archos Gen 8 !
28th January 2011, 03:25 PM   |  #162  
wdl1908's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 156
 
384 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by cajl

the new APK is ok
on all Archos Gen 8 !

And ok means what?
28th January 2011, 04:31 PM   |  #163  
Junior Member
Flag Paris
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by wdl1908

And ok means what?

Only that's the V2 is working on his Gen8.
cajl don't really care about security.
28th January 2011, 05:24 PM   |  #164  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
edit.....found my answer
Last edited by 327ci; 28th January 2011 at 06:01 PM.
28th January 2011, 05:38 PM   |  #165  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
22 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by wdl1908

Nice. A pitty my wifi router is just crap for this kind of thing.

So you have a setup that should be able to get the tcpdump we need to see if something fishy is going on.

Are you a brave person? Are you willing to test the archangel with a tcpdump running to see what it sends on the network?

I upgrade my A70 to 2.1.02. And test the ver 1 root utility with tcpdump on those IP packets.
During root, there are lots of arp request & lots of ntpv4 update, but I didn't see suspicious IP addresses. And I reboot it and observe the permanent root activities. Still nothing odds that'd catch my eyes.

So my verdict is that it is safe.
Last edited by louis chan; 28th January 2011 at 05:43 PM.
28th January 2011, 06:52 PM   |  #166  
wdl1908's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 156
 
384 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by louis chan

I upgrade my A70 to 2.1.02. And test the ver 1 root utility with tcpdump on those IP packets.
During root, there are lots of arp request & lots of ntpv4 update, but I didn't see suspicious IP addresses. And I reboot it and observe the permanent root activities. Still nothing odds that'd catch my eyes.

So my verdict is that it is safe.

A buddy of mine has a linux PC that is configured as router. I asked him if we could test the setup and do a tcpdump of the traffic.

I can confirm there are no other packets being send/received than just ARP and NTPv4 packets.

So i agree with "louis chan".
28th January 2011, 07:12 PM   |  #167  
Cthugha's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
64 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2009
More
Do backup and restore with Titanium Backup work after getting root using this exploit?
28th January 2011, 07:22 PM   |  #168  
wdl1908's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 156
 
384 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cthugha

Do backup and restore with Titanium Backup work after getting root using this exploit?

Yes they do but it seems the archos busybox has some problems so you have to use the Problems button in Titanium backup to install a proper busybox.
The Following User Says Thank You to wdl1908 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
28th January 2011, 07:56 PM   |  #169  
wdl1908's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 156
 
384 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
So I think now the fun can begin I started a new thread for the custom scripts that can be used with Archangel.

So please post your scripts here http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=10965161
28th January 2011, 08:38 PM   |  #170  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
130 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2007
More
so at this point are we saying the root apk is a go? at least for back up purposes?

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
archangel, root
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes