FORUMS

What Features Do You Look for in a Gallery App?

With so many different options to choose from, finding the right Gallery app may be a … more

Google Photos ‘Unlimited’ Storage Reportedly Being Capped

When Google Photos was announced, many of us thought very highly … more

Sprint Moves to Lift Video Streaming Limit for All-In

Yesterday, Sprint announced a new unlimited scheme that offered customers an … more

Xiaomi Releases Kernel Source Code For Mi4i

If you’ve been following the XDA News Portal lately, you might have noticed an … more

Archos 101 one-click-root for firmware 2.0.71 using Archangel

4 posts
Thanks Meter: 20
 
By archaism1, Junior Member on 25th January 2011, 06:40 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
9th August 2011, 05:01 AM |#391  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
@marioluigi123 - What rexdog1888 mentioned is a very legitimate threat and is common in malicious software, you are correct that there is little exposure, but some exposure is still exposure and that logic is not very secure


After reading through all the pages I decided I would dig a little (especially since I just ordered an Archos 101 IT and was interested)

Below is my first pass at getting some source, I'm sure it's not complete but I didn't have time to validate my results

Package: com.archaism.rt
Code: pastebin.com/BxqzNvsv
Notes: Shows exploit method but not contents of su or ls

Package: com.noshufou.android.su
Code: pastebin.com/aE71NM66
Notes: Contents of su?

I figured I would use a service like pastebin instead of pasting the >5000 lines of code

Update: Confirming what others have posted in this thread, ls is clearly obfuscated, will look at it more later

Obfuscating code (in this application) is typically used to hide malicious activity or to delay the manufacture from patching
Last edited by remmargorp; 9th August 2011 at 05:46 AM.
 
 
21st September 2011, 06:52 PM |#392  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
is it work on 2.4.19 with android 2.2.1: Generation 8 ?
21st September 2011, 07:01 PM |#393  
Lenn's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Lippstadt
Thanks Meter: 174
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by nimafire

is it work on 2.4.19 with android 2.2.1: Generation 8 ?

No
I am the one who chulri redirected your thread to
So can we write there?

Greets,
Lenn
21st September 2011, 07:05 PM |#394  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
how are you Lenn
yes can you help me on that topic?
26th November 2011, 03:33 PM |#395  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
archangel
if it helps, as soon as i get my new archos 70 gen8, I'll be happy to try out this. unless off course it may do some permanent damage to my device
26th November 2011, 04:00 PM |#396  
Draky50110's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 26
 
Donate to Me
More
No damage, but does NOT work with latest firmwares
27th November 2011, 10:48 AM |#397  
Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
actually it works after upgrade to recent FWs , 2.4.65 at least
i found that putting Archos connected to PC via USB, or just plugged to the charger, then restart device - it somehow manage to root the device

Currently i cannot show this anymore, because i wiped my device , but i think that it was possible because i have installed Archangel on 2.1.08 and after that i only applied upgrades

I even suspect that Archangel was somehow "guilty" and didn't allow me to upgrade to latest 2.4.80 (it always fail on "checking update file validity" with msg :
Sorry, an unexpected error occured (code 112))
3rd March 2012, 12:29 PM |#398  
DSH's Avatar
Junior Member
Flag 021
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Does it work on arnova 10 G2?
3rd March 2012, 01:06 PM |#399  
Draky50110's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 26
 
Donate to Me
More
Long time from working...
No root on Archos / Arnova except with SDE install...
24th August 2012, 03:02 PM |#400  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Location Archos 70 IT2 sous froyo
Quote:
Originally Posted by cajl

no problem
on all Archos Gen 8 - I have these 5 Archos gen 8

if you have more projects for Archos, send me a MP

Moi j'ai l'archos 70 it2 sous froyo. As tu essayeé avec celle-ci et sinon peut on la rooter d'une autre manière ? J'ai acheter le cable USB host pour 16 euros avec une puissance délivrée de 0mA (j'ai vérifié dans sys/bus/USb/devices/...) donc j'aimerais bien changer ça
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
archangel, root
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes