Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,781,559 Members 40,661 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[ROOT] Howto root easily your Gen8 device [fw 2.0.71 - 2.4.83] + R/W FILESYSTEM

Tip us?
 
chrulri
Old
(Last edited by chrulri; 28th March 2012 at 01:43 AM.) Reason: 2.4.83 fw
#1  
chrulri's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 275
Posts: 896
Join Date: Dec 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Angry [ROOT] Howto root easily your Gen8 device [fw 2.0.71 - 2.4.83] + R/W FILESYSTEM

Hello community

First of all, thanks to dogmaphobia for his initial work (click for fw 2.0.71)

Don't forget: I'm not responsible for anything
Installing SDE or rooting your Archos device in any way may or definitly will void your warranty. You can find more information about it on the Archos website: link

Now here we go, you need four things:
  1. An Archos Gen8 device (e.g. A101IT)
  2. Archos Firmware
    - 2.1.02: [Archos server]
    - 2.1.03: [Archos server, Mirror #1]
    - 2.1.04: [Archos server, Mirror #1]
    - 2.1.08: [Archos server]
    - 2.3.20: [Archos server]
    - 2.3.26: [Archos server]
    - 2.3.81: [Archos server]
    - 2.4.19: [Archos server]
    - 2.4.65: [Archos server]
    - 2.4.80: [Archos server]
    - 2.4.81: [Archos server]
    - 2.4.82: [Archos server]
    - 2.4.83: [Archos server]
  3. Archos SDE
    - [Archos server], [Mirror #1]
  4. Rooted initramfs + kernel
    - [fw 2.0.71 +rw]
    - [fw 2.1.02]
    - [fw 2.1.02 +rw]
    - [fw 2.1.03]
    - [fw 2.1.03 +rw]
    - [fw 2.1.04]
    - [fw 2.1.04 +rw]
    - [fw 2.1.08]
    - [fw 2.1.08 +rw]
    - [fw 2.3.20]
    - [fw 2.3.20 +rw]
    - [fw 2.3.26]
    - [fw 2.3.26 +rw]
    - [fw 2.3.81]
    - [fw 2.3.81 +rw]
    - [fw 2.4.19]
    - [fw 2.4.19 +rw]
    - [fw 2.4.65]
    - [fw 2.4.65 +rw]
    - [fw 2.4.80]
    - [fw 2.4.80 +rw]
    - [fw 2.4.81]
    - [fw 2.4.81 +rw]
    - [fw 2.4.82]
    - [fw 2.4.82 +rw]
    - [fw 2.4.83]
    - [fw 2.4.83 +rw]

*: +rw = permanent root, changes to filesystem will be stored in /dev/mmcblk0p2. it has ~30 megabytes free, this should be sufficient for most changes and scripts.
BE CAREFULLY: if you delete or corrupt important system files and aren't able to boot anymore, you have to flash the "non-rw" root kernel+initramfs, go to /mnt/system/unionfs and remove the changes.

Then you have to the following:
  1. Install SDE (you only have to do this only once, it will even survive a full reformat)
    • reboot Archos device and hold down "Vol-" button after screen went black
    • choose "Update Firmware"
    • connect your Archos device by USB to your computer
    • upload the SDE firmware file to your device
    • safely disconnect the USB connection
    • press ok on Archos device
    • reboot
  2. Install android firmware
    • reboot Archos device and hold down "Vol-" button after screen went black
    • choose "Update Firmware"
    • connect your Archos device by usb to your computer
    • upload the Android firmware file to your device
    • safely disconnect the USB connection
    • press ok on Archos device
    • reboot
  3. Install the custom kernel + initramfs
    • reboot Archos device and hold down "Vol-" button after screen went black
    • Go to "Recovery Menu" and then "Developer Edition Menu"
    • choose "Flash Kernel and Initramfs"
    • connect your Archos device by USB to your computer
    • upload zImage and initramfs.cpio.gz to your device
    • safely disconnect the USB connection
    • press ok on Archos device
    • reboot and hold down "Vol-" button after screen went black
    • choose "Developer Edition"
    now you have temporary root (you always have to boot "Developer Edition" to get root again)
  4. (optional!) permanent root
    thus it will boot always the custom kernel (to revert, reinstall Android firmware)
    • reboot Archos device and hold down "Vol-" button after screen went black
    • Go to "Recovery Menu" and then "Developer Edition Menu"
    • choose "Remove Android Kernel"
    • reboot

For Updates:
Just go like this:
Quote:
Originally Posted by chulri View Post
@Techngro
I was in the same situation as you are: 2.1.03 and permanent root.
Then did a firmware upgrade from the rescue menu, flashed the new kernel and initramfs and removed again the stock android kernel --> working

If it says "update failed" the aos file might be corrupt
Have fun!

Big thanks to jfmcbrayer for helping me out!

Links for developers:
The Following 54 Users Say Thank You to chrulri For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
chemical1der
Old
#2  
chemical1der's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 16
Posts: 154
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Iron
Quick Question: If I remove Android's kernel would I also get rid of the firmware?

TIA!
 
chrulri
Old
#3  
chrulri's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 275
Posts: 896
Join Date: Dec 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by chemical1der View Post
Quick Question: If I remove Android's kernel would I also get rid of the firmware?
No, of course it does not. Because if it would, what should the device boot then?
The Following User Says Thank You to chrulri For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
chemical1der
Old
#4  
chemical1der's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 16
Posts: 154
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Iron
that's what i thought. my Archos gave me a rather ominous warning about removing the kernel. i'm used to flashing kernels on my DINC but am brand new to doing so on my Archos. thanks for the quick response and the root solution!
 
mule5
Old
#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 5
Join Date: Jan 2011
Thumbs up Update and temp-root worked on Archos 32

Quote:
Originally Posted by chulri View Post
...
You need four things:
  1. An Archos Gen8 device (e.g. A101IT)
  2. Firmware 2.1.02
  3. Archos SDE
  4. My custom initramfs + kernel
* Sorry - can't post links - me = newbie here - lol

Many thanks for the links and the how to...

My first android device, first time flash/upgrade (2 weeks old). Took a guess that when uploading the files, they just go onto the root, it wasn't mentioned anywhere. Figured if it was the wrong location, nothing would be damaged.

Worked like a charm, even though I messed up the order due to file naming issues, downloaded in the order listed above, so file and file(2) were in the wrong order . Both the firmware and SDE have the same filename, and I mixed them up on upload the first time due to listed and downloaded order above, but it just updated the firmware to 2.1.2, saved all my applications and settings. I then went back, put on the SDE, missed the reboot Vol- and it loaded the alt-OS Armstrong or something , rebooted and did the firmware again just to be funny, then the temp-root, and it all work really well.

I luckily didn't brick it, although it took a super long time at the archos boot screen after the first push of firmware 2.1.2, seemed hung, so I restarted it, and it booted, checked and was upgraded. Not sure if I farked the process by restarting it while in that Archos boot screen or not, not sure if it was actually doing anything after 10 minutes, so took the chance. The firmware update progress bar goes quick, just took ages on that reboot. I hope it wasn't trying to convert the fs or something.

My quadrant score is still the same, between 1328 - 1447 depending on junk running in background when testing.

Market and Youtube
I had installed the market using that gApps4Archos2.apk when on 2.0.71 then killing the youtube.apk and downloading it from the market. Didn't have to do anything after the 2.1.2 firmware update this time since everything was in place. Tested youtube and it works.

SMB
Also tested the SMB issues that I and others were having, and they are not resolved. I can pull media from a Vista and XP accessing shares via SMB, but after playing a couple videos, it give either media server error, or file incomplete or damaged error. If I clear the media library and reboot, I can play those same files again until something is overloaded. Long files names, paths, or mixed, nested both seem to quicken the need for a reboot in my case. I have not tested on my debian box to see if it is a windows (mainly Vista) thing or not. I have noted that once I get these media server errors, even locally stored video give the error until rebooted. FWIW.

Mount
/dev/block/mmcblk0p1 on /mnt/rawfs type rawfs (rw)
/dev/block/mmcblk0p2 on /mnt/system type ext3 (rw,nosuid,noexec,noatime,errors=continue,data=ord ered)
/dev/block/mmcblk0p4 on /data type ext3 (rw,nosuid,noatime,errors=continue,data=ordered)

At least the battery now can reach 100% and show "charged" instead of only reaching 99%. That is a plus.

Thanks again, I am just coming up to speed on this device and look forward to hacking it. I wonder if I can safely disassemble and upgrade the storage to a high speed mmc.
dmesg: mmc0: card is mmc v4 but doesn't support any high-speed modes.

this is going to be fun....

Keep up the great work...
The Following User Says Thank You to mule5 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Veritas06
Old
(Last edited by Veritas06; 27th January 2011 at 05:37 AM.)
#6  
Veritas06's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 517
Join Date: Mar 2008
To do this, do you each step right after the other? I was going to allow my 101 to boot into the newly installed 2.1.02 after a full system wipe but i'm getting a bootloop when trying to start.

EDIT: Followed from the beginning again (already had the SDE firmware installed), & still ends in bootloops =\ Guess i'm trying a few more times but i was wondering if anyone else had success?
 
Tesla74
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 49
Posts: 227
Join Date: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Veritas06 View Post
To do this, do you each step right after the other? I was going to allow my 101 to boot into the newly installed 2.1.02 after a full system wipe but i'm getting a bootloop when trying to start.

EDIT: Followed from the beginning again (already had the SDE firmware installed), & still ends in bootloops =\ Guess i'm trying a few more times but i was wondering if anyone else had success?
This has nothing to do with rooting.. it is a problem many are having, including myself with the new firmware. It might be because the kernel is a little bigger and it won't fit in some boot partitions that may have bad blocks. I've contacted Archos support so they know of the problem and hopefully they'll get a fix out soon.
The Following User Says Thank You to Tesla74 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
carlochiefsg
Old
#8  
Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 68
Join Date: Dec 2010
good job!

But Rotating the device took about 10 seconds for the home screen to update all the icons. Any way to imporve the speed?

Thanks much for help!

Quote:
Originally Posted by chulri View Post
Hello community

First of all, thanks to dogmaphobia for his initial work (click)

Don't forget: I'm not responsible for anything

Now here we go:
You need four things:
  1. An Archos Gen8 device (e.g. A101IT)
  2. Firmware 2.1.02 ([Archos server], [Mirror #1])
  3. Archos SDE ([Archos server], [Mirror #1])
  4. My custom initramfs + kernel ([archos-gen8-dvb project], [Mirror #1])

Then you have to the following:
  1. Install SDE (you only have to do this only once, it will even survive a full reformat)
    • reboot Archos device and hold down "Vol-" button after screen went black
    • choose "Update Firmware"
    • connect your Archos device by USB to your computer
    • upload the SDE firmware file to your device
    • safely disconnect the USB connection
    • press ok on Archos device
    • reboot
  2. Install android firmware 2.1.02
    • reboot Archos device and hold down "Vol-" button after screen went black
    • choose "Update Firmware"
    • connect your Archos device by usb to your computer
    • upload the Android firmware file to your device
    • safely disconnect the USB connection
    • press ok on Archos device
    • reboot
  3. Install the custom kernel + initramfs
    • reboot Archos device and hold down "Vol-" button after screen went black
    • Go to "Recovery Menu" and then "Developer Edition Menu"
    • choose "Flash Kernel and Initramfs"
    • connect your Archos device by USB to your computer
    • upload zImage and initramfs.cpio.gz to your device
    • safely disconnect the USB connection
    • press ok on Archos device
    • reboot and hold down "Vol-" button after screen went black
    • choose "Developer Edition"
    now you have temporary root (you always have to boot "Developer Edition" to get root again)
  4. (optional!) permanent root
    thus it will boot always the custom kernel (to revert, reinstall Android firmware)
    • reboot Archos device and hold down "Vol-" button after screen went black
    • Go to "Recovery Menu" and then "Developer Edition Menu"
    • choose "Remove Android Kernel"
    • reboot

Have fun!
 
Veritas06
Old
#9  
Veritas06's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 517
Join Date: Mar 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tesla74 View Post
This has nothing to do with rooting.. it is a problem many are having, including myself with the new firmware. It might be because the kernel is a little bigger and it won't fit in some boot partitions that may have bad blocks. I've contacted Archos support so they know of the problem and hopefully they'll get a fix out soon.
Thanks for the heads up. I have an EVO so i've seen users with bad blocks but assumed this was after flashing a few dozen times, guess i was wrong =\. Hopefully we'll see a modified update soon.

Thanks again!
 
rUmtifUsel
Old
#10  
Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 57
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Hannover
sorry for the noobish question...

does this method gain full root access to the system partition, so that adfree, rootexplorer, ... will work correctly?
Device: Samsung Galaxy S3
Android: 4.0.4
Rom: Stock ROM
HBOOT : PermRoot & CWM

Tags
archos, gen8, root
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes