Post Reply

Barcode scanner, offline (no internet connection needed)

OP sensboston

27th January 2011, 02:07 AM   |  #1  
OP Recognized Developer
Flag Boston, MA
Thanks Meter: 426
 
1,493 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
Donate to Me
More
Hi guys.

Who wanted a free barcode scanner? Here we are...

No network connection needed; app based on zxing library and Kevin Marshall's (from Clarity Consulting, can't remember his blog url now) code.

I just slightly modified the original code and added a few (probably useful but not sure ) services.

App interface is very simple: run application, focus on barcode, and wait until code is recognized. Touch handset screen to run recognition again.

Buttons description:
- "Save" saves captured barcode to jpeg;
- "Bing" and "Google" used for barcode web lookup (probably this part needs more work)
- "Mail" and "SMS" used for sending recognized code text.

Enjoy!

UPDATE 1: v 1.1, auto focus added;

UPDATE 2: v 1.2, orientation-less UI added, project moved to opensource at googlecode: http://code.google.com/p/barcodescan/

UPDATE 3: v 1.2.1, slightly changed autofocus logic, now works better on HTC. Download link: http://barcodescan.googlecode.com/fi...odeScanner.xap

UPDATE 4: v 1.2.2
- barcode search improved;
- added HTC detection, changes in autofocus logic;
http://barcodescan.googlecode.com/fi...nner_1.2.2.xap
Attached Files
File Type: zip BarcodeScanner.xap.zip - [Click for QR Code] (116.8 KB, 3387 views)
Last edited by sensboston; 28th January 2011 at 08:45 PM.
The Following 8 Users Say Thank You to sensboston For This Useful Post: [ View ]
27th January 2011, 06:13 AM   |  #2  
TechJunkiesCA's Avatar
Member
Flag Los Angeles, CA.
Thanks Meter: 36
 
74 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2009
More
Is this a marketplace app?
27th January 2011, 06:15 AM   |  #3  
Retired Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 33
 
105 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sensboston

Hi guys.

Who wanted a free barcode scanner? Here we are...

No network connection needed; app based on zxing library and Kevin Marshall's (from Clarity Consulting, can't remember his blog url now) code.

I just slightly modified the original code and added a few (probably useful but not sure ) services.

App interface is very simple: run application, focus on barcode, and wait until code is recognized. Touch handset screen to run recognition again.

Buttons description:
- "Save" saves captured barcode to jpeg;
- "Bing" and "Google" used for barcode web lookup (probably this part needs more work)
- "Mail" and "SMS" used for sending recognized code text.

Enjoy!

I can't seem to get it to do anything. It says 'Scanning...' and I'm trying different distances to codes, but nothing ever happens. Any pointers?
27th January 2011, 09:32 AM   |  #4  
MixerNoMore's Avatar
Member
Flag Arnhem
Thanks Meter: 3
 
61 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
More
Is this limited to any country or is it just reading out what the barcode says?
27th January 2011, 01:13 PM   |  #5  
OP Recognized Developer
Flag Boston, MA
Thanks Meter: 426
 
1,493 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
Donate to Me
More
OK, lets go through step by step:
- it's not a marketplace app and have no chance to be published 'cause it uses undocumented camera API; you should download and unpack attachment and sideload the app;
- if you can't capture the barcode, try better lighting. Also, move a handset to autofocus camera. In my tests the scanner captured 100% of barcodes: from books, computer part boxes, foodstuff...
- it's not limited to US 'cause (I believe) the barcodes are international. And yes, it's just reads the barcode; however you may bing or google results, in the most cases search engines able to find product/book description or specifications.

It's a very basic scanner; if someone can recommend online API/service to parse barcode value, I can add it to the program (but I really do not want to spend much time for this)
27th January 2011, 01:50 PM   |  #6  
malatesta's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag NY
Thanks Meter: 0
 
204 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2006
It technically works but the issue is lack of AF or Macro access.

On my Focus, it only works if I scan a barcode off of my PC (do an image search for one) --then it's super fast and quick.

Books, CDs, etc. do not work, regardless of lighting or distance--I suspect because the camera is not trying to AF. Any work around to that?
27th January 2011, 03:32 PM   |  #7  
OP Recognized Developer
Flag Boston, MA
Thanks Meter: 426
 
1,493 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
Donate to Me
More
I've tested first on HTC Surround - work perfect (I can prove). But you've right about Focus'es bad autofocus (LOL, sound nonsense - "Focus have no autofocus"!).

Will see what I can do... Any other suggestions or wishes (about barcode lookup, UI, etc.)?

P.S. Fixed (reload version from the first post), now working good on Samsung Focus.
Last edited by sensboston; 27th January 2011 at 04:03 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to sensboston For This Useful Post: [ View ]
27th January 2011, 05:04 PM   |  #8  
malatesta's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag NY
Thanks Meter: 0
 
204 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by sensboston

I've tested first on HTC Surround - work perfect (I can prove). But you've right about Focus'es bad autofocus (LOL, sound nonsense - "Focus have no autofocus"!).

Will see what I can do... Any other suggestions or wishes (about barcode lookup, UI, etc.)?

P.S. Fixed (reload version from the first post), now working good on Samsung Focus.

Boom.

Working great on Focus now. Nice job. Think I'll try an LG next... bwahaha

As far as changes, no none right now. I'm sure what other apps use for barcode price comparisons--but perhaps a tie into Amazon or eBay would be good. Too bad you can't just jack into ShopSavvy's system with it, lol. If I think of any, will post back.

Edit: Working on LG Quantum too!
Last edited by malatesta; 27th January 2011 at 05:07 PM.
27th January 2011, 05:06 PM   |  #9  
Retired Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 33
 
105 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sensboston

I've tested first on HTC Surround - work perfect (I can prove). But you've right about Focus'es bad autofocus (LOL, sound nonsense - "Focus have no autofocus"!).

Will see what I can do... Any other suggestions or wishes (about barcode lookup, UI, etc.)?

P.S. Fixed (reload version from the first post), now working good on Samsung Focus.

hmm, 1.0 wasn't upside down, but 1.1 is upside down on my Focus. Anyone else see this?
27th January 2011, 06:20 PM   |  #10  
malatesta's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag NY
Thanks Meter: 0
 
204 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by davux

hmm, 1.0 wasn't upside down, but 1.1 is upside down on my Focus. Anyone else see this?

Nope. Fine on my Focus. It does work with accelerometer, you sure that isn't it?

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes