Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,769,404 Members 39,269 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[MOD] - Faves Button Remapped for 2.2 Espresso Sense

Tip us?
 
the1wingedangel
Old
#1  
the1wingedangel's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 46
Posts: 93
Join Date: Feb 2009

 
DONATE TO ME
Default [MOD] - Faves Button Remapped for 2.2 Espresso Sense

[Info]:

Alright, as requested here is a remap of the silly faves button on the espresso launcher. This is from the CR_Mod 2.2 espresso build. However it should work fine with any rooted 2.2 non-odexed espresso.

This will allow you to re map it to open any app installed on your phone, or various system settings, or open a quick launch box with a selection of 8 or so apps. I did this method over on the G2 forums as it is easier than mapping to each individual app requested - not to mention even better since you can remap it any time on the fly.

You MUST have the launchkey app installed. It is available on the forums for free here, or better yet, help the developer out and buy the one on the market for a mere 0.65 cents. It's dirt cheap and it has more options!

[How To]:

Install the launchkey app from above
Grab the attached file below
Boot into recovery
adb shell mount /system
adb shell rm /system/app/Rosie.apk
adb push [your saved file location]\Rosie_espresso2.2_custom.apk /system/app/Rosie.apk
Reboot
Attached Files
File Type: apk Rosie_espresso2.2_custom.apk - [Click for QR Code] (897.0 KB, 103 views)
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to the1wingedangel For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
migueltherocker
Old
(Last edited by migueltherocker; 27th January 2011 at 04:09 AM.)
#2  
migueltherocker's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 24
Posts: 580
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Miami

 
DONATE TO ME
Thanks dude!

Edit: Any way to change the icon to the one of the app, or at least back to the default faves one?
Quote:
Originally Posted by pagantek View Post
From migueltherocker? yes, i'd like to try that. thanks
T-Mobile myTouch 3G Slide (HTC Espresso) [The little engine that could] -> T-Mobile HD2 (HTC Leo) [Can do anything!... kindof] -> HTC Thunderbolt (Mecha) [So fast! When it's not overheating/rebooting...]
 
televate
Old
#3  
Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 89
Join Date: May 2009
So how exactly do you change the icon afterwards? I mapped the button to the Browser, but it has the standard menu button on there.
 
elry567
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 57
Posts: 935
Join Date: Jan 2011
Don't think it will work on CRmod froyo because it.is deodexed

Sent from my T-Mobile myTouch 3G Slide using XDA App
 
tKoHaXoR
Old
#5  
tKoHaXoR's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 54
Posts: 194
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Aurora, CO
It works, both CR_MOD 2.13.xxx and this version are deodexed meaning they are compatible without any issues!
 
elry567
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 57
Posts: 935
Join Date: Jan 2011
Ohh ok imma give it a try hehe

Sent from my T-Mobile myTouch 3G Slide using XDA App
 
televate
Old
#7  
Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 89
Join Date: May 2009
So how do you map the button to show the icon of the program its set to?

Sent from my T-Mobile myTouch 3G Slide using XDA App
 
thebowers131
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 122
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Chandler, AZ
Quote:
Originally Posted by televate View Post
So how do you map the button to show the icon of the program its set to?

Sent from my T-Mobile myTouch 3G Slide using XDA App
i think this is a different way of remapping the faves button, hopefully someone finds a way like they did on the last CR OTA
 
PcFish
Old
#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 83
Posts: 802
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by televate View Post
So how do you map the button to show the icon of the program its set to?

Sent from my T-Mobile myTouch 3G Slide using XDA App
I'm assuming find the image in the res folder of the apk and change it to match your app. You could download and rip them off of the 2.1 method. The contacts, messaging, etc.
 
petraman
Old
(Last edited by petraman; 28th January 2011 at 05:33 PM.)
#10  
Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 70
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Granville, OH
Works like a charm! Thanks a bunch! I know beggars can't be choosers, but is there any way to set up launchkey so that you don't have to long-press the button?
Oh, and if anyone's wondering, I'm running CM 6.1

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Google Glass XE20.1 Update Brings Improved Contacts, Head Nudge, New Cards and Commands

Ever since Google unveiled Android Wear earlier this … more

Remote Control Your Android Device with Monitordroid

The Android OS showsgreat potential in many areas. One of most interesting things that … more

Intel Partners with Unity to Support Android on Intel-Based Devices

Intel, largely known for their long-standing reputation as the king of … more

Device Review: Samsung Gear Live

Recently, Google announced Android Wear to the world. Android Wear is the Android-based initiative from … more