Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,730,490 Members 41,700 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

ProjectM (Milkdrop) for Android

Tip us?

WACOMalt
Old
(Last edited by WACOMalt; 31st January 2011 at 08:33 PM.)
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 547
Default ProjectM (Milkdrop) for Android

So I was searching though Motorola's source code the other day for the Droid X, and I stumbled upon a visualization folder. Looked inside, and to my surprise I see folders labeled as "projectm" Which is the open source port of the beautiful Milkdrop plugin for Winamp on Windows (to my knowledge).

So I dug around a bit, but not being a developer I couldn't figure much out.

Today though I was creating a shortcut to an activity in LP. And I saw "Visualization" category In there there is an activity to start the visualization!

I also finally found where the visualization was originally implemented. I reinstalled Motorola's stock music app, and saw the visualizations there.

So anyways, now that I see the source code is already there, and I am trying to learn android development, I am going to try to get it running as a live wallpaper, and also try to improve on it a bit, as it renders pretty low res, and doesn't seem very optimized.

I am not sure if this is a full port, or just enough to run the few presets Moto included.

But at current I figured I would share with you all how to get the Moto version of this app running Hopefully I can get my standalone version/live wallpaper working soon!

Also, not sure if I can post Moto's apk for those that dont have it. someone let me know.

Screenshot of it running standalone. It reacts to any Media audio.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	CAP201101301347.jpg
Views:	17947
Size:	24.6 KB
ID:	504430  
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to WACOMalt For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]

enp82003
Old
Thanks Meter 4