Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[WM 6.x,28-04-2011] WinStart v2.4 Final, New start menu replacement

OP petititi

31st January 2011, 11:26 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Marseille
Thanks Meter: 90
 
517 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
Donate to Me
More
WinStart V2.4


Features
  • Task manager (close/view background apps)
  • Icon's image and name can be changed
  • Icons can be moved
  • Background image can be easily changed
  • Text color of icon can be changed
  • Lock feature
  • Quick list of recent programs
  • Possibility to order icons by name and type
  • Icon's name can be hidden


What's new?
  • WinStart can be assigned to any key
  • Long press on top icons are now working
  • Square background image possibility
  • New animation
  • Possibility to disable the background image (for old devices, the speed gain is real)
  • Scrolling function rewrited (I hope you will tell me if it's better or worse!)
  • Various bugs fixed (folder with dots are correctly printed, quick links and background windows are now correctly handled, landscape correctly handled, no more gap between icons...)

Download explications
Please go to my website !
Last edited by petititi; 7th July 2013 at 11:25 PM.
The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to petititi For This Useful Post: [ View ]
8th February 2011, 10:47 PM   |  #2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
14 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Cant open file

Sent from my X10i using XDA App
8th February 2011, 11:47 PM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Marseille
Thanks Meter: 90
 
517 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
Donate to Me
More
You're right, wrong cab...
I edited the first post, you should be able to test now !
9th February 2011, 06:17 PM   |  #4  
JVH3's Avatar
Retired Recognized Developer
Flag Minneapolis
Thanks Meter: 427
 
3,686 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
Donate to Me
More
Performance on Rhodium
[EDIT]
I am using the full version now, which shas an option to disable the original start menu, which saves alot of memory.
Performance is great on the Rhodium
[/EDIT]

I wanted to try it on the Tilt 2, because it is a memory starved device.

There is no memory advantage to using this over the normal start menu.

It looks nice, and the recent program list is great.

But for the Rhhodium, memory is critical, so I will go back to using the Panel Stat menu cooked into Energy ROMs.

It would be nice if the free version would have had the graphic transitions when opening folders. It looked cool on the demo that was done on an HD2, but, other devices, such as my Tilt 2 or my Fuze, are slower.

I would want to see that performance before purchasing. If I could see that I would consider purchasing it for my Fuze.

But, as far as the memory usage. I can't use it with my Tilt 2. It consumes more memory than having the original start menu.
Last edited by JVH3; 10th February 2011 at 03:25 PM.
9th February 2011, 06:33 PM   |  #5  
OP Senior Member
Marseille
Thanks Meter: 90
 
517 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
Donate to Me
More
The full version can disable the original start menu, so you can spare approx 30 Mo in RAM.
The demo was done on an HD (older than Tilt2) and no problems. I think it will be smooth for both (Tilt2 and Fuze), but I'm not sure of that!
I can't create a demo version with graphic transitions, too much work...

As you are a "productive and contributing member", I can give you a serial... Send me a PM if you are interested!
9th February 2011, 08:13 PM   |  #6  
JVH3's Avatar
Retired Recognized Developer
Flag Minneapolis
Thanks Meter: 427
 
3,686 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by petititi

The full version can disable the original start menu, so you can spare approx 30 Mo in RAM.
The demo was done on an HD (older than Tilt2) and no problems. I think it will be smooth for both (Tilt2 and Fuze), but I'm not sure of that!
I can't create a demo version with graphic transitions, too much work...

As you are a "productive and contributing member", I can give you a serial... Send me a PM if you are interested!

Thanks.

While testing the full paid version, I am very impressed.

I have more memory available than before, when I was using the Panel Start menu available in Energy Roms.

This start menu is great.
Starts faster.
More responsive.
Better transitioning graphics.
Graphics are very smooth on my Tilt 2.
And the most recent program feature is really nice to have.

This is definitely worth the money.
9th February 2011, 08:20 PM   |  #7  
OP Senior Member
Marseille
Thanks Meter: 90
 
517 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
Donate to Me
More
Thanks for this feedback
9th February 2011, 09:59 PM   |  #8  
wmg316's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Tyler, TX
Thanks Meter: 468
 
1,521 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
More
WinStart with CHT Softkeys
First of all very nice!!

I purchased the full version at your referenced site.

I am having a problem. I use CHT 2.0 on my NRGZ28 ROM, and I use the CHT Softkeys. I cannot get WinStart to pull up the start menu using the "StartMenu" CHT softkey. If I disable the CHT softkeys, the the normal StartMenu icon works fine.

Within CHT SoftKeys, there are ways to set key assignments:

"Run path" which prompts me to enter an application to run. WinStart is not a listed application.

"Command Line" which prompts me to "enter command line parameters". I don't know what to do here?

Is there a way you can get this to work with the CHT SoftKeys?
Last edited by wmg316; 9th February 2011 at 10:02 PM. Reason: correct spelling!
9th February 2011, 10:01 PM   |  #9  
OP Senior Member
Marseille
Thanks Meter: 90
 
517 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
Donate to Me
More
I have CHT2.0 too, but I never used the SoftKeys...
I take a look and come back to tell you how do this.
9th February 2011, 10:10 PM   |  #10  
wmg316's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Tyler, TX
Thanks Meter: 468
 
1,521 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
More
WinStart with XDA_UC
Thank you...while waiting...I'll ask another question.

I flash ROM's a lot when new versions come out. I use XDA_UC to install my various apps that I use. WinStart will DEFINITELY be one.

My question: On a fresh install with a new ROM, is there a registry key or something that I should install along with the cab to get the initial "fresh-install" parameters - username/password information - automatically applied?

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes