FORUMS

OnePlus 2 Teardown, Major Android Vulnerability – XDA TV

The OnePlus 2 has been officially released. That and much more news is … more

What Do You Think About Fingerprint Scanners?

More and more phones are featuring fingerprint scanners, and with many promising … more

What’s Next for Samsung and Its Flagships?

If we were to say that the Galaxy S6 was a leap of faith made by Samsung, we … more

The Ultimate Showcase of dBrand Skins

In the search for ways to protect, accessorize, and personalize; a user has many options. One … more

Win32 Disk Imager error

24 posts
Thanks Meter: 0
 
By Tom S., Junior Member on 1st February 2011, 01:12 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
I'm receiving the following error when trying to use Win32 disk imager to make a backup copy (read) of my Micro SD card with nookie installed:

"An error occurred when trying to get the devices geometry. Error 8:".

I've done a bit of searching on this but can't find anything. Anybody have any ideas?

Is there a good alternate?
 
 
1st February 2011, 01:29 AM |#2  
slugbug2010's Avatar
Senior Member
Austin, Tx
Thanks Meter: 151
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom S.

I'm receiving the following error when trying to use Win32 disk imager to make a backup copy (read) of my Micro SD card with nookie installed:

"An error occurred when trying to get the devices geometry. Error 8:".

I've done a bit of searching on this but can't find anything. Anybody have any ideas?

Is there a good alternate?

Man it took me HOURS to figure it out. I had the EXACT SAME problem (when trying to copy the auto-nooter img to my sd card).

I think what finally worked was:
*make SURE you open and run as Administrator (right click on the Disk Imager and select Run as Administrator)
*AND after you've selected the the sd card drive GET OUT OF IT. Click on any other drive or close that explorer window all together.

I hope this helps. I feel your pain.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to slugbug2010 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
1st February 2011, 01:52 AM |#3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by slugbug2010

Man it took me HOURS to figure it out. I had the EXACT SAME problem (when trying to copy the auto-nooter img to my sd card).

I think what finally worked was:
*make SURE you open and run as Administrator (right click on the Disk Imager and select Run as Administrator)
*AND after you've selected the the sd card drive GET OUT OF IT. Click on any other drive or close that explorer window all together.

I hope this helps. I feel your pain.

Thanks. I'll give it a try. I'm paranoid now though, as I removed my nookie froyo on SD and I lost all of my applications. I guess I'm supposed to do a save to SD card, right?
1st February 2011, 02:01 AM |#4  
slugbug2010's Avatar
Senior Member
Austin, Tx
Thanks Meter: 151
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom S.

Thanks. I'll give it a try. I'm paranoid now though, as I removed my nookie froyo on SD and I lost all of my applications. I guess I'm supposed to do a save to SD card, right?

I think in your original post you are just trying to backup your sd card, right?

I've done that with my NC and my Evo and every time all I do is huck up via usb, open the drive, create a folder in my C drive (Nook, Evo), and then copy, paste. I then transfer most things to an external HD.

So to backup your sd card all you have to do is copy and paste it somewhere else. DON'T wipe it if you have things saved on there that you need to have run off your NC.
1st February 2011, 02:42 AM |#5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
The problem with the nookie use is that your card doesn't show up as a mountable drive under windows. You have to use something like dropbox.
Hold on, I hate to admit this, but I mixed up the SD cards when I pulled them out. I have 2; one of which I had a vanilla image of nookie on. The right one (the one I spent hours on), is fine. Doh.
1st February 2011, 02:48 AM |#6  
slugbug2010's Avatar
Senior Member
Austin, Tx
Thanks Meter: 151
 
More
So you are all good and set to go?
1st February 2011, 02:48 AM |#7  
mckooter's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 18
 
More
if possible use ubuntu for this (you can do it from a live cd)

i had nothing but issues with windows and win32diskimager and burning sd cards (p.s. windows has no good sd card partitioners that im aware of)

dd is the best way to burn the image, and you can use gparted (if installed) to recover the sd after your done (if your like me and burn sd cards like its no body's business (its not))
2nd February 2011, 02:06 AM |#8  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by slugbug2010

So you are all good and set to go?

Yes. I'm going to transfer this image to my new class 10, and then use this card to put Honeycomb on...
2nd February 2011, 04:49 AM |#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 60
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mckooter

if possible use ubuntu for this (you can do it from a live cd)

i had nothing but issues with windows and win32diskimager and burning sd cards (p.s. windows has no good sd card partitioners that im aware of)

dd is the best way to burn the image, and you can use gparted (if installed) to recover the sd after your done (if your like me and burn sd cards like its no body's business (its not))

Under Windows, use EASEUS Partition Manager, currently on version 7.01. Free for home use. You can resize partitions or remove them all to reuse the card for another image or whatever. Also, Win32DiskImager is on 0.2-r23-win32. It will restore or create backups just fine. Both are fine for working with Honeycomb and Froyo images.

Mounting the partitions is another issue. I haven't dabbled in Cygwin, never could get it working right. Best use Ubuntu for that, I've got the Netbook edition of 10.10 dual booting with Win 7 x64, long story.

Homer
3rd February 2011, 02:48 AM |#10  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
New error:

"An error occurred when attempting to read data from handle error 8:"

This is nuts. Windows 7x64, run as admin, not in any folder, antivirus off, and carbonite off (who knows). Ideas?

Oh, it always seems to get to 49%. Plenty of disk space free too.
14th February 2011, 09:00 PM |#11  
mg00000's Avatar
Member
Flag I live in Wayne, PA. My Nook lives on CM7/Phiremod 6 ...GO RED WINGS _/ . \_
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Smile Nooke Color, have 8gig brand new card, win32 imager won't find auto nooter 2.12.25
Hi all, i have searched some Q&A on Nookdevs, and LaunchPad, and via code.google nooter project hosting while first trying to root via instructions on Techrepub, which are very detailed, and seemed very simple.
I cannot get past the step of writing the file to my card. It's a brand new 8 gb card, and i'm hooking it up to my laptop (which has WIN 7) via a Dynex sd card reader/ writer. The win32 writer software is unzipped ok, and i open it, and it will find the auto nooter file (which i also unzipped ok) which is on the sd card (windows recognizes the reader as drive H, but when i add drive H: from the dropdown selection for the drive, and then click "Write" button, i get a pop up error that the software cannot locate this file. The only real similar issue i've seen while all my searching is the "Error 8" thing which this is not.
*Edit to original; trying this on another PC was all it needed. I guess Dell failed me, haha.
Last edited by mg00000; 17th February 2011 at 04:20 PM. Reason: Solved.

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes