Get Your XDA 2015 Custom Avatar and Signature Images Here

As stated in our motto, XDA Developer is for developers, by developers. The … more

Pin Your Photos on Android Lollipop with Photo Pinner

In the last few weeks,we have been talking quite a bit about Android 5.0 Lollipop. This … more

Samsung Galaxy Note Edge Hands On – XDA TV

Perhaps one of the more peculiar announcements this year was the curved edge-screened … more

Nova Launcher Update Brings Lollipop Functionality and Feel

One of the most popular third party launcher on Android, Nova Launcher, has just … more
Post Reply

Escalating Ringtone

OP fifedogg

3rd February 2011, 11:37 PM   |  #1  
fifedogg's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 99
 
692 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
More
I've noticed my phone always starts to ring at where I set the volume to and then escalates to be very loud after a few seconds. I didnt see any settings to change this. Is this happening to anybody else?
3rd February 2011, 11:55 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
197 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Is it in your pocket when it does that?
I noticed in the HTC Sense demo video it says if it is in your pocket or purse it will ring loud so you can hear it. I think it has to do with proximity and light sources. If i have it sitting out, it will ring quietly, but it is always loud in my pocket.
4th February 2011, 12:04 AM   |  #3  
fifedogg's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 99
 
692 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by adamr240

Is it in your pocket when it does that?
I noticed in the HTC Sense demo video it says if it is in your pocket or purse it will ring loud so you can hear it. I think it has to do with proximity and light sources. If i have it sitting out, it will ring quietly, but it is always loud in my pocket.

Actually yeah. Thats usually when it gets loud. I dont really like that as it gets super loud sometimes. Why wouldnt they have a setting for this?
25th February 2011, 01:03 PM   |  #4  
alphanimal's Avatar
Member
Flag Lower Austria
Thanks Meter: 0
 
77 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2007
More
Any news on this? Because I also find it quite annoying that the ringer is so loud even when I'm sitting in the quiet office...
2nd March 2011, 05:38 PM   |  #5  
rjd728's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
71 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Exclamation
Quote:
Originally Posted by alphanimal

Any news on this? Because I also find it quite annoying that the ringer is so loud even when I'm sitting in the quiet office...

I have the same issue! It happens on ALL Sense ROM's. If I am running AOSP (CM6 or MIUI) it is not an issue. Are there any ways to disable this setting if it is supposed to do so? Mine is on my belt in a case and when I'm in the office it rings way too loud. If the phone is on my desk it rings as I have the volume set.
2nd March 2011, 05:42 PM   |  #6  
alphanimal's Avatar
Member
Flag Lower Austria
Thanks Meter: 0
 
77 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2007
More
Actually I found you can disable the loud ringer in settings really easy

Settings --> Sound --> Pocket mode

There's no way to adjust the volume though,
2nd March 2011, 06:31 PM   |  #7  
rjd728's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
71 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Apparently the Shift has the same issue as my EVO or as Sprint would call it..."feature".

http://forum.androidcentral.com/show...629#post669629

You would think there was an app out there to override this.
Last edited by rjd728; 2nd March 2011 at 06:33 PM. Reason: Typo
6th March 2011, 06:43 PM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 33
 
261 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by alphanimal

Actually I found you can disable the loud ringer in settings really easy

Settings --> Sound --> Pocket mode

There's no way to adjust the volume though,

What device/ROM are you running? There is no setting for Pocket mode under settings -> sound on the stock EVO Shift 4G (at least not on mine). Anyone else find this?
6th March 2011, 07:39 PM   |  #9  
alphanimal's Avatar
Member
Flag Lower Austria
Thanks Meter: 0
 
77 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2007
More
I have a Desire Z with the original ROM (Froyo + Sense)
6th March 2011, 08:07 PM   |  #10  
foxsdaddy67's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag St. Charles, MO
Thanks Meter: 95
 
618 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by alphanimal

I have a Desire Z with the original ROM (Froyo + Sense)

that setting dont apply to shift

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes