Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,729,489 Members 45,329 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Method to install root for Honeycomb

Tip us?
 
seeddemon
Old
(Last edited by seeddemon; 8th February 2011 at 11:14 PM.)
#31  
Member
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 57
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Orlando
Quote:
Originally Posted by mmarsman View Post
I tried to follow the steps that seeddemons gave (I'm using v3) but every time I reboot I am prompted to "Enter a password to decrypt storage".

No matter what I enter, nothing lets me by.

Any suggestions?
Was the sim-link created without error. If not try the suggestion in post 25
 
ionstorm3
Old
#32  
Member
Thanks Meter 12
Posts: 51
Join Date: Jun 2010
Default Root on V04

Quote:
Originally Posted by seeddemon View Post
Here is how i got it installed
No need for Superuser, this method will give root access to any app that want it, no need allow permission. BE CAREFUL.

unzip su and place in platform-tools directory.

adb push su /data/local
adb remount
adb shell
cd /data/local
cat su > /system/bin/su
ln -s /system/bin/su /system/xbin/su
chmod 06755 /system/bin/su
exit

Install titanium backup.
Click "Problems?" -> Click "Yes,do it" to install busybox.
DONE!
I tried to do this method as well as the method in the OP and neither method worked. Can someone please tell me how to get root on my nook color running HoneyComb v04? I am also using a custom kernel from the eclair froyo honeycomb thread. Is the custom kernel possibly messing up the process?
Any help would be greatly appreciated
 
NuroSlam
Old
#33  
NuroSlam's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 41
Posts: 106
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Hell aka Phoenix

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by ionstorm3 View Post
I tried to do this method as well as the method in the OP and neither method worked. Can someone please tell me how to get root on my nook color running HoneyComb v04? I am also using a custom kernel from the eclair froyo honeycomb thread. Is the custom kernel possibly messing up the process?
Any help would be greatly appreciated
did you remount /system rw?
are you getting error messages?
HTC G1 (CM7 - Retired)
HTC EVO Shift 4G (dead display)
B7N NookColor (CM7 - ICS - Dead Battery - Donated),
(2) ZTE X500 Score (Stock - CM7 - Parted out - both bad usb ports)
LG Optimus ox2 (ICS - Stolen)
LG Optimus Net (Stock - Stolen)
Kyocera Rise (rooted - Soft bricked - waiting for working update.zip)
Motorola Droid Bionic (unknown - in route - Donated)
 
mattcosta7
Old
#34  
Member
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 40
Join Date: Jan 2011
I found a weird thing this morning

Root Explorer doesn't account for root status.

Su File Manager does, Ti backup works fine. Set cpu no problems.

Root Manager gives an error message. I think this is because of the "courtesy of" message.
 
sixcoronas
Old
#35  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 108
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Texas
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattcosta7 View Post
I found a weird thing this morning

Root Explorer doesn't account for root status.

Su File Manager does, Ti backup works fine. Set cpu no problems.

Root Manager gives an error message. I think this is because of the "courtesy of" message.
I had the same issue. I installed an older version and it worked fine.
 
Jimmy Conley
Old
#36  
Jimmy Conley's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 27
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Houston
Default rootish

+1 my root explorer is also giving me the same error
 
wpnyc2009
Old
#37  
wpnyc2009's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 189
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Manhattan
Default older version of what?

Quote:
Originally Posted by sixcoronas View Post
I had the same issue. I installed an older version and it worked fine.
sorry, can you help a fellow hc v4user get his root?

thanks
 
sixcoronas
Old
#38  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 108
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Texas
Quote:
Originally Posted by wpnyc2009 View Post
sorry, can you help a fellow hc v4user get his root?

thanks
Do you show root access in other apps?
The Following User Says Thank You to sixcoronas For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
wpnyc2009
Old
#39  
wpnyc2009's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 189
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Manhattan
No. I have no root at all.
 
RileyGrant
Old
#40  
RileyGrant's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 241
Posts: 937
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Seattle
Quote:
Originally Posted by wpnyc2009 View Post
No. I have no root at all.
Try my previous post's. Credit goes to Seeddemon, NuroSlam and Chhhaggerty, all I did was devise a little bit of a work around.

Quote:
Originally Posted by RileyGrant View Post
For me I ran into a couple problems as well on v4. For some reason it seems like su is present in /system/bin even before attempting root? However I only check ed once so I could be wrong. All I did was cd to the main directories where su would be present (/system/bin, /system/xbin and /data/local) then ran the ls command to look for the su package, if it was there I did the "rm ./su" command to delete it. Once all the su packages were removed from my directories I re-ran the commands noted before, (I think I got most or some of that from Seeddemon) and wala, I had root! If you are still unable to root after following these instructions post here or pm me with whatever errors your getting. A quick way to check whether or not it was successful is to run the command su in adb shell. You should get the message, "su granted: courtesy of magicandroidapps.com"
Quote:
Originally Posted by RileyGrant View Post
First remove all the files youve already installed.

adb shell
cd /system/bin
rm ./su
cd /system/xbin
rm ./su
cd /data/local
rm ./su
cd /system/app
rm ./superuser.apk

do this with any other superuser files you may have installed. (Busybox etc.)

Then run:

adb push su /data/local
adb remount
adb shell
cd /data/local
cat su > /system/bin/su
ln -s /system/bin/su /system/xbin/su
chmod 06755 /system/bin/su
exit

Then install titanium backup, click problems at the bottom and install the latest busybox.

edit: This is regarding gaining su, not the partition. As for the second part of the question regarding partitions, what OS are you running on your computer? As for the second part of the question regarding partitions, what OS are you running on your computer?

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes