FORUMS

HTC Delivering Ads Straight to Sense Home

HTC’s 2015 has been a year marked by a desperate search for revenue.The HTC One M9 … more

Galaxy S6 & Edge get €100 Price Cut—New Models Incoming

Samsung has dropped the price of both the Galaxy S6 and S6 Edge by … more

How To Port Fully Featured Sony Xperia Z4 Camera

Xperia Z4’s hardware may not impress, but its software is definitely … more

Experimental TWRP Available For Moto G 2015

XDA Senior Member squid2 has posted experimental builds of TWRP for the Moto G … more

Method to install root for Honeycomb

229 posts
Thanks Meter: 261
 
By chhaggerty, Senior Member on 4th February 2011, 04:01 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
8th February 2011, 11:12 PM |#31  
Member
Flag Orlando
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mmarsman

I tried to follow the steps that seeddemons gave (I'm using v3) but every time I reboot I am prompted to "Enter a password to decrypt storage".

No matter what I enter, nothing lets me by.

Any suggestions?

Was the sim-link created without error. If not try the suggestion in post 25
Last edited by seeddemon; 8th February 2011 at 11:14 PM.
 
 
9th February 2011, 02:24 AM |#32  
Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
More
Root on V04
Quote:
Originally Posted by seeddemon

Here is how i got it installed
No need for Superuser, this method will give root access to any app that want it, no need allow permission. BE CAREFUL.

unzip su and place in platform-tools directory.

adb push su /data/local
adb remount
adb shell
cd /data/local
cat su > /system/bin/su
ln -s /system/bin/su /system/xbin/su
chmod 06755 /system/bin/su
exit

Install titanium backup.
Click "Problems?" -> Click "Yes,do it" to install busybox.
DONE!

I tried to do this method as well as the method in the OP and neither method worked. Can someone please tell me how to get root on my nook color running HoneyComb v04? I am also using a custom kernel from the eclair froyo honeycomb thread. Is the custom kernel possibly messing up the process?
Any help would be greatly appreciated
9th February 2011, 10:35 AM |#33  
NuroSlam's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Hell aka Phoenix
Thanks Meter: 41
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ionstorm3

I tried to do this method as well as the method in the OP and neither method worked. Can someone please tell me how to get root on my nook color running HoneyComb v04? I am also using a custom kernel from the eclair froyo honeycomb thread. Is the custom kernel possibly messing up the process?
Any help would be greatly appreciated

did you remount /system rw?
are you getting error messages?
9th February 2011, 02:46 PM |#34  
Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
More
I found a weird thing this morning

Root Explorer doesn't account for root status.

Su File Manager does, Ti backup works fine. Set cpu no problems.

Root Manager gives an error message. I think this is because of the "courtesy of" message.
9th February 2011, 03:31 PM |#35  
Senior Member
Texas
Thanks Meter: 9
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattcosta7

I found a weird thing this morning

Root Explorer doesn't account for root status.

Su File Manager does, Ti backup works fine. Set cpu no problems.

Root Manager gives an error message. I think this is because of the "courtesy of" message.

I had the same issue. I installed an older version and it worked fine.
9th February 2011, 08:55 PM |#36  
Jimmy Conley's Avatar
Junior Member
Flag Houston
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
rootish
+1 my root explorer is also giving me the same error
11th February 2011, 02:13 AM |#37  
wpnyc2009's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Manhattan
Thanks Meter: 15
 
More
older version of what?
Quote:
Originally Posted by sixcoronas

I had the same issue. I installed an older version and it worked fine.

sorry, can you help a fellow hc v4user get his root?

thanks
11th February 2011, 02:17 AM |#38  
Senior Member
Texas
Thanks Meter: 9
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by wpnyc2009

sorry, can you help a fellow hc v4user get his root?

thanks

Do you show root access in other apps?
The Following User Says Thank You to sixcoronas For This Useful Post: [ View ]
11th February 2011, 02:41 AM |#39  
wpnyc2009's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Manhattan
Thanks Meter: 15
 
More
No. I have no root at all.
11th February 2011, 04:56 AM |#40  
RileyGrant's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Seattle
Thanks Meter: 241
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by wpnyc2009

No. I have no root at all.

Try my previous post's. Credit goes to Seeddemon, NuroSlam and Chhhaggerty, all I did was devise a little bit of a work around.

Quote:
Originally Posted by RileyGrant

For me I ran into a couple problems as well on v4. For some reason it seems like su is present in /system/bin even before attempting root? However I only check ed once so I could be wrong. All I did was cd to the main directories where su would be present (/system/bin, /system/xbin and /data/local) then ran the ls command to look for the su package, if it was there I did the "rm ./su" command to delete it. Once all the su packages were removed from my directories I re-ran the commands noted before, (I think I got most or some of that from Seeddemon) and wala, I had root! If you are still unable to root after following these instructions post here or pm me with whatever errors your getting. A quick way to check whether or not it was successful is to run the command su in adb shell. You should get the message, "su granted: courtesy of magicandroidapps.com"

Quote:
Originally Posted by RileyGrant

First remove all the files youve already installed.

adb shell
cd /system/bin
rm ./su
cd /system/xbin
rm ./su
cd /data/local
rm ./su
cd /system/app
rm ./superuser.apk

do this with any other superuser files you may have installed. (Busybox etc.)

Then run:

adb push su /data/local
adb remount
adb shell
cd /data/local
cat su > /system/bin/su
ln -s /system/bin/su /system/xbin/su
chmod 06755 /system/bin/su
exit

Then install titanium backup, click problems at the bottom and install the latest busybox.

edit: This is regarding gaining su, not the partition. As for the second part of the question regarding partitions, what OS are you running on your computer? As for the second part of the question regarding partitions, what OS are you running on your computer?

11th February 2011, 03:50 PM |#41  
wpnyc2009's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Manhattan
Thanks Meter: 15
 
More
Thumbs up Thanks RileyGrant!
Quote:
Originally Posted by RileyGrant

Try my previous post's. Credit goes to Seeddemon, NuroSlam and Chhhaggerty, all I did was devise a little bit of a work around.

Oops! Meant to reply last night. Followed your instructions and BAM I'm rooted. Thanks Bro! Cheers m8. EDIT: lost root on restart!

BTW has anyone gotten Root Explorer to work assuming it stays rooted? Are there other options? I'm at work so I can't adb and I'm not great with SUFBS / terminal emulator.
Last edited by wpnyc2009; 11th February 2011 at 04:20 PM.

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes