Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,737,016 Members 49,857 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Auto-Nooter 3.0.0 (1.1 only)

Tip us?
 
GMPOWER
Old
(Last edited by GMPOWER; 5th February 2011 at 08:10 PM.) Reason: Added MD5 and check file version reference
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 303
Posts: 240
Join Date: Jul 2010
Default Auto-Nooter 3.0.0 (1.1 only)

*ALL THE USUAL DISCLAIMERS AND WARNINGS*

*THIS IS FOR VERSION 1.1 ONLY, DON’T TRY ON 1.0.0 OR 1.0.1*


Credit goes to: GabrialDestruir for the original auto-nooter, GLa’DOS for the boot animation, pokey9000 for nooter, Mistar Muffin for Market and GTalk Fix, clockworx for the “non-ugly” patch that is used to get androidID, mastapsi for testing and coding of the original auto-nooter, lewellyn for coding, [mbm] for ABI Fix, Hotaru for the Gingerbread keyboard, rpollard00 for DroidX keyboard with bigger font, bpk for Soft Keys, Ben74 for NookColor Tools which enables Non Market Installs and re-enable of ADB , Freenode's #nookcolor chat for code checking. A special thanks to all developers out there, without all of you this community would not be as great as it is.

Please Note: If you are the developer of an app that is included in this work, and would like me to remove it, feel free to contact me.

*I am copying the following step from the original auto-nooter, because they are tried and true, and people are already familiar with seeing them*


What it does:
Installs su and Superuser.apk
Installs Busybox with whoami
Installs Softkeys 3.0.6
Installs NookColor Tools (To Enable Non-Market Installs, and re-enable ADB)
Installs Calendar and Calculator.
Installs Android Market, Gmail, Youtube
Installs Gingerbread Keyboard
Enable ADB
Enable Multi-touch for Android Apps
Enables Live Wallpapers
Enables Android Market and Gmail.
App Auto Install (Open up NooterFiles from sdcard drop in /data/app)



Known Problems
:
With the version 1.1 update, ADB will not stay active after a reboot or unplug of the cable. To enable each time you want to use it, you will have to go into NookColor Tools /All Settings/Development/USB debugging, you will have to uncheck the box and then recheck it.


How to Use:

Before you begin:

* To update to 1.1 you must do a complete wipe.
* You must update to 1.1 to use Auto-Nooter 3.0.0 Instructions HERE.

1 You must already have a registered NOOKcolor
2 You must have a Gmail/Youtube linked Account. IF you used a Gmail account for B&N Registration you should use that one for this process.
3 You must either have dd (Linux) or WinImage (Windows) software.
4 You must have an external microSDCard reader or this will not work. Do NOT use the NC.
5 You must have enough intelligence to follow instructions.


Let's get started:

1 Download Auto-Nooter from here: MultiUpload or MediaFire
*MD5 FB74865663B8D797A486A85022FAD9B2*
2 Linux: Unzip and use dd if=auto-nooter-3.0.0.img of=/dev/sdcard
2 Windows: Unzip and use WinImage to "Restore Virtual Hard Disk Image" to your SDcard.
2 Windows Alternative: https://launchpad.net/win32-image-writer/+download
3 Unplug your NOOKcolor from computer. (If Plugged in.)
4 Insert AutoNooter SDcard into your NOOKcolor.
5 Plug the USB cable into your computer and your NOOKcolor. (This will boot up the NOOKcolor.)
6 Your NookColor will reboot when it's done.

That was the hard part, now to the simple stuff.

7 Upon boot unlock your screen.
8 At the Android Welcome Screen skip Sign In.
9 Enable Location Services when given the option.
10 Connect to Wifi and launch Youtube from "Extras".
11 Click the Menu button (The one RIGHT of the Up Arrow).
12 Select "My Channel" and Login using your Gmail Account.
13 Exit Youtube and Launch Gmail from "Extras".
14 Sync your Gmail Account and Exit. (If it fails to sync that is fine.)
15 Open up Market and Accept Terms and Service.

If you made it this far your nook should be successfully Rooted. Go Download an App to make sure.

16 Enable Non-Market Installs by running the NookColor Tools App.
17 If your Youtube fails to launch, download the attached EVO HQ, and follow this code in adb
Code:
Select Code
adb shell mount -o remount,rw /dev/block/mmcblk0p5 /system
adb uninstall com.google.android.youtube
adb push YouTube.apk /system/app
adb reboot
18 Go to Settings > Device Info > SdCard > UnMount > Format



Complete Wipe:
1 8 Failed Boots > Wipes /system
2 Factory ResetFactory Reset > Wipes /data
*You must do both of these to completely wipe clean your NOOKcolor.*





*Before anyone starts to say that I took this project away from GabrialDestruir, I posted this file in the original post, and sent the OP a PM asking to update the current project. I have yet to hear back, and the post was not updated. My post can be found HERE, dated February 2, 2011. I felt that this would be of a benefit to the community, so I am posting it now. If I am asked at some point to take it down I will do so at that time.*
Attached Files
File Type: apk YouTube.apk - [Click for QR Code] (853.5 KB, 3838 views)
The Following 41 Users Say Thank You to GMPOWER For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
danbutter
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 212
Join Date: Feb 2008
Forgive my ignorance here, but I thought you were never supposed to use the NC to format your SD card? (last step)

I thought I read somewhere that it messes up something in the emmc?
Hopefully I'm wrong and just paranoid
 
edboston
Old
#3  
edboston's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 33
Posts: 294
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Quote:
Originally Posted by danbutter View Post
Forgive my ignorance here, but I thought you were never supposed to use the NC to format your SD card? (last step)

I thought I read somewhere that it messes up something in the emmc?
Hopefully I'm wrong and just paranoid
I have never really seen an explanation as to why you don't format on the NC. I have formated via the NC and the card works fine both in the NC and my PC. When I want to burn an image, I have been able too. Been able to flash other images on it too.
 
Homer_S_xda
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 60
Posts: 408
Join Date: Dec 2010
Excellent!

Can you please add an MD5 to the first post?

Homer
 
Homer_S_xda
Old
(Last edited by Homer_S_xda; 5th February 2011 at 02:58 PM.)
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 60
Posts: 408
Join Date: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by danbutter View Post
Forgive my ignorance here, but I thought you were never supposed to use the NC to format your SD card? (last step)

I thought I read somewhere that it messes up something in the emmc?
Hopefully I'm wrong and just paranoid
Formatting the SDcard doesn't touch the onboard storage. It is one of the easier ways to remove bonus partitions to recover the full card. UPDATE: I should clarify this: when running Eclair internally.

Homer
 
Canadoc
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 100
Posts: 1,655
Join Date: Nov 2010
Any benefit of this over the 1.1r2 many of us did from autonootered 1.0.1?
 
Ophbalance
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 166
Join Date: Jul 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by danbutter View Post
Forgive my ignorance here, but I thought you were never supposed to use the NC to format your SD card? (last step)

I thought I read somewhere that it messes up something in the emmc?
Hopefully I'm wrong and just paranoid
You're thinking of Nookie Froyo. The stock B&N system is fine for formatting the card.
 
mrapollinax
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 19
Posts: 136
Join Date: Nov 2010
I think formatting the SD card is an issue when you use one of the Froyo images and boot from eMMC. When you format the SD card it actually formats the internal boot partition or some such. I remember reading it in one of the threads which led me to only boot the Froyo images from an external card.
 
bugeyed1
Old
(Last edited by bugeyed1; 5th February 2011 at 02:48 PM.)
#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 14
Posts: 265
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Conroe, Tx
I am at 1.1.0. When did 1.1.1 appear & how do I get it?
BTW Is this exactly the same as the interim A-N 2.12.25 modified for 1.1?
k
 
BigCon
Old
#10  
Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 39
Join Date: Dec 2009
I'd say it's a typo and should be v1.1?

The Following User Says Thank You to BigCon For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Tags
adb, auto-nooter, root, version 1.1
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes