5,597,871 Members 38,552 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

when flashing rom > E: can't open cache/recovery/command

Tip us?
 
mwatson
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 83
Posts: 597
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Basingstoke
Default when flashing rom > E: can't open cache/recovery/command

I've searched on here but can not find an answer for my particluar error.

From Rom Manager I select Install ROM from CD card. When it boots up I get the red exclaimation mark. Then i press volume up and power.

The first thing i see is android recovery with E: can't open cache/recovery/command

According to ROM manager I have ClockwordMod Recovery 2.5.1.3

ever seen this? any way around it?

Thanks
 
Andy
Old
#2  
Andy's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Thanks Meter 5154
Posts: 3,966
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: UK

 
DONATE TO ME
Try flashing recovery again via ROM manager. For some users flashing it just once doesn't work.
-
"Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the the universe." - Albert Einstein
 
mwatson
Old
#3  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 83
Posts: 597
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Basingstoke
I've tried flashing clockwork a few times. Still no luck..
 
Andy
Old
(Last edited by Andy; 6th February 2011 at 12:09 PM.)
#4  
Andy's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Thanks Meter 5154
Posts: 3,966
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: UK

 
DONATE TO ME
Do you have ENG S-OFF? If so you could try via fastboot.

Code:
fastboot flash recovery recovery_x.x.x.x.img
ClockworkMod Recovery 3.0.0.5 --> HERE -- (CM7)
ClockworkMod Recovery 2.5.1.2 --> HERE -- (Everything Else)
 
kja2ja
Old
#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 11
Join Date: Jan 2011
I have the same exact problems, do i need to have S-OFF also, i read this threat
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=857537 , it said I need to downgrade it first, is that true?
 
nathsgames
Old
#6  
nathsgames's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 74
Posts: 827
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Gold Coast

 
DONATE TO ME
Tagged. Have the same problem.

Sent from my Desire HD using XDA App


<<SAMSUNG GALAXY S4 LTE>>
ROM: OMEGA 6.0
LAUNCHER: NOVA
KERNEL: FAUX 6 (U)
RECOVERY: PHILZ

N6500/E65/F480T/i 3GS 32GB/i9000 Galaxy S/Dell Streak 5/HTC Desire HD/LG Optimus 2X/Galaxy SII 9100T/Galaxy Note/Galaxy SIII/Galaxy Note II 3G/Galaxy Note II LTE/ GALAXY S4 LTE i9505

Chuck Norris runs Android on his iPhone
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Android Control Center Becomes Quick Control Panel, Brings Host of New Features

You may recall that back in August of last year, we talked … more

Polish Your Custom Themes with Theme Debugger

Creating a custom Android theme from scratch can be quite the laborious task. In addition to … more

Clean Up Your Logcat Code with Lib Cleaner

Some of you may think that writing code is the hardest part of development. It’s not, as the … more

Tweak Your Xperia Device’s Camera App Yourself

We’ve come to expect nearly perfect cameraperformancein our modern day … more