Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

when flashing rom > E: can't open cache/recovery/command

OP mwatson

6th February 2011, 11:28 AM   |  #1  
mwatson's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Basingstoke
Thanks Meter: 110
 
694 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
More
I've searched on here but can not find an answer for my particluar error.

From Rom Manager I select Install ROM from CD card. When it boots up I get the red exclaimation mark. Then i press volume up and power.

The first thing i see is android recovery with E: can't open cache/recovery/command

According to ROM manager I have ClockwordMod Recovery 2.5.1.3

ever seen this? any way around it?

Thanks
6th February 2011, 11:56 AM   |  #2  
Andy's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Flag UK
Thanks Meter: 5,375
 
4,150 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2008
Donate to Me
More
Try flashing recovery again via ROM manager. For some users flashing it just once doesn't work.
6th February 2011, 12:49 PM   |  #3  
mwatson's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Basingstoke
Thanks Meter: 110
 
694 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
More
I've tried flashing clockwork a few times. Still no luck..
6th February 2011, 12:56 PM   |  #4  
Andy's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Flag UK
Thanks Meter: 5,375
 
4,150 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2008
Donate to Me
More
Do you have ENG S-OFF? If so you could try via fastboot.

Code:
fastboot flash recovery recovery_x.x.x.x.img
ClockworkMod Recovery 3.0.0.5 --> HERE -- (CM7)
ClockworkMod Recovery 2.5.1.2 --> HERE -- (Everything Else)
Last edited by Andy; 6th February 2011 at 01:09 PM.
7th February 2011, 10:30 PM   |  #5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
11 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
I have the same exact problems, do i need to have S-OFF also, i read this threat
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=857537 , it said I need to downgrade it first, is that true?
8th February 2011, 09:30 AM   |  #6  
nathsgames's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Gold Coast
Thanks Meter: 76
 
851 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Donate to Me
More
Tagged. Have the same problem.

Sent from my Desire HD using XDA App
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes