Welcome to the New XDA-Developers Portal!

You may recall that a few weeks ago, we opened up the XDA-2015 forum themesto intrepid users … more

An Android Enthusiast’s Apple iPhone 6 Challenge

The media has gone batty again over Apple “revolutionizing” smartphones. … more

Sony to Extend its AOSP Program to Other Devices

Sony will be offering its users the possibility to use AOSP ROMs as an alternative to the … more

Project Ara: Modified Android L and Hot Swapping

Project Ara is a very exciting topic–both for hardware and software enthusiasts. The … more
Post Reply

[Q] No signal or No service on Samsung Galaxy S

9th February 2011, 11:39 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
I noticed that my galaxy was sluggish & decided to preform the solution here: hemorrdroids.net, speed up your Samsung galaxy S

now in the process, i got it wrong several times whiles flashing with the odin. when I finally got it right and reinstalled the firmware, the phone displays a no service notification, but show the name of the network chip in it. no signal bars as if it were locked. I bought it as unlocked phone. now I cant even search for a single network in my country. when u do a manual search, it returns nothing. if u try the dialer it says not registered to network..

does anyone know how to get my signal a GPS working?? please!!!!!!!!!!!!!
11th February 2011, 07:22 PM   |  #2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Hmm... I've got the same problem as you... Flashed docs to my Galaxy S Yesterday and now it show no service notification.... Anyone who have a got an idea?
20th February 2011, 11:33 AM   |  #3  
Member
Flag Gurgaon
Thanks Meter: 8
 
69 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
More
I am also facing the same problem. Any one who has solved it ?
20th February 2011, 05:32 PM   |  #4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Got the same problem, from 1 day i have notification (no service)
21st February 2011, 12:41 AM   |  #5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
Got the same problem plz plz some one helpp
21st February 2011, 01:13 AM   |  #6  
Junior Member
Seattle
Thanks Meter: 3
 
18 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Not sure if it's the same problem you folks are having, but there's a thread on here entitled "Problem with Airplane Mode on Epic after installing midNight ROM" that describes a problem with no signal after a ROM flash, and a solution via using Odin to update just the modem.

I would post a link, but the forum here won't let me because I don't have enough posts. Your mileage may vary, but the symptoms sound similar so it might give you a place to start even if the fix doesn't fix you.
24th February 2011, 06:01 PM   |  #7  
Junior Member
Flag Tokyo
Thanks Meter: 0
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
I too am having the same problem. It seems that my Phone (Galaxy SC-02b) does not recognize the modem/internal antena.

I installed the Darky's Rom on it, and it runs great. Except the signal part. I can flash it back to the original, but I want to see if I can make it work.

I think it's just a matter of picking out the correct modem tar, but I can't find the right one. My phone is a little bit odd, It's a Japanese Galaxy, so not sure if I can find it here. Unfortunately my Japanese is not good enough to go scouring the japanese forums.

Thanks for any help.
17th March 2011, 05:07 AM   |  #8  
Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 0
 
45 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2006
More
Hey Yefimenko what 3G bands are used in Japan 1900/850 or maybe 900/2100 or 1700/2100 ? Can you find that out ? then you need to flash modem that supports that , Europe support 900/2100 US/Canada/Australia 850/1900 and AWS 1700/2100 Tmobile US /Wind? mobilicity Canada



Hitec
18th March 2011, 10:01 PM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Flag Yokosuka, Ja
Thanks Meter: 7
 
142 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2006
We've been through all of this before the Japanese phones will only work with the Japanese kernel. Symptoms are usually sin not recognized and no radio signal. QUOTE=yefymenko;11612862]I too am having the same problem. It seems that my Phone (Galaxy SC-02b) does not recognize the modem/internal antena.

I installed the Darky's Rom on it, and it runs great. Except the signal part. I can flash it back to the original, but I want to see if I can make it work.

I think it's just a matter of picking out the correct modem tar, but I can't find the right one. My phone is a little bit odd, It's a Japanese Galaxy, so not sure if I can find it here. Unfortunately my Japanese is not good enough to go scouring the japanese forums.

Thanks for any help.[/QUOTE]



Sent from my SC-02B using XDA Premium App
18th March 2011, 10:33 PM   |  #10  
Dark3n's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 2,219
 
1,994 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2007
Either the phone.apk is bad or the modem is incompatible.
You could try the http://romkitchen.org/ and make an update with different modem only.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Questions and Answers by ThreadRank