FORUMS

Analysis & Opinion

Top Forum Discussions

[Q] No signal or No service on Samsung Galaxy S

1 posts
Thanks Meter: 0
 
By mikag642011, Junior Member on 9th February 2011, 11:39 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
I noticed that my galaxy was sluggish & decided to preform the solution here: hemorrdroids.net, speed up your Samsung galaxy S

now in the process, i got it wrong several times whiles flashing with the odin. when I finally got it right and reinstalled the firmware, the phone displays a no service notification, but show the name of the network chip in it. no signal bars as if it were locked. I bought it as unlocked phone. now I cant even search for a single network in my country. when u do a manual search, it returns nothing. if u try the dialer it says not registered to network..

does anyone know how to get my signal a GPS working?? please!!!!!!!!!!!!!
 
 
11th February 2011, 07:22 PM |#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Hmm... I've got the same problem as you... Flashed docs to my Galaxy S Yesterday and now it show no service notification.... Anyone who have a got an idea?
20th February 2011, 11:33 AM |#3  
Member
Flag Gurgaon
Thanks Meter: 8
 
More
I am also facing the same problem. Any one who has solved it ?
20th February 2011, 05:32 PM |#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Got the same problem, from 1 day i have notification (no service)
21st February 2011, 12:41 AM |#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Got the same problem plz plz some one helpp
21st February 2011, 01:13 AM |#6  
Junior Member
Seattle
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Not sure if it's the same problem you folks are having, but there's a thread on here entitled "Problem with Airplane Mode on Epic after installing midNight ROM" that describes a problem with no signal after a ROM flash, and a solution via using Odin to update just the modem.

I would post a link, but the forum here won't let me because I don't have enough posts. Your mileage may vary, but the symptoms sound similar so it might give you a place to start even if the fix doesn't fix you.
24th February 2011, 06:01 PM |#7  
Junior Member
Flag Tokyo
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
I too am having the same problem. It seems that my Phone (Galaxy SC-02b) does not recognize the modem/internal antena.

I installed the Darky's Rom on it, and it runs great. Except the signal part. I can flash it back to the original, but I want to see if I can make it work.

I think it's just a matter of picking out the correct modem tar, but I can't find the right one. My phone is a little bit odd, It's a Japanese Galaxy, so not sure if I can find it here. Unfortunately my Japanese is not good enough to go scouring the japanese forums.

Thanks for any help.
17th March 2011, 05:07 AM |#8  
Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Hey Yefimenko what 3G bands are used in Japan 1900/850 or maybe 900/2100 or 1700/2100 ? Can you find that out ? then you need to flash modem that supports that , Europe support 900/2100 US/Canada/Australia 850/1900 and AWS 1700/2100 Tmobile US /Wind? mobilicity Canada



Hitec
18th March 2011, 10:01 PM |#9  
Senior Member
Flag Yokosuka, Ja
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
We've been through all of this before the Japanese phones will only work with the Japanese kernel. Symptoms are usually sin not recognized and no radio signal. QUOTE=yefymenko;11612862]I too am having the same problem. It seems that my Phone (Galaxy SC-02b) does not recognize the modem/internal antena.

I installed the Darky's Rom on it, and it runs great. Except the signal part. I can flash it back to the original, but I want to see if I can make it work.

I think it's just a matter of picking out the correct modem tar, but I can't find the right one. My phone is a little bit odd, It's a Japanese Galaxy, so not sure if I can find it here. Unfortunately my Japanese is not good enough to go scouring the japanese forums.

Thanks for any help.[/QUOTE]



Sent from my SC-02B using XDA Premium App
18th March 2011, 10:33 PM |#10  
Dark3n's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 2,997
 
More
Either the phone.apk is bad or the modem is incompatible.
You could try the http://romkitchen.org/ and make an update with different modem only.
24th April 2011, 04:26 PM |#11  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
If your Samsung Galaxy S displays no network/no signal, or emergency calls only, try the following things:

1. flash the device again with the modem image (download the firmware of your device from samfirmwares.com, delete everything from the .tar file except modem.bin, and then flash this file to the phone with Odin (you can get Odin and instructions from that site too)

2. maybe your nv_data.bin file or /efs directory got corrupted, make a backup of the folder, then simply delete nv_data.bin, it will be recreated for you on Galaxy S.

For this, you’ll need root. If you have a root-enabled kernel, like the Voodoo lagfix kernel, you only have to install the Superuser app and Busybox on the phone, download the Android SDK to your PC, install platform-tools in the SDK manager, go to the platform-tools directory and start adb shell.

In the shell, type su, wait for the Superuser prompt to appear on the phone (if it does not appear, open the Superuser app and try executing su again), enable root access for the command. Now go to /efs, copy everything to for example /sdcard/efs, then rm nv_data.bin.

Reflashing the device with a kernel and checking “phone EFS clear” in Odin also works (make sure you made a backup of the EFS folder just in case).

3. you can try changing the CSC (to XEO for Europe): enter *#272*imei# on the phone tab. Note: this will reset your phone to factory settings, so make sure you did a clockworkmod backup before this. Incorrect CSC setting may cause MMS not working also.

4. check if you inserted the SIM card correctly


Thanks

MertBaBaaa

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes