Lollipop Leak for Sprint Galaxy S5, TWRP for Micromax Canvas Magnus – XDA TV

Android 5.0 Lollipop has been leaked for the Sprint … more

Velocity is Like OpenTable on Steroids

We all enjoy a night out with friends or our significant other from time to time. However, there is … more

Android Lollipop Lands for the Sony Xperia Z Ultra

The undisputed king of the beasts–at least in Sony’s current stable,is the … more

Android 5.0 Lollipop in 3D–EVO 3D, That Is!

It is that time of the year once again. Flowers bloom (or snow falls, depending on which … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Managing GPS failures

OP jggimi

10th February 2011, 05:20 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 62
 
369 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
A number of us, on a variety of ROMs, including stock, have had difficulty getting our GPS systems to acquire a location fix. This can be temporary, or may happen so often it can appear permanent.

Background

When there is satellite reception, it can take a GPS receiver as much as 12.5 minutes to acquire a fix, depending on the number of satellites being received and their relative positions in the sky. To speed this up, our phones use a technology called Assisted-GPS (A-GPS), using location information obtained via mobile data and/or WiFi connections to more accurately and quickly determine a position.

Sometimes, A-GPS data seems to be incorrect, leading to no location fix.

What can we do?

Option A

The GPS Status application, available from the Market, can show you the location, signal strength, and acquisition data from GPS satellites above. It can also flush and reload Assisted-GPS data. This will clear any existing A-GPS aberration, and reset the acquisition sequence.

Option B -- Root required

Google provides Assisted-GPS data to Android phones via an A-GPS standard called Secure User Plane Location (SUPL). Cyanogen's team has determined that for some CM ROM users, disabling Google's SUPL connection in the phone's GPS receiver configuration can improve fix speed. As I understand it, his team is not yet sure of the root cause.

I'm not on Cyanogen's team. Even so, I could guess at a root cause, but it is only a guess. Perhaps the data packet is never received, due to a problem at the server. Perhaps the data packet is received but is missed by the GPS software. Perhaps the data packet is invalid and rejected, but a new replacement packet is never received and the GPS software just waits ....

Whether those guesses are right or wrong doesn't matter. When Google's SUPL service is removed from the phone, other A-GPS location data is used, allowing a GPS fix to proceed. Reportedly, with good speed. From my own experience, also, it seems to work well without SUPL service configured.

1. Mount the /system partition read-write. This can be done from adb, from the Root Explorer application, or from a terminal emulator

2. Edit /system/etc/gps.conf, and remove the lines that begin with "SUPL". For CM7, as an example, this is lines 5 and 6, "SUPL_HOST=supl.google.com" and "SUPL_PORT 7276"

3. Reboot.
Last edited by jggimi; 10th February 2011 at 05:31 PM. Reason: typo / clarity
10th February 2011, 10:30 PM   |  #2  
Lockeskidney's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Miami, FL
Thanks Meter: 37
 
314 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
More
i use gps status when i'm having issues. it works pretty well

is this pretty standard for most devices...gps issues?
24th February 2011, 03:48 PM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 62
 
369 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
One resolution that seems to work consistantly for me when in a "no sats" situation is to flush A-GPS data and immediately reboot.

The cause seems to be multiple apps having requested location data (such as browser and map), and may be related to the ROM I use (CM7), but this fix works for me every time.
24th February 2011, 04:30 PM   |  #4  
neidlinger's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Cincinnati
Thanks Meter: 447
 
2,365 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lockeskidney

is this pretty standard for most devices...gps issues?

Nope, i've never had a problem with my GPS.
26th February 2011, 08:17 AM   |  #5  
Member
Flag Singapore
Thanks Meter: 4
 
36 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2007
More
had GPS issues when i was using CM7 nightlies prior to the RC1 release. but since flashing to RC1, GPS has been working flawlessly and barely takes 3-4 seconds to get a location fix.
5th January 2012, 10:09 PM   |  #6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
14 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
I want to try Option B on my Evo before I try flashing a new radio. I'm rooted and using CM7, so I thought this would be an easy first step.

Even after the mount system app says it has successfully mounted with R/W access, I cannot edit the file with a text editor like this.

I know Google is my friend but alas I give up, I cannot figure out how to edit that file. What am I doing wrong?
13th October 2012, 03:22 PM   |  #7  
cevi's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Macedonia
Thanks Meter: 10
 
131 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by skeene85

I want to try Option B on my Evo before I try flashing a new radio. I'm rooted and using CM7, so I thought this would be an easy first step.

Even after the mount system app says it has successfully mounted with R/W access, I cannot edit the file with a text editor like this.

I know Google is my friend but alas I give up, I cannot figure out how to edit that file. What am I doing wrong?

Just install SQL Editor from market, and you are good to go.Other alternative is to copy the gps.conf file to your pc,make a backup of the original and then edit it with Notepad or some similar text editor and then bring back the file to the root of the phone.Just be careful to set the permissions as they were on the original conf file.
13th October 2012, 07:05 PM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 573
 
1,691 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by cevi

Just install SQL Editor from market, and you are good to go.Other alternative is to copy the gps.conf file to your pc,make a backup of the original and then edit it with Notepad or some similar text editor and then bring back the file to the root of the phone.Just be careful to set the permissions as they were on the original conf file.

You know that that post is more than 10 months old right? You are in trouuubbbblllleeee

The Following User Says Thank You to THEindian For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes