Xiaomi Mi4 Launched in India

Xiaomi’s Mi3 and Redmi Note handsets were met with roaring enthusiasm in India,thousands of piecesbeing … more

LG G3 Stock Camera Mod v7

If you want to extend your G3’s camera capabilities, check out this new modded camera application that will … more

Ultrasecure Blackphone Had Security Vulnerability

What was touted to be an impenetrable monolithic staple in Android security has just had a … more

LG Dumps Glass, Adopts Plastic for All Future Screens

LG has been incorporating plastic OLED displays in some of its latest and upcoming … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[q] help i messed up big time

OP NewbDroid

13th February 2011, 01:29 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
70 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Help!

I have 2.2 on Rogers, rooted. I also have Cognition 3.04 installed as well as CWM. I tried to install a battery mod .zip file using CWM, but all that is happening now is that I am stuck on the startup screen (Cognition) and my Captivate just vibrates! In recovery using CWM 'reboot now' and 'reboot recovery' doesn't work. Is there anyway to 'bypass' my last (failed) installed .zip and go back to the home screen?

WHAT DO I DO? I have tried to use the recovery_update.zip file from CWM to get my phone working again but still no luck.

I SWEAR IF SOMEONE CAN HELP ME I WILL NEVER EVER TAMPER WITH MY PHONE AGAIN EVER. I WILL ONLY EVER USE IT FOR PHONE CALLS AND TEXTING. I WILL DO ANYTHING. PLEASE HELP!!!!
13th February 2011, 01:33 AM   |  #2  
Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
40 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
Can you get it into download mode?
13th February 2011, 01:34 AM   |  #3  
Account currently disabled
Flag Southern Michigan
Thanks Meter: 190
 
2,037 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
If you can get back into recovery which it sound like you can just reflash the original rom zip.

Sent from my SGH-T959 using XDA App

Edit....and calm down, just a boot loop from a bad flash, no biggie. Though you should understand how to recover before you start.
13th February 2011, 01:36 AM   |  #4  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
70 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
I can get into download mode, now what?

Sorry I am clearly no good with this whole phone business...
13th February 2011, 01:37 AM   |  #5  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
70 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
How do I flash the original ROM when I can't get past the recovery screen? Could you please provide instructions? I am so scared! AAAARGH!
13th February 2011, 01:38 AM   |  #6  
mengbo's Avatar
Senior Member
Mountain View, CA
Thanks Meter: 51
 
362 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by NewbDroid

I can get into download mode, now what?

Sorry I am clearly no good with this whole phone business...

if you can go into download, use odin to flash back to stock.
13th February 2011, 01:40 AM   |  #7  
mengbo's Avatar
Senior Member
Mountain View, CA
Thanks Meter: 51
 
362 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by NewbDroid

How do I flash the original ROM when I can't get past the recovery screen? Could you please provide instructions? I am so scared! AAAARGH!

do not worry, i will be here to help you until you fix your phone.
The Following User Says Thank You to mengbo For This Useful Post: [ View ]
13th February 2011, 01:40 AM   |  #8  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
70 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Could you give me more instructions on Odin and flashing back to stock? I'm so sorry, if I knew how to do this I would not ask! Thanks SO MUCH!
13th February 2011, 01:43 AM   |  #9  
mengbo's Avatar
Senior Member
Mountain View, CA
Thanks Meter: 51
 
362 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by NewbDroid

Could you give me more instructions on Odin and flashing back to stock? I'm so sorry, if I knew how to do this I would not ask! Thanks SO MUCH!

read the first sticky post in this Q & A section (question 3)... meanwhile, please let me know your build number. it is a 4 digit under your battery, looks like 1008, 1010, etc.
13th February 2011, 01:47 AM   |  #10  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
70 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
I think it's 10.11. th eonly other numbers are the IMEI, s/n and upc numbers.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
captivate, cognition, cwm, recovery
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes