Speed Up Deodexing with JoelDroid Batch Deodexer

Android 5.0 Lollipop brings many under-the-hood changes like changing the default compiler … more

Top 5 Apps for 2014 + Top Xposed Mod of 2014 – XDA TV

Its that time of year where you look back and remember the things that happened … more

NVIDIA SHIELD Tablet Gets Android 5.0.1, OTA Available

The NVIDIA SHIELD Tablet is the latest Android-powered device released by famed GPU … more

FXP Team Delivers Lollipop to Various Xperia Devices!

From all of us here at XDA-Developers, we’d like to wish you Happy Holidays! If … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Windows driver for USB tethering.

OP Spectre51

13th February 2011, 12:17 PM   |  #1  
Spectre51's Avatar
OP Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 1,343
 
3,345 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Donate to Me
More
What driver do I need to download for windows so I can do USB tethering? I downloaded the Dell driver so I can USB m streak as USB storage but can't get it working for USB tethering.

Dell Streak powered by StreakDroid 1.7.0
16th February 2011, 11:32 AM   |  #2  
Spectre51's Avatar
OP Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 1,343
 
3,345 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Donate to Me
More
Anyone?

Dell Streak powered by StreakDroid 1.7.0
16th February 2011, 12:39 PM   |  #3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Same problem with me ...
17th April 2011, 08:43 AM   |  #4  
william58's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Tacoma
Thanks Meter: 7
 
205 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
A lot of help for this post / question...
18th April 2011, 08:12 PM   |  #5  
william58's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Tacoma
Thanks Meter: 7
 
205 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spectre51

What driver do I need to download for windows so I can do USB tethering? I downloaded the Dell driver so I can USB m streak as USB storage but can't get it working for USB tethering.

Dell Streak powered by StreakDroid 1.7.0

I see you asked this on the Dell forum too... with no responses, just like here.

Something is obviously wrong with the Dell Streak 5 as the other 6 phones is a (see my sig) I had no issue using them as a modem for my laptops via PdaNet. I need to know if I can use it as a modem for the Streak, are there any limitations with 1.6... and where to get the dang driver since the one from PdaNet won't work.

It seems to be impossible on the at&t model.

I have so far tried pdanet (usb driver error), barnacle legacy (can upload but not download), android-wifi-tether (apparently incompatible with 1.6), android wired tether (1.6), and one more that I dont recall the name of, which simply crashed.
Last edited by william58; 18th April 2011 at 08:50 PM.
18th April 2011, 09:39 PM   |  #6  
Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
61 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
What version of windows are you using?

I got mine working on ubuntu 10.10 without a hitch.
18th April 2011, 10:09 PM   |  #7  
william58's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Tacoma
Thanks Meter: 7
 
205 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bugmenotacc

What version of windows are you using?

I got mine working on ubuntu 10.10 without a hitch.

Win7 Ultimate
What is ubuntu 10.10?
19th April 2011, 01:28 AM   |  #8  
Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
61 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
A linux distrobution, it's an entire operating system, but you can get an installer that runs off a USB stick, probably too much of a circus if you're going to do it regularily.
19th April 2011, 04:19 AM   |  #9  
Spectre51's Avatar
OP Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 1,343
 
3,345 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Donate to Me
More
william58 you aren't still running 1.6 are you?

Hoping to get some update from @AmyatDell as she is looking into it for me since no one at dell responded on their forums.
19th April 2011, 06:01 AM   |  #10  
william58's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Tacoma
Thanks Meter: 7
 
205 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spectre51

william58 you aren't still running 1.6 are you?

Hoping to get some update from @AmyatDell as she is looking into it for me since no one at dell responded on their forums.

Yep, still running what I got from Best Buy / AT&T version 1.6

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes