Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,729,436 Members 45,231 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

can't figure out how to install alpharev?

Tip us?
 
alex98uk
Old
(Last edited by alex98uk; 14th February 2011 at 04:46 PM.)
#1  
alex98uk's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 88
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: München
Default can't figure out how to install alpharev?

Hi, I'm trying to install alphaRev because from what I've read it enables s-off and provides a modified partition table. Currently I run

Oxygen rc7
Clockwork recovery 2.5.0.7
Hboot 0.93

AlphaRev says to download the alpharev zip file for oxygen, remake it and put it on my sd, which I've done. Then it says to go into hboot and install. How do I install the alphaRev zip from my sd in hboot!?

Any help!
 
EddyOS
Old
#2  
EddyOS's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2882
Posts: 13,064
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Liverpool, Merseyside
The initial S-OFF needs to be done via a bootable CD, you then change the partition table after this should you need to. You need to read the instructions closer
HTC One M8 (Gunmetal Grey) 16GB
ROM: 1.54.401.10 (KOT49H) | HBOOT: 3.16.0.0000 S-OFF | Recovery: Stock | Baseband: 1.16.2133156.UA15G_20.18m.4096.07L | Kernel: Stock | CID: HTC__001

OnePlus One (Sandstone Black) 64GB *** PENDING ***

If you have a question, great - but DO NOT PM ME WITH IT!!! | [GUIDE] Return your EU M8 to 100% Stock (S-OFF Required)
The Following User Says Thank You to EddyOS For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
alex98uk
Old
#3  
alex98uk's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 88
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: München
Quote:
Originally Posted by EddyOS View Post
The initial S-OFF needs to be done via a bootable CD, you then change the partition table after this should you need to. You need to read the instructions closer
hmm, OK. It's quite tricky for me as I have fairly rubbish dyslexia and so I get confused when reading

What advantages does S-Off provide? I will try that now and report back
 
EddyOS
Old
#4  
EddyOS's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2882
Posts: 13,064
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Liverpool, Merseyside
If you don't know what it does don't even do it! Read up on it more before doing anything as it can potentially brick your phone with no chance of repair
HTC One M8 (Gunmetal Grey) 16GB
ROM: 1.54.401.10 (KOT49H) | HBOOT: 3.16.0.0000 S-OFF | Recovery: Stock | Baseband: 1.16.2133156.UA15G_20.18m.4096.07L | Kernel: Stock | CID: HTC__001

OnePlus One (Sandstone Black) 64GB *** PENDING ***

If you have a question, great - but DO NOT PM ME WITH IT!!! | [GUIDE] Return your EU M8 to 100% Stock (S-OFF Required)
 
alex98uk
Old
#5  
alex98uk's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 88
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: München
Quote:
Originally Posted by EddyOS View Post
If you don't know what it does don't even do it! Read up on it more before doing anything as it can potentially brick your phone with no chance of repair
I was less interested in the S-Off option, but wanted the modified partition table that AlphaRev offers over the stock HBoot. Apparently it providers a fair bit more space for apps on the phone. But, alas, I got Alpharevs flashing program and it worked fine. I am now running AlphaRev Hboot 0.93.0001 with S-Off (well, from what I think I read, S-Ignored!)

So, next question is, how do I get around to installing the modified partition tables provided on the AlphaRev site, or did this automatically get done as a part of the flashing process I have just done? I'm not trying to be lazy, I have honestly read around, it's just quite confusing (especially for me) and I find it easier when someone explains it in Layman's terms!
 
jordan.harris01
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 39
Posts: 365
Join Date: Jan 2011
Direct from alpharev.nl and must be done in Fastboot:

1) Nandroid backup in recovery.
2) Verify the MD5SUM of the file you downloaded against the one in the table.
3) Flash HBOOT with your phone in fastboot mode (Back+POWER) -> 'fastboot flash hboot bravo_alphaspl.img' (change into the correct filename for the HBOOT you downloaded)
4) 'fastboot reboot-bootloader'
5) 'fastboot erase cache'
6) Boot recovery, wipe everything and restore.
The Following User Says Thank You to jordan.harris01 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
hung_mtuci
Old
#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 11
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by jordan.harris01 View Post
Direct from alpharev.nl and must be done in Fastboot:

1) Nandroid backup in recovery.
2) Verify the MD5SUM of the file you downloaded against the one in the table.
3) Flash HBOOT with your phone in fastboot mode (Back+POWER) -> 'fastboot flash hboot bravo_alphaspl.img' (change into the correct filename for the HBOOT you downloaded)
4) 'fastboot reboot-bootloader'
5) 'fastboot erase cache'
6) Boot recovery, wipe everything and restore.
Thank a lot for detail introduce
 
jordan.harris01
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 39
Posts: 365
Join Date: Jan 2011
NP. As I said, it was copied directly from the alpharev site. Keep in mind that this can possibly brick your phone if the checksum doesn't match or something goes wrong during the flash.
 
alex98uk
Old
#9  
alex98uk's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 88
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: München
Quote:
Originally Posted by jordan.harris01 View Post
NP. As I said, it was copied directly from the alpharev site. Keep in mind that this can possibly brick your phone if the checksum doesn't match or something goes wrong during the flash.
Ok, I didn't actually get that far I did this technique:

Quote:
You can also download the corresponding PB99IMG zipfile, put it on your sdcard, and rename it to PB99IMG.zip. Then start the phone in HBOOT mode (VolDown+POWER) to flash the HBOOT without a PC.
I downloaded "PB99IMG_bravo_oxygen.zip" renamed it to "PB99IMG.zip". I booted into Hboot, it asked me if i'd like to update, so I said yes which it did... now... it's getting stuck on the Alpharev why so serious splash screen.

I wonder if I just bricked my phone..............................
 
jordan.harris01
Old
#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 39
Posts: 365
Join Date: Jan 2011
Did you just reboot it after the flash? I'm not sure how to flash it via the SD card but something tells me that you still need a wipe and reinstall. Your ROM might not fit in the new partition. but I honestly have no idea, just trying to give you possible ideas. Wait till someone else can confirm.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes