Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,806,888 Members 36,354 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Toshiba AC100 and Android Market

Tip us?
 
pipposanta
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 18
Join Date: Aug 2009
Default [Q] Toshiba AC100 and Android Market

Hi,
I own a toshiba ac100-10d which is the model with only wifi (no 3g) and android 2.1, which unfortunately comes with no android market preinstalled. I tried to install one using one of the many packages which you can found online. The problem comes, when I try to login in my gmail account. It says "can't extablish a reliable data connection" and it doesn't login into the account. If I try to login via youtube it creates the account but it doesn't sync it. I have moderate experience with android so you can easily tell me what I have to do. Do you think it would be possible to install the market on this ac100?

Thanks to anyone who will help me!
 
kordiak
Old
#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 15
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by pipposanta View Post
Hi,
I own a toshiba ac100-10d which is the model with only wifi (no 3g) and android 2.1, which unfortunately comes with no android market preinstalled. I tried to install one using one of the many packages which you can found online. The problem comes, when I try to login in my gmail account. It says "can't extablish a reliable data connection" and it doesn't login into the account. If I try to login via youtube it creates the account but it doesn't sync it. I have moderate experience with android so you can easily tell me what I have to do. Do you think it would be possible to install the market on this ac100?

Thanks to anyone who will help me!
It would be possible if I can get him into recovery menu. Just working on it as if it could still do that I have uploaded some files to the inside. Root can be done by z4Root 1.3.0.apk. Can be downloaded here http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=834428
 
nai1sirk
Old
#3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: Jun 2010
Question I've made some headway

I have installed some files from cyanogenmods tegra compiled gapps + a newer vending.apk(Market) and a diffrent Google Talk app.

I had the same problem you have, but this suddently resolved itself for reasons unknown:P

Gmail Works and syncs
Google Maps works
Market starts and is stable without forced close, but I can't download apps, and I get Google Talk Authentication errors wich I belive are related to the market issue (the error also appears without the talk.apk installed)
I've got a new talk.apk from a samsung galaxy s, but it will not complete the sign in process

I feel I am really close to cracking this one, but I'm really stuck.

If anyone is interested, I can post which apk files I've installed in the /system/app folder.
 
nai1sirk
Old
#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: Jun 2010
Oh, I forgot to say:
I've got the same 10d version without 3g, but mine runs the updated Android 2.2
 
tharf
Old
(Last edited by tharf; 9th March 2011 at 09:29 PM.)
#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 6
Join Date: Mar 2008
So it appears that sometimes market init it works, sometimes not ... Strange

I played and did many factory resets to find the right way and now it works (triple checked!)
I have a ac100-114 (French, no 3g), with android 2.2 and rooted with z4root.
(For anyone playing with adb : before doing anything, make backups with the tegra tools, and be careful with this powerful tool!)

I also used a package from cyanogenmod : the gApps from tegra. (http://wiki.cyanogenmod.com/index.ph...ps#Google_Apps)

I looked into gAppsInstaller (here:
http://code.google.com/p/archos-apps...downloads/list and here : http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=867303) to find what are the mandatory apps to install from the gApps cm package:

Into /system/app/
GenieWidget
GoogleBackupTransport
GoogleCalendarSyncAdapter
GoogleContactsSyncAdapter
GoogleFeedback
GoogleServicesFramework
MarketUpdater
MediaUploader
NetworkLocation
Talk
Vending
Youtube *

Into /system/framework/
com.google.android.maps.jar

Into /system/lib/
libspeech.so
libvoicesearch.so

Into /system/etc/permissions/
features.xml
com.google.android.maps.xml

* I had to replace Youtube.apk (in attachment) : I don't know why, but the one from cm is not working and prevent, even without launching it, the login into the market. I retrieved it from my hd2 running android ;)
Installing maps in /system/app prevents Market initialization.

Then I did a factory reset, followed by the Toshiba first init and wifi configuration.

Now start the Market : nothing else or you might have to factory reset to start over!
Enter a random username (very important!), a random password and click next.
The market should start checking and then tell you the login is wrong : good, it connected !
Now click back, then enter your google account and click next : the Market should accept it and show the license page.
Accept it, the market should appear a few seconds before foreclosing. Launch it again, it will forceclose again.

The third launch should be the right one !

You will get forcecloses right after each app installation, but nothing to worry about : the app stays and appears in the download section of the market
Gmail can be installed from the market.
Your contacts should be synchronized, Talk and Youtube should work.

Problems:
For maps you will have to get the apk somewhere else.
The calendar is missing.
Attached Files
File Type: apk YouTube.apk - [Click for QR Code] (814.5 KB, 912 views)
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to tharf For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Daniel.Stevens
Old
#6  
Daniel.Stevens's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 75
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Bochum
@tharf

Your method works perfectly .. Thx for that. Only problem is that the service framework starts some kind of messaging service and that wakes the ac100 from standby every couple minutes.... I tried fixing that but couldnīt do it... ;0(

So this fix is kind auseless for me...

But keep up the good work... ;0)
 
lom4x
Old
#7  
lom4x's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 7
Join Date: Apr 2010
FC reason is a
Code:
E/DatabaseUtils( 1547): java.lang.SecurityException: Permission Denial: writing com.google.android.gsf.settings.GoogleSettingsProvider uri content://com.google.settings/partner from pid=10019, uid=10069 requires com.google.android.providers.settings.permission.WRITE_GSETTINGS
for com.android.vending.
Does anyone has an idea how to fix android permissions, as it recreates /data/system/packages.xml if i change it?
 
tharf
Old
(Last edited by tharf; 20th March 2011 at 12:51 AM.)
#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 6
Join Date: Mar 2008
Thanks for pointing out where is the FC cause !
I did some more tests, and it seems that if the packages.xml gets modified, followed by sync (just in case, I don't know anything about caching on the ac100), and then a kill -9 -1 is executed, the added permission stays, even if the packages.xml gets scrambled after reboot
For me it works : no more FCs

I found another thing : in order to see apps in the market that asks for the gps (maps, catch notes ...), just had this line to /system/etc/permissions/android.hardware.location.xml, in the <permissions> tag :

<feature name="android.hardware.location.gps" />

(Make a backup of the file first )

So the bottom part of the file should look like :

<permissions>
<feature name="android.hardware.location" />
<feature name="android.hardware.location.network" />
<feature name="android.hardware.location.gps" />
</permissions>

But in order to get it working, you will need to login to the market for the first time, so a factory reset is required
The Following User Says Thank You to tharf For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
parlan
Old
#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: Aug 2010
hey, sorry for the dumb question..

iīve downloade z4root and clicked on temporarly root...after a few
secs the progress ran through and the ac100 rebooted.
now i tried to install the gAppsInstaller v5 for arcors but got the error message, that no files were copied.
how did you do this?
can you please poste a howto for dummies q.q?


you wrote"
Then I did a factory reset, followed by the Toshiba first init and wifi configuration.

Now start the Market : nothing else or you might have to factory reset to start over!"

didnt you install the googlemarket after the reset, did it remain :eek:?

thanks
 
andrewbecks
Old
#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1
Join Date: Mar 2011
Hi,

Good job at first for trying this amazing way to install gapps into Ac100.

In my experience, that method worked well, but it seems, after pushing the mandatory apk files to the system partition, and factory resetting, in the Toshiba device initiation settings, turning on wifi will keep the Google account settings connection from working.

I've been trying many times, only turning on wifi when google login process begins will work.

No idea why that happens.

Regards.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes