Battery Charged in 30 Seconds? Maybe in 2016

Phones and tablets are getting more and more power hungry with each passing generation. Their … more

ZArchive Manages Your File Archives

Today smartphones are quite powerful devices that can handle multiple processes at once. In fact, some of … more

Regain Double Tap to Wake Functionality on the Nexus 6

A few months ago, Google announced its newest flagship device, the Nexus 6, alongside … more

Clean Your Recent Apps – XDA Xposed Tuesday

In this day and age, you have quite a few apps installed and running on your Android … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Recovery Mode

OP lrs421

17th February 2011, 10:49 PM   |  #1  
lrs421's Avatar
OP Senior Member
New York
Thanks Meter: 462
 
3,710 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
More
I touched on this in a couple of threads in development and want to get an idea if this is an issue all Inspires. We get into Hboot/Recovery mode by holding the "volume down" and "power" for about 5 seconds. For me though, this doesn't work when the phone is completely shut down. It works great if I does this during a restart though.

Why this matters?...Let's say you flash a ROM and can't get past the white logo (happened to me many a day on the captiavte ) without being able to enter recovery mode the phone will go into an endless bootloop.

Let me know if anyone of you have any issues entering hboot/recovery from shutdown.

******SOLVED*******
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...0&postcount=87
Last edited by lrs421; 18th February 2011 at 02:35 AM.
17th February 2011, 11:11 PM   |  #2  
matt_b's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Wichita
Thanks Meter: 36
 
420 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
More
fastboot disable!
Last edited by matt_b; 21st February 2011 at 08:19 PM.
17th February 2011, 11:13 PM   |  #3  
lrs421's Avatar
OP Senior Member
New York
Thanks Meter: 462
 
3,710 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattbollenbach

yeah, i've noticed its been tricky to get into recovery mode from a solid shutdown. not sure why though.

Tricky or impossible . I've been trying for the past hour. What did you do to get it to work?
18th February 2011, 12:51 AM   |  #4  
lrs421's Avatar
OP Senior Member
New York
Thanks Meter: 462
 
3,710 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
More
Geesh. An hour later still no luck entering recovery from shutdown.

Sent from my Inspire 4G or Desire HD or whatever this thing is called via XDA app.
18th February 2011, 01:27 AM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 172
 
274 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
So if you have a bad kernel or Rom there is no way to get back? That Is quite worrisome, making me reconsider the captivate...

Sent from my Inspire '4g'.
18th February 2011, 01:48 AM   |  #6  
lrs421's Avatar
OP Senior Member
New York
Thanks Meter: 462
 
3,710 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by hololight

So if you have a bad kernel or Rom there is no way to get back? That Is quite worrisome, making me reconsider the captivate...

Sent from my Inspire '4g'.

Percisely what concerns me.
18th February 2011, 02:19 AM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
136 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2006
I'm sure you remember that on the Captivate, you can hold volume buttons and plug in USB to go straight to download mode as well. Maybe the Inspire is the same way?

EDIT: I do have CM installed, but I held Volume Down and plugged in USB and it went into Recovery.
18th February 2011, 02:21 AM   |  #8  
matt_b's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Wichita
Thanks Meter: 36
 
420 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
More
The phone hasn't even been out a week; I'm sure all these things with kernels and radios will become easier and more clarified with time.

As far as booting into recovery goes, I'm still not sure what the deal is.



Sent from my Desire HD using XDA App
18th February 2011, 02:34 AM   |  #9  
lrs421's Avatar
OP Senior Member
New York
Thanks Meter: 462
 
3,710 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
More
Soved. Disabling fastboot corrects things.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...0&postcount=87
18th February 2011, 03:07 AM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 172
 
274 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
You mean disable fastboot on a working phone... lol. That's the potential issue I think we are concerned with. Isn't fastboot in the settings?

Sent from my Inspire '4g'.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes