Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Edit build.prop to enable HSUPA

OP phillycreamboy

20th February 2011, 09:50 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
137 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2007
Is it possible? Devs could you please lost a tutorial on how to do this? I live in SF where my unlocked Streak gets around 1.5mbps up. Can't loose that ability especially when I will be paying for tethering for the laptop dock which is already highway robbery.

Help us!

Sent from my Dell Streak using XDA App
20th February 2011, 09:51 PM   |  #2  
Fixter's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Durham
Thanks Meter: 91
 
1,404 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by phillycreamboy

Is it possible? Devs could you please lost a tutorial on how to do this? I live in SF where my unlocked Streak gets around 1.5mbps up. Can't loose that ability especially when I will be paying for tethering for the laptop dock which is already highway robbery.

Help us!

Sent from my Dell Streak using XDA App

Wrong Forums my friend.
20th February 2011, 10:33 PM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
137 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2007
I should have said its regarding the Atrix. I preordered one. I have a streak already and it does have hsupa but hear atrix does not.

Sent from my Dell Streak using XDA App
21st February 2011, 02:56 AM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Boca Raton
Thanks Meter: 157
 
918 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by phillycreamboy

I should have said its regarding the Atrix. I preordered one. I have a streak already and it does have hsupa but hear atrix does not.

Sent from my Dell Streak using XDA App

Supposedly I read on Howardforums that by changing up the APN to a custom one (with the standard AT&T settings) HSUPA started working on an Inspire 4G I'll test that tomorrow at an AT&T store and be able to state if it works or not. Should it work, that means that chances are that's all we will have to do with the Atrix to get it working.
21st February 2011, 03:10 AM   |  #5  
designgears's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag SLC
Thanks Meter: 8,693
 
4,880 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
Donate to Me
More
the atrix has full HSPA support, upload is not restricted
21st February 2011, 03:14 AM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Boca Raton
Thanks Meter: 157
 
918 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by designgears

the atrix has full HSPA support, upload is not restricted

Ah ok, I was looking at reviews, and most said it capped out at about 300 KBPS which to me seemed off that's what I get on my backflip, so I figured I would offer a supposed solution that seemed to work with the Inspire according to a HoFo post.

http://www.howardforums.com/showthre...9#post14283689
The Following User Says Thank You to naturefreak85 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
21st February 2011, 03:35 AM   |  #7  
antiochasylum's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Burleson TX
Thanks Meter: 7,746
 
4,192 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by designgears

the atrix has full HSPA support, upload is not restricted

The upload is restricted on EVERY smart phone att had produced except the iPhone.
The Following User Says Thank You to antiochasylum For This Useful Post: [ View ]
21st February 2011, 03:40 AM   |  #8  
designgears's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag SLC
Thanks Meter: 8,693
 
4,880 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
Donate to Me
More
Date,ConnType,Lat,Lon,Download,Upload,Latency,Serv erName,InternalIp,ExternalIp
"2011-02-20 18:15","Cell","38.00000","-97.00000",324216,18779,6,"Wichita, KS","10.139.221.33","166.133.14.80"
"2011-02-20 18:15","Cell","38.00000","-97.00000",286707,15099,1348,"Wichita, KS","10.139.221.33","166.133.14.80"
"2011-02-20 18:14","Utms","38.00000","-97.00000",199168,17940,8,"Wichita, KS","10.139.221.33","166.133.14.80"
"2011-02-20 18:13","Cell","38.00000","-97.00000",420658,25653,8,"Wichita, KS","10.139.221.33","166.133.14.80"
"2011-02-20 18:13","Cell","38.00000","-97.00000",135197,16088,452,"Wichita, KS","10.139.221.33","166.133.14.80"
"2011-02-20 18:12","Cell","38.00000","-97.00000",208242,14974,459,"Wichita, KS","10.139.221.33","166.133.14.80"
"2011-02-20 18:12","Cell","38.00000","-97.00000",244708,18474,455,"Wichita, KS","10.139.221.33","166.133.14.80"
"2011-02-20 18:11","Cell","38.00000","-97.00000",405405,19849,9,"Wichita, KS","10.139.221.33","166.133.14.80"
"2011-02-20 18:11","Cell","38.00000","-97.00000",418884,18635,587,"Wichita, KS","10.139.221.33","166.133.14.80"

Guess I read that wrong before, looks like it is restricted... lame
21st February 2011, 03:58 AM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Boca Raton
Thanks Meter: 157
 
918 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2007
More
Hopefully that trick that supposedly worked on the Inspire 4G will work on the Atrix also, I PM'd Fixter to ask if he could test it on the Atrix, and tomorrow I'll be testing such on the Inspire at my local store. Should be interesting to see if it works.

Quote:
Originally Posted by designgears

Date,ConnType,Lat,Lon,Download,Upload,Latency,Serv erName,InternalIp,ExternalIp
"2011-02-20 18:15","Cell","38.00000","-97.00000",324216,18779,6,"Wichita, KS","10.139.221.33","166.133.14.80"
"2011-02-20 18:15","Cell","38.00000","-97.00000",286707,15099,1348,"Wichita, KS","10.139.221.33","166.133.14.80"
"2011-02-20 18:14","Utms","38.00000","-97.00000",199168,17940,8,"Wichita, KS","10.139.221.33","166.133.14.80"
"2011-02-20 18:13","Cell","38.00000","-97.00000",420658,25653,8,"Wichita, KS","10.139.221.33","166.133.14.80"
"2011-02-20 18:13","Cell","38.00000","-97.00000",135197,16088,452,"Wichita, KS","10.139.221.33","166.133.14.80"
"2011-02-20 18:12","Cell","38.00000","-97.00000",208242,14974,459,"Wichita, KS","10.139.221.33","166.133.14.80"
"2011-02-20 18:12","Cell","38.00000","-97.00000",244708,18474,455,"Wichita, KS","10.139.221.33","166.133.14.80"
"2011-02-20 18:11","Cell","38.00000","-97.00000",405405,19849,9,"Wichita, KS","10.139.221.33","166.133.14.80"
"2011-02-20 18:11","Cell","38.00000","-97.00000",418884,18635,587,"Wichita, KS","10.139.221.33","166.133.14.80"

Guess I read that wrong before, looks like it is restricted... lame

21st February 2011, 04:24 AM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Boca Raton
Thanks Meter: 157
 
918 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2007
More
From my PM's with Fixter he is pulling a peak 1.1 with the Atrix, if he is getting that over a cell radio, (waiting on confirmation that it is with the Custom APN only) that means that he is getting an HSUPA connection, good sign. Will update this post once I get a response.

EDIT: Seems to be that with a custom APN we have faster upload speeds. From the Mobile Tech Review of the Inspire they noticed that when they Tethered they got higher upload speeds, about a 1 meg upload. Since the phones have tethering locked with the standard APN that means that by changing the APN we achieve faster upload speeds. http://www.mobiletechreview.com/phon...Inspire-4G.htm
Quote:

This is the first phone on AT&T to get the mobile Hotspot feature where you can turn the Inspire 4G into a WiFi access point that shares its 4G connection (the iPhone 4 will get this feature via an update on the Inspire’s 2/13/2011 release date). The feature is extremely easy to use and you can set encryption type, name the access point and assign a password. In our tests, we got up to 3Mpbs down and 1Mpbs up with our notebook using the Inspire 4G as its WiFi access point.

This clearly needs further testing, but so far seems promising. It appears to be AT&T has decided for us that we don't NEED faster uploads for the cell phone since we would typically be sending out an MMS or a small attachment from our phones, but with a computer clearly would need faster uploads.
Last edited by naturefreak85; 21st February 2011 at 01:08 PM.

The Following User Says Thank You to naturefreak85 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes