Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,741,857 Members 44,200 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Edit build.prop to enable HSUPA

Tip us?
 
phillycreamboy
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 137
Join Date: Mar 2007
Default Edit build.prop to enable HSUPA

Is it possible? Devs could you please lost a tutorial on how to do this? I live in SF where my unlocked Streak gets around 1.5mbps up. Can't loose that ability especially when I will be paying for tethering for the laptop dock which is already highway robbery.

Help us!

Sent from my Dell Streak using XDA App
 
Fixter
Old
#2  
Fixter's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 91
Posts: 1,404
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Durham

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by phillycreamboy View Post
Is it possible? Devs could you please lost a tutorial on how to do this? I live in SF where my unlocked Streak gets around 1.5mbps up. Can't loose that ability especially when I will be paying for tethering for the laptop dock which is already highway robbery.

Help us!

Sent from my Dell Streak using XDA App
Wrong Forums my friend.
Galaxy Note 3, Galaxy Gear or Note 10.1 2014? Add me on GTalk or Twitter
Twitter: GSoulPR
GTalk: Gc0814@gmail.com
Did I help? Press the Thanks button!
 
phillycreamboy
Old
#3  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 137
Join Date: Mar 2007
I should have said its regarding the Atrix. I preordered one. I have a streak already and it does have hsupa but hear atrix does not.

Sent from my Dell Streak using XDA App
 
naturefreak85
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 157
Posts: 918
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Boca Raton
Quote:
Originally Posted by phillycreamboy View Post
I should have said its regarding the Atrix. I preordered one. I have a streak already and it does have hsupa but hear atrix does not.

Sent from my Dell Streak using XDA App
Supposedly I read on Howardforums that by changing up the APN to a custom one (with the standard AT&T settings) HSUPA started working on an Inspire 4G I'll test that tomorrow at an AT&T store and be able to state if it works or not. Should it work, that means that chances are that's all we will have to do with the Atrix to get it working.
 
designgears
Old
#5  
designgears's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 8670
Posts: 4,875
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: SLC

 
DONATE TO ME
the atrix has full HSPA support, upload is not restricted
"haters can make like bees with no stingers, and drop dead" -Eminem

Follow me on Twitter!
 
naturefreak85
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 157
Posts: 918
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Boca Raton
Quote:
Originally Posted by designgears View Post
the atrix has full HSPA support, upload is not restricted
Ah ok, I was looking at reviews, and most said it capped out at about 300 KBPS which to me seemed off that's what I get on my backflip, so I figured I would offer a supposed solution that seemed to work with the Inspire according to a HoFo post.

http://www.howardforums.com/showthre...9#post14283689
The Following User Says Thank You to naturefreak85 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
antiochasylum
Old
#7  
antiochasylum's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 7619
Posts: 4,046
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Burleson TX

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by designgears View Post
the atrix has full HSPA support, upload is not restricted
The upload is restricted on EVERY smart phone att had produced except the iPhone.



Click below to see my teams work

 
Team Asylum CM 10.1 for the Galaxy Note 2 LTE
Team Asylum Omni 4.4.2 for the Galaxy Note 2 HSPA
Team Asylum Omni 4.4.2 for the Nexus 4(mako)
Team Asylum Omni 4.4.2 For the N7000



Nexus One < Tab 7 < Xoom < Tab 10.1 < Nexus S < Galaxy S II < Tab 7 Plus < Galaxy Nexus < Galaxy Note N7K < Nexus 7 < Galaxy S III < AT&T Galaxy S III < Galaxy Note II < Nexus 4 < Nexus 7 2013 < Galaxy Note 3 < Nexus 5
The Following User Says Thank You to antiochasylum For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
designgears
Old
#8  
designgears's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 8670
Posts: 4,875
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: SLC

 
DONATE TO ME
Date,ConnType,Lat,Lon,Download,Upload,Latency,Serv erName,InternalIp,ExternalIp
"2011-02-20 18:15","Cell","38.00000","-97.00000",324216,18779,6,"Wichita, KS","10.139.221.33","166.133.14.80"
"2011-02-20 18:15","Cell","38.00000","-97.00000",286707,15099,1348,"Wichita, KS","10.139.221.33","166.133.14.80"
"2011-02-20 18:14","Utms","38.00000","-97.00000",199168,17940,8,"Wichita, KS","10.139.221.33","166.133.14.80"
"2011-02-20 18:13","Cell","38.00000","-97.00000",420658,25653,8,"Wichita, KS","10.139.221.33","166.133.14.80"
"2011-02-20 18:13","Cell","38.00000","-97.00000",135197,16088,452,"Wichita, KS","10.139.221.33","166.133.14.80"
"2011-02-20 18:12","Cell","38.00000","-97.00000",208242,14974,459,"Wichita, KS","10.139.221.33","166.133.14.80"
"2011-02-20 18:12","Cell","38.00000","-97.00000",244708,18474,455,"Wichita, KS","10.139.221.33","166.133.14.80"
"2011-02-20 18:11","Cell","38.00000","-97.00000",405405,19849,9,"Wichita, KS","10.139.221.33","166.133.14.80"
"2011-02-20 18:11","Cell","38.00000","-97.00000",418884,18635,587,"Wichita, KS","10.139.221.33","166.133.14.80"

Guess I read that wrong before, looks like it is restricted... lame
"haters can make like bees with no stingers, and drop dead" -Eminem

Follow me on Twitter!
 
naturefreak85
Old
#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 157
Posts: 918
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Boca Raton
Hopefully that trick that supposedly worked on the Inspire 4G will work on the Atrix also, I PM'd Fixter to ask if he could test it on the Atrix, and tomorrow I'll be testing such on the Inspire at my local store. Should be interesting to see if it works.

Quote:
Originally Posted by designgears View Post
Date,ConnType,Lat,Lon,Download,Upload,Latency,Serv erName,InternalIp,ExternalIp
"2011-02-20 18:15","Cell","38.00000","-97.00000",324216,18779,6,"Wichita, KS","10.139.221.33","166.133.14.80"
"2011-02-20 18:15","Cell","38.00000","-97.00000",286707,15099,1348,"Wichita, KS","10.139.221.33","166.133.14.80"
"2011-02-20 18:14","Utms","38.00000","-97.00000",199168,17940,8,"Wichita, KS","10.139.221.33","166.133.14.80"
"2011-02-20 18:13","Cell","38.00000","-97.00000",420658,25653,8,"Wichita, KS","10.139.221.33","166.133.14.80"
"2011-02-20 18:13","Cell","38.00000","-97.00000",135197,16088,452,"Wichita, KS","10.139.221.33","166.133.14.80"
"2011-02-20 18:12","Cell","38.00000","-97.00000",208242,14974,459,"Wichita, KS","10.139.221.33","166.133.14.80"
"2011-02-20 18:12","Cell","38.00000","-97.00000",244708,18474,455,"Wichita, KS","10.139.221.33","166.133.14.80"
"2011-02-20 18:11","Cell","38.00000","-97.00000",405405,19849,9,"Wichita, KS","10.139.221.33","166.133.14.80"
"2011-02-20 18:11","Cell","38.00000","-97.00000",418884,18635,587,"Wichita, KS","10.139.221.33","166.133.14.80"

Guess I read that wrong before, looks like it is restricted... lame
 
naturefreak85
Old
(Last edited by naturefreak85; 21st February 2011 at 12:08 PM.)
#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 157
Posts: 918
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Boca Raton
From my PM's with Fixter he is pulling a peak 1.1 with the Atrix, if he is getting that over a cell radio, (waiting on confirmation that it is with the Custom APN only) that means that he is getting an HSUPA connection, good sign. Will update this post once I get a response.

EDIT: Seems to be that with a custom APN we have faster upload speeds. From the Mobile Tech Review of the Inspire they noticed that when they Tethered they got higher upload speeds, about a 1 meg upload. Since the phones have tethering locked with the standard APN that means that by changing the APN we achieve faster upload speeds. http://www.mobiletechreview.com/phon...Inspire-4G.htm
Quote:
This is the first phone on AT&T to get the mobile Hotspot feature where you can turn the Inspire 4G into a WiFi access point that shares its 4G connection (the iPhone 4 will get this feature via an update on the Inspire’s 2/13/2011 release date). The feature is extremely easy to use and you can set encryption type, name the access point and assign a password. In our tests, we got up to 3Mpbs down and 1Mpbs up with our notebook using the Inspire 4G as its WiFi access point.
This clearly needs further testing, but so far seems promising. It appears to be AT&T has decided for us that we don't NEED faster uploads for the cell phone since we would typically be sending out an MMS or a small attachment from our phones, but with a computer clearly would need faster uploads.

The Following User Says Thank You to naturefreak85 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes